CHAPTER 18

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A __________ schedule is used when seasonal factors are unimportant. a.continuous b.flighting c.intermittent d.pulse e.burst

a

A marketer who wanted to reduce coupon and rebate fraud should: a.require hand-written redemption requests. b.print coupons and forms in at least five colors. c.make the coupon look as complex as possible. d.include a secret code on the coupon. e.do all of the above.

a

A premium is called __________ when the cost charged to the consumer covers the cost of the item. a.self-liquidating b.cost-covered c.value-premium d.company value premium e.customer value premium

a

A publicity tool that is heavily relied on by nonprofit organizations, and which involves free space or time donated by the media is called a(n): a.public service announcement. b.quid pro quo ad. c.news item. d.news conference. e.news moment.

a

An ad for Kraft salad dressings uses a play on words in its headline, "Around here, we're 'jeans and t-shirts' but our dressing is 'night on the town.'" This use of a ___________ appeal implies that the dressing is like what is served at the finest eating establishments, but you can enjoy it in the comfort of your home. a.humorous b.rhetorical c.family life cycle d.sex e.figure of speech

a

An ad for an international consulting firm, was intended to communicate the company philosophy—that you can be big and nimble at the same time—rather than sell any one particular service provided by the company. The ad is an example of __________ advertising. a.pioneering b.competitive c.advocacy d.reminder e.political

a

As traditional media have become more expensive and cluttered, advertisers have been attracted to a variety of nontraditional advertising options—in airports, doctors' offices, health clubs, or theaters—called: a.place-based media. b.invasive placements. c.electronic advertising. d.product placements. e.cooperative advertising.

a

Flighting schedules would most likely be used for advertising: a.wood-burning stoves. b.crackers c.bottled water. d.breakfast cereal e.bathroom cleaner.

a

For marketers, the primary objective of a premium is to: a.encourage customers to return frequently or to use more of the product. b.increase trial and retaliate against competitors' actions. c.encourage present customers to buy more; minimize brand switching behavior. d.encourage new product trial. e.generate store traffic.

a

Gross rating points (GRPs) are: a.reach multiplied by frequency. b.reach multiplied by rating. c.rating multiplied by frequency. d.cost divided by reach. e.cost divided by (reach multiplied by frequency).

a

Information and persuasive content can be combined in the form of an appeal to: a.provide a basic reason for the consumer to act. b.explain guilt and enrichment. c.satisfy hierarchical needs. d.include perceptual modifiers and need enhancers. e.none of the above.

a

Jury tests: a.present a panel of consumers with an ad and ask for their reactions concerning the ad's effectiveness, appeal, etc. b.present a panel of consumers with an ad for a limited period of time. The ad is then removed, and the respondents are asked to recall a s much pertinent information as possible. c.present consumers with a sample of a product and several different advertisements for the product. They are asked to select the one they think is most effective and explain why. d.present consumers with a hidden ad, which they are asked to recall. e.use electronic devices during or questionnaires after consumers view an advertisement to measure viewer response or feelings.

a

One reason for using magazines as an advertising medium is: a.their ability to target specific audiences. b.the short lead time needed to place an ad. c.their low cost. d.the lack of noise associated with the use of magazines in the communication channel. e.all of the above

a

Personal video recorders (PVRs): a.enable viewers to basically program their own personal network. b.are in the prototype stage of market development and may never make it to market due to copyright issues. c.cannot be used as one-to-one marketing tools. d.use video created by the PVR owner and digitally intersperses it with television broadcasts. e.are accurately described by all of the above.

a

Pioneering advertisements would most likely be used during which stage of a product's life cycle? a.introduction b.decline c.maturity d.harvesting e.growth

a

Sales tools used to support a company's advertising and personal selling directed to wholesalers, retailers, or distributors are called: a.trade-oriented sales promotions. b.consumer promotions. c.manufacturers promotions. d.sales promotions. e.encoding promotional tools.

a

The California Pistachio Growers Association has an ongoing ad campaign in which it encourages people to think of pistachios when they think of good times and good friends. The goal of the ad is to increase consumption of pistachio nuts. The ads are examples of __________ ads. a.competitive institutional b.competitive product c.advocacy d.pioneering product e.pioneering institutional

a

The key objective of a pioneering ad is to: a.inform the target market. b.identify the target market. c.change the target market. d.reinforce previous knowledge. e.state the position of the advertiser on an issue.

a

The means by which the advertising message is communicated to the target audience is through: a.advertising media. b.reach and frequency. c.a decoder. d.micromarketing. e.media convergence.

a

The most sophisticated form of pretest is the: a.theater test. b.sales test. c.attitude test. d.portfolio test. e.jury test.

a

The sign at the entrance to the men's store reads, "Buy one shirt, get a second shirt of equal or lower value for only one dollar." Which type of sales promotion is the men's store is using? a.a deal b.a contest c.a premium d.a rebate e.a sample

a

The state of Florida Department of Citrus developed the "To Your Health" campaign to show the benefits of orange juice. The goal of these ads is to increase demand for orange juice as it competes with other beverages. This is an example of a(n) __________ advertisement. a.competitive institutional b.competitive product c.advocacy d.pioneering product e.pioneering institutional

a

The testimonial type ads for carbon dioxide detectors feature parents who are discussing the dangers of carbon monoxide poisoning. In many of the ads, the homeowners tell the target audience how disaster can be averted by purchasing and using the advertised product. Such advertisements are using:

a

Three common advertising appeals include: a.fear, sex, and humor. b.guilt and enrichment. c.hierarchical needs. d.perceptual modifiers and need enhancers. e.none of the above.

a

When Allyn went to get his newspaper, he found the paper in a plastic bag along with a box containing one dose of Alka-Seltzer Heartburn Relief medication. Which type of sales promotion is Alka-Seltzer using? a.sampling b.a deal c.a premium d.a point-of-purchase display e.a introductory offer

a

Which of the following statements about inquiry tests is true? a.With inquiry tests, additional product information, product samples, or premiums are offered to an ad's readers or viewers, and ads generating the most inquiries are presumed to be the most effective. b.With inquiry tests, a question such as, "What ads do you remember seeing yesterday?" is asked of respondents without any other prompting to determine whether they saw or heard advertising messages. c.Inquiry tests involve studies such as controlled experiments and consumer purchase tests. d.In an inquiry test, respondents are asked questions to measure changes in their attitudes after an advertising campaign, such as whether they had a more favorable attitude toward the product advertised. e.In an inquiry test, respondents are first shown an ad and then asked whether their previous exposure to it was through reading, viewing, or listening.

a

Which of the following statements about the Internet as an advertising medium is true? a.The Internet provides audio and video capabilities. b.Ads are black and white. c.Internet ads are similar to print ads in that they offer only a visual message. d.Internet advertising is the most effective form of advertising. e.All of the above statements about the Internet as an advertising medium are true.

a

While reading the newspaper, Belinda noticed an advertisement containing manufacturer's coupons from Kodak redeemable only at Target stores. This ad is an example of: a.cooperative advertising. b.a case allowance. c.a finance allowance. d.a merchandise allowance. e.specialty advertising.

a

__________ appeals imply either directly or more subtly that the product is more fun or exciting than competitors' offerings. a.humorous b.rhetorical c.family life cycle d.sex e.figure of speech

a

__________ suggest to the consumer that he or she can avoid some negative experience through the purchase and use of a product or through a change in behavior. a.Fear appeals. b.Sex appeals. c.Humorous appeals. d.Family appeals. e.Coercive appeals

a

A hardware store owner placed an advertisement for Sylvania light bulbs in the local newspaper. Sylvania provided the storeowner with several high-quality, camera-ready sample advertisements. In addition to supplying the advertising formats, Sylvania also paid 50 percent of the cost of the advertisement. Sylvania was using __________ in an attempt to encourage both better advertising quality and greater advertising quantity in the efforts of local resellers of its product. a.strategic promotional implementation b.cooperative advertising c.pre-paid publicity d.distributor kickbacks e.manufacturer incentive advertising

b

A(n) __________ reimburses a retailer for extra in-store support or special featuring of a brand. a.organizational allowance b.merchandise allowance c.case allowance d.finance allowance e.manufacturer's enhancement

b

An ad for Citrucel fiber supplement claimed that in a blind taste test consumers preferred the taste of Citrucel to Metamucil 2 to 1. This is ad is an example of __________ advertising. a.reinforcement b.comparative c.persuasive d.informative e.reminder

b

An announcement that German pharmaceutical giant Bayer is looking for a buyer for its household insecticide business as part of its restructuring program is an example of which type of publicity tool? a.public service announcement b.news release c.lobbying d.sponsorship e.events management

b

Called __________, these internet interactive ads have drop-down menus, built-in games, or search engines to engage viewers. a.drop-downs b.rich media c.game advertising d.interactive ads e.pop-ups

b

For marketers, the primary objective of a deal is to: a.extend a product's life cycle. b.increase trial among potential customers as a retaliation against competitors' actions. c.encourage present customers to buy more, which should minimize brand switching behavior. d.encourage new product trial. e.encourage repeat purchases.

b

If a local television station in your area stated it reached one-fifth of the television households in its viewing area with a prime time movie, what would be the movie's rating? a.10 b.20 c.30 d.40 e.50

b

In planning and obtaining publicity, a frequently used tool is the __________, which is an announcement regarding changes in the company or the product line. a.trade show b.news release c.infomercial d.double-page spread e.magazine insert

b

One of the advantages associated with television as an advertising medium is that it: a.has a short exposure time. b.communicates with sight, sound and motion. c.is a low-cost medium. d.has an unlimited amount of advertising time available. e.can be used to convey complex messages.

b

Product advertisements focus on selling a good or service and take three major forms. They are: a.introductory, comparative, and reminder. b.pioneering, competitive, and reminder. c.institutional, competitive, and reminder. d.introductory, competitive, and reminder. e.pioneering, comparative, and reminder.

b

Product advertisements focus on: a.obtaining inquiries. b.selling a good or service. c.advocating a political position. d.persuading opinion leaders. e.raising money for a worthy cause.

b

Program-length (30-minute) advertisements that take an educational approach to communication with potential customers are called: a.advertorials. b.infomercials. c.intrusionaries. d.advocacy ads. e.interstitials.

b

Reminder advertisements are especially effective for products in which stage of the product life cycle? a.introduction b.maturity c.harvesting d.growth e.incubation

b

Sales promotions, which are directed to ultimate consumers and are used to support advertising and personal selling, are called: a.trade promotions. b.consumer-oriented sales promotions. c.manufacturers promotions. d.channel promotions. e.public service promotions.

b

The __________ test uses aided recall to determine the percentage of those who remember seeing a specific magazine ad, who saw or read any part of the ad identifying the product or brand, and who read at least half of the ad. Elements of the ad are then tagged with the results. a.attitude b.Starch c.prompted response d.inquiry e.concept

b

The other name used for aided recall tests is: a.attitude testing. b.recognition-readership testing. c.prompted response testing. d.inquiry testing. e.concept testing.

b

The owners of a small hardware store had a limited advertising budget. As such, the owners of the store were very concerned with spending their advertising dollars wisely. One of their primary advertising concerns was to expose customers in a limited market area to their advertising messages as often as possible. The owners of the hardware store were con cerned with: a.reach. b.frequency. c.gross rating points. d.cost per thousand. e.advertising themes.

b

The primary purpose of a pioneering advertisement is to: a.promote a specific brand's features and benefits. b.inform the target market c.show one brand's strengths relative to those of competitors. d.reinforce previous knowledge of a product. e.build goodwill or an image for an organization rather than promote a specific good or service.

b

The purpose of pioneering institutional advertisements is to: a.promote a specific brand's features and benefits. b.announce what a company is, what it can do, or where it is located. c.state the position of a company on an issue. d.reinforce previous knowledge of a product. e.promote the advantages of one product class over another.

b

Three commonly used trade promotions are: a.coupons, rebates, and discounts. b.allowances and discounts, cooperative advertising, and training of distributor's sales forces. c.cooperative advertising, merchandise allowances, and points-of-purchase displays. d.allowances and discounts, consumer promotions, and merchandise allowances. e.allowances and discounts, consumer promotions, and training of distributor's sales force.

b

TransWave International is a small company that has developed a system that uses the Web and patented electronic sensors as an early-warning device for pipeline leaks. Pipeline safety is becoming a big issue in the U.S. as more natural gas lines are being laid near population centers. The timing is right for this company to be extremely successful, but it must make itself known to oil companies. One method used was an article about the company in Business 2.0 magazine. This article described the company, what its product could do, and why the product was needed. The article was an example of: a.reminder advertising. b.publicity. c.a sales promotion. d.institutional advertising. e.product placement.

b

What type of sales promotion is McDonald's using when it sells drinking glasses commemorating the 100th birthday of Walt Disney to consumers who also purchase a Happy Meal? a.a deal b.a premium c.a rebate d.a coupon e.a sample

b

Which of the following is NOT an example of an advertising posttest? a.attitude tests b.theater tests c.inquiry tests d.sales tests e.recall tests

b

Which of the following statements about unaided recall posttests is true? a.With unaided recall posttests, additional product information, product samples, or premiums are offered to an ad's readers or viewers, and ads generating the most inquiries are presumed to be the most effective. b.With unaided recall posttests, a question such as, "What ads do you remember seeing yesterday?" is asked of respondents without any other prompting to determine whether they saw or heard advertising messages. c.Unaided recall posttests involve studies such as controlled experiments and consumer purchase tests. d.In an unaided recall posttest, respondents are asked questions to measure changes in their attitudes after an advertising campaign, such as whether they had a more favorable attitude toward the product advertised. e.In an unaided recall posttest , respondents are first shown an ad and then asked whether their previous exposure to it was through reading, viewing, or listening.

b

A __________ is a discount on each case of goods ordered during a specific period of time. a.functional allowance b.merchandise allowance c.case allowance d.finance allowance e.manufacturer's allowance

c

A basic approach to scheduling, in which periods of advertising are scheduled between periods of no advertising to reflect seasonal demand is called: a.sustaining. b.dripping. c.flighting. d.pulsing. e.bursting.

c

A flighting schedule combined with a steady schedule because of increases in demand, heavy periods of promotion, or introduction of a new product is called a(n): a.drip schedule. b.blitz schedule. c.pulse schedule. d.turnover schedule. e.intermittent schedule.

c

A print ad for Allegra allergy medication offers a free purple seat cushion to all who request additional information about the drug. This seat cushion is an example of a: a.sample. b.deal. c.premium. d.rebate. e.coupon.

c

A sales promotion that takes the form of an advertising sign, which sometimes actually holds or displays the product, and which is often located in high-traffic areas near the cash register or the end of an aisle are called: a.special promotional displays. b.impulse racks. c.point-of-purchase displays. d.consumer attention displays. e.action racks.

c

A(n) ___________ is an advertising agency provides the most complete range of services, including market research, media selection, copy development, artwork, and production. a.limited-service agency b.full spectrum agency c.full-service agency d.multi-service agency e.in-house agency

c

Advertisements whose objective is to build goodwill or an image for an organization rather than promote a specific good or service are called: a.product advertisements. b.public service announcements. c.institutional advertisements. d.reminder advertisements. e.repositioning advertisements.

c

An advertisement in the North American Hunter magazine shows the Chevrolet S-Series pickup. The ad headline proclaims, "Just Thought We'd Reinvent the Wheel. Starting With the Door." The advertisement emphasizes the truck's newest feature, a third door designed to let passengers enter the extended cab more easily. The ad copy states that the new Chevy truck is the only compact pickup to offer a third door. The advertisement is an example of a(n) __________ advertisement. a.reminder product b.reminder institutional c.informational product d.informational institutional e.creative institutional

c

As a subscriber to Fitness magazine, Kelly was asked by a researcher, which ads she remembered seeing in the most recent issue of the magazine. Then she was asked questions about the content and appearance of the ads she remembered. The researcher was using __________ to test the effectiveness of ads in the magazine. a.inquiry testing b.concept testing c.unaided recall d.portfolio testing e.aided recall

c

At the beginning of the school year in September, Pfizer Pharmaceutical ran an ad in several women's magazines in which it suggested that the timing may be right for vaccination. Pfizer was using ________ __ advertising. a.pioneering b.competitive c.advocacy d.reminder e.comparative

c

Because consumers often do not pay close attention to advertising messages, advertisers want to reach the same audience more than once. The average number of times a person in the target audience is exposed to a message or advertisement is called: a.parity. b.reach. c.frequency. d.rating. e.gross rating points.

c

Billboard advertising is most effective for __________ advertising. a.pioneering b.advocacy c.reminder d.comparative e.differentiation

c

By placing an ad in the Sunday paper with an offer to save $.25 if you clip the ad and use it at the supermarket for your next purchase of Birdseye lima beans, Birdseye is using a __________ to stimulate demand for its lima beans. a.rebate b.sample c.coupon d.deal e.premium

c

CPM with respect to advertising is defined as the: a.cost of one medium relative to the cost of other media (e.g. direct mail versus television, radio, or outdoor), each of which are divided by the multiple of their respective reach and frequency. b.reach multiplied by frequency divided by the cost of reaching 1000 individuals or households with the advertising message. c.cost of reaching 1000 individuals or households with the advertising message. d.cost per minute of television or radio time e.number of consumers exposed to an advertising message, in thousands.

c

Competitive product and brand advertising is typically used to: a.inform the target market. b.identify the target market. c.persuade the target market. d.reinforce previous knowledge. e.state the position of the advertiser on an issue.

c

Continuous scheduling would most likely be used for advertising: a.snow blowers. b.school supplies. c.bathroom cleaner. d.toys. e.suntan lotion.

c

Many commercials that use sex appeals gain the attention of the audience, but they: a.contain no information to help consumers. b.do not appeal to either men or women. c.have little impact on how consumers think, feel, or act. d.wear out quickly, boring the consumer. e.don't appeal to the Net generation.

c

Most advertising messages are made up of two types of elements. They are: a.functional and persuasional. b.expository and persuasional. c.informational and persuasional. d.informational and creative. e.creative and expository.

c

One reason for NOT using newspapers as an advertising medium is their: a.inability to cover local markets. b.long lead time for ad placement. c.short life span. d.high cost. e.ability to create noise during the communication process.

c

One reason for NOT using the outdoor advertising is: a.its high costs. b.its lack of visibility. c.its local market focus. d.its inability to communicate short, pithy messages. e.all of the above

c

Reinforcement ads are reminder ads that: a.repeat the original theme in a slightly varied form to help avoid burnout. b.repeat ad campaigns that have been used before in order to remind customers of past loyalty. c.reassure consumers they have made the correct choice in choosing the product. d.reaffirm a company's position on an issue of importance or interest. e.reassure the company it has made the right choice in advertising the product.

c

The first step in the advertising decision process is: a.set the budget. b.specify the objectives of the advertising program. c.identify the target audience. d.select the appeal. e.select the media.

c

The kind of advertisements that state the position of a company on an issue, such as the ads sponsored by Miller beer encouraging the responsible use of alcohol, are __________ advertisements. a.pioneering b.competitive c.advocacy d.reminder e.political

c

The offer of one free pizza with the purchase of one pizza at the regular price might appeal to you one evening. This type of incentive offer is an example of: a.mass-market communication. b.a trade promotion. c.a consumer-oriented sales promotion. d.consumer encoding. e.consumer feedback.

c

The primary purpose of a competitive advertisement is to: a.inform the target market. b.tell people what a product is, what it can do, and where it can be found. c.persuade the target market to select the firm's brand rather than that of a competitor. d.reinforce previous knowledge of a product. e.promote the advantages of one product class over another.

c

The purpose of an advocacy advertisement is to: a.promote a specific brand's features and benefits. b.tell people what a company is, what it can do, and where it is located. c.state the position of a company on an issue. d.reinforce previous knowledge of a product. e.promote the advantages of one product class over another.

c

The radio commercial said, "Send three proofs of purchase and $3 for postage and handling to receive your monogrammed T-shirt." This ad was offering customers a: a.sample. b.deal. c.premium. d.rebate. e.coupon.

c

The three approaches to setting advertising schedules are: a.flexible, seasonal, and continuous. b.sweeping, bursting, and pulsing. c.flighting, pulse, and continuous. d.continuous, seasonal, and sweeping. e.incessant, intermittent, and infrequently.

c

TransWave International is a small company that has developed a system that uses the Web and patented electronic sensors as an early-warning device for pipeline leaks. Pipeline safety is becoming a big issue in the U.S. as more natural gas lines are bein g laid near population centers. The timing is right for this company to be extremely successful, but it must use __________ advertising so oil companies will know of the product's existence. a.reminder b.competitive c.pioneering d.institutional e.objective

c

Which of the following is a type of posttest used for advertising messages? a.theater tests b.portfolio tests c.sales tests d.jury tests e.all of the above

c

Which of the following is an important guideline when using fear appeal? a.Be sure to make it appeal to children. b.Make the appeal so strong that it appears humorous. c.Don't make the appeal so strong that consumers want to avoid the advertisement. d.Avoid any reference to death or dying. e.All of the above are important guidelines when using fear appeal.

c

Which of the following statements about comparative advertising is true? a.Comparative advertisements now constitute over two-thirds of all television ads. b.Comparative advertisements attract less consumer attention to the advertiser's brand. c.Comparative advertisements increase the perceived quality of the advertiser's brand. d.Comparative advertisements have been banned by the Federal Trade Commission. e.All of the above statements about comparative advertising are true.

c

Which of the following statements about radio as an advertising medium is true? a.There are seven times as many television stations as radio stations in the United States. b.Radio is not a highly segmented medium. c.The average college student during the day listens to radio more than he/she watches television. d.The peak radio listening time is during the night. e.Radio has unlimited use for conveying complex information.

c

Which of the following statements about sales tests is true? a.With sales tests, additional product information, product samples, or premiums are offered to an ad's readers or viewers, and ads generating the cost inquiries are presumed to be the most e ffective. b.With sales tests, a question such as, "What ads do you remember seeing yesterday?" is asked of respondents without any other prompting to determine whether they saw or heard advertising messages. c.Sales tests allow a manufacturer, a distributor, or an advertising agency to manipulate an advertising variable (such as schedule or copy) and observe subsequent sales effects. d.In a sales test, respondents are asked questions to measure changes in their attitudes after an advertising campaign, such as whether they had a more favorable attitude toward the product advertised. e.In a sales test, respondents are first shown an ad and then asked whether their previous exposure to it was through reading, viewing, or listening.

c

Which of the following types of media garners the largest amount of advertising expenditures? a.newspapers b.radio c.television d.Internet e.Yellow Pages

c

Yamaha Corp. has developed a new device that reduces the volume of trumpets by more than 30 decibels—to the level of a whisper. A microphone picks up the sound, feeds it to a n amplifier, and then to headphones that allow the musician to hear the music at a normal volume. What form of product advertising is the company likely to use? a.reminder b.competitive c.pioneering d.institutional e.objective

c

Young and Rubicam, Inc. developed the "Softer Side of Sears" campaign for Sears to target middle-income women. This agency provided marketing research, media selection, copy development, artwork, and production services for Sears. Young and Rubicam is an example of a(n): a.image consultant. b.consulting firm. c.full-service advertising agency. d.limited-service advertising agency. e.in-house agency.

c

__________ are programs in which a manufacturer pays a percentage of a retailer's local advertising expense for advertising the manufacturer's products. a.Trade promotion programs b.Consumer promotion programs c.Cooperative advertising programs d.Cause-related marketing programs e.Shared-responsibility programs

c

__________ involve showing ad copy to a panel of consumers and having them rate how they liked it, how much it drew their attention, and how attractive they thought it was. a.Focus groups b.Portfolio tests c.Jury tests d.Theater tests e.Performance tests

c

__________ is a sales promotion designed to encourage and reward repeat purchases by acknowledging each purchase made by a consumer and offering a premium as purchases accumulate. a.Merchandise lining b.Product enhancement c.Continuity programs d.Retail positioning e.Experiential decoding

c

__________ is any paid form of nonpersonal communication about an organization, good, service, or idea by an identified sponsor. a.Publicity b.Sales promotion c.Advertising d.Personal selling e.Direct marketing

c

__________ is defined as the number of different people or households exposed to an advertisement. a.Scope b.Share c.Reach d.Span e.Rating

c

A Taste of Greece, a restaurant chain that is known for its Extra Juicy Hero sandwich, wants to encourage repeat purchases and create customer loyalty. Which sales promotion should its employ? a.a two-for-the-price-of-one deal b.a coupon for a free soft drink with a Hero purchase c.a game with food prizes d.a trading stamp program, which allows buyers to earn free food after making a certain number of purchases e.free Extra Juicy Hero samples at local fairs and concerts

d

A __________ pays retailers for financing costs or financial losses associated with consumer sales promotions. a.promotional allowance b.merchandise allowance c.case allowance d.finance allowance e.failure fee

d

A brochure sent to retailers began with the following statement: "Retailers, these new sunglasses come with their own attractive free-standing carousel that fits perfectly next to your cash register." Which sales promotion does this exemplify? a.a sample b.a free standing insert c.a premium d.a point-of-purchase display e.a deal

d

A retail store marketing vice president is developing an advertising budget using the objective and task method. She has the objective of clearing slow-moving merchandise from her shelves and is trying to choose between radio and newspaper ads. Which of the following is an advantage of radio relative to newspaper as a means of achieving the objective? a.better reach b.more effective visuals c.ads can be saved by consumers d.better segmentation capability e.more effective in conveying complex information

d

All of the following steps are part of the planning process used to develop an organization's advertising program EXCEPT: a.identify the target audience. b.specify the advertising objectives. c.write the advertising copy. d.pretest the advertising. e.schedule the advertising program.

d

An __________ made up of the company's own advertising staff may provide full services or a limited range of services. a.intrafirm agency b.promotional department c.full-service agency d.in-house agency e.limited-service agency

d

An ad for Hydrozycut, an advanced weight loss formula by GNC, shows an attractive woman who claims that she lost "an incredible 23 pounds." This ad is using a: a.rhetorical appeal. b.life cycle appeal. c.humorous appeal. d.sex appeal. e.fear appeal.

d

An advertising message usually focuses on: a.the models in the ad. b.the product packaging. c.the problem the model is having. d.key benefits of the product that are important to the buyer. e.how the company will benefit.

d

As Roderick was checking out of Office Depot, the sales clerk said, "You'll probably want to take advantage of this offer." The offer read, "Mail in three UPCs and cash register tapes with the prices circled to receive a check for $25." The offer was an example of a: a.point-of-purchase. b.deal. c.coupon. d.rebate. e.premium.

d

Because advertising is expensive, marketers want to be certain the advertisements they run communicate the intended message to the target audience. In order to accomplish this communication goal, marketers conduct __________ before advertisements are placed in a medium. a.market research b.surveys c.advertising matrix evaluations d.pretests e.alternative media searches

d

Buyer turnover is defined as: a.the amount of time between repeat purchases of a given product. b.the amount of time it takes each generation to enter the product life cycle. c.how often a consumer will try a competitive brand before returning to the original choice. d.how often new buyers enter the market to buy the product. e.the ratio that shows the more frequently the product is purchased, the less advertising repetition is required.

d

For marketers, the primary objective of coupons is to: a.stimulate supply. b.increase trial and retaliate against competitor's actions. c.encourage present customers to buy more, and minimize brand switching behavior. d.encourage trial. e.encourage repeat purchases.

d

If you ordered a commercial to run on a local station that could reach 500,000 households for a cost of $1,000, what would your cost per thousand (CPM) be? a.$5.00 b.$4.00 c.$3.00 d.$2.00 e.$1.00 In this case the audience can be considered as 500 groups of 1,000 households (total 500,000), and $1,000 divided by 500 equals $2.00. Thus, the CPM = $2.00.

d

In advertising, __________ suggest to the audience that the product will increase the attractiveness of the user. a.rhetorical appeals b.logical appeals c.humorous appeals d.sex appeals e.fear appeals

d

Institutional advertisements can take all of the following alternative forms EXCEPT: a.reminder institutional ads. b.competitive institutional ads. c.pioneering institutional ads. d.product institutional ads. e.advocacy ads.

d

London Underground (subway) platforms are famous for their lively mix of advertisements—witty and amusing, informative, and large enough to be easily read. Ads change every few weeks. Some are part of a series with a story line that slowly emerges for regular commuters although each ad in the series makes sense to the one-time reader. These ads are examples of: a.frequency. b.opportunistic advertising. c.transitional advertising. d.transit advertising. e.serial advertising.

d

Portfolio tests: a.present a panel of consumers with an ad and ask for their reactions concerning the ad's effectiveness, appeal, etc. b.present a panel of consumers with an ad for a limited period of time. The ad is then removed, and the respondents are asked to recall as much pertinent information as possible. c.present consumers with a sample of a product and several different advertisements for the product. They are asked to select the one they think is most effective and explain why. d.place a test ad in the midst of other ads and stories, instruct consumers to look at the ads and stories, and then ask consumers for their impressions of the ads. e.use electronic devices to measure viewer response or feelings after viewing an advertisement.

d

Publicity tools are: a.methods of tying charitable contributions of a firm directly to the customer revenues produced through the promotion of one of its products. b.methods used to get a nonpersonal, directly paid presentation of a company or its products; examples are news releases, news conferences, and public service announcements. c.short-term inducements of value offered to arouse interest in buying a good or service. d.methods of obtaining nonpersonal presentation of an organization, good, or service without direct cost. e.questionable methods of influencing stakeholder opinion about some action or proposed action that may be perceived by some as unethical.

d

Sampling is an appropriate strategy for which type of products? a.products which are classified as shopping goods b.products in the decline stage of their product life cycle c.commodity products like salt, sugar, and baking soda d.products which are in the introductory stage of the product life cycle e.products which are classified as specialty goods

d

Shur-Valu Supermarkets changes its ads constantly to describe new products it has for sale and different price specials it offers. Which medium would be the least logical choice for placement of its messages? a.billboard (outdoor) b.direct mail c.radio d.magazines e.newspapers

d

Taco Bell introduced its new low-fat Border Lights fare by giving away 8 million free tacos and burritos in one day. Taco Bell used a sales promotion technique called: a.a self-liquidating premium. b.a special deal. c.a rebate. d.sampling. e.continuity.

d

Tests conducted after an advertisement has been shown to the target audience to determine whether it accomplished its intended purpose are referred to as: a.control testing. b.experience tests. c.exposure testing. d.posttests. e.pretests.

d

Tests conducted before an advertisement is placed in any medium to determine whether the advertisement communicates the intended message or to select between alternative versions of the advertisement are called: a.preliminary screenings. b.experience testing. c.exposure testing. d.pretests. e.posttests.

d

The California Pistachio Growers Association has an ongoing ad campaign in which it encourages people to think of pistachios when they think of good times and good friends. The ads ask readers to log onto www.pistachios.org to register to win a prize of pistachios for a year. The association is using a __________ to measure the effectiveness of its ads . a.lottery b.contest c.premium d.sweepstakes e.deal

d

The ad advised readers to "try your skill at using our cream cheese to create an exciting new recipe and you may be the winner of a trip for two to Hawaii." This ad was promoting a: a.premium. b.sweepstakes. c.deal. d.contest. e.end-run sample.

d

The consumer promotion that involves the use of a brand-name product in a movie, television show, video, or a commercial for another product is called: a.a product deal. b.a product premium. c.a product sample. d.product placement. e.product continuity.

d

The first week of April, the Drew Carey television show premiers a show that is full of errors and asks viewers to record all the errors they can and send the list to an address in California. The person who has found the most errors wins a chance to visit the set where the show is taped and have a walk-on role. This is an example of a: a.premium. b.sweepstakes. c.deal. d.contest. e.trade promotion.

d

The frequent appearance of Snapple drink on UPN's Roswell TV show is an example of: a.a product deal. b.a product premium. c.a product sample. d.product placement. e.product continuity.

d

The headline of a General Motors advertisement in the Reader's Digest magazine reads, "I believe these kids will make great engineers. Now I've got to make them believe it." The ad shows an engineer surrounded by seven young people. The ad copy talks about how General Motors believes the more the company puts into the community, the more society will get o ut of the community. This advertisement is an example of a(n): a.competitive institutional advertisement. b.competitive product advertisement. c.advocacy product advertisement. d.advocacy institutional advertisement. e.pioneering institutional advertisement.

d

The objective of institutional advertisements is to __________, rather than promote a specific good or service. a.support worthy charities b.increase frequency of purchases of new products c.increase the total amount of products used d.build goodwill or an image for an organization e.make direct sales

d

The purpose of a reminder advertisement is to: a.promote a specific brand's features and benefits. b.tell people what a product is, what it can do, and where it can be found. c.state the position of a company on an issue. d.reinforce previous knowledge of a product. e.promote the advantages of one product class over another.

d

The purpose of reminder institutional advertisements is to: a.promote a specific brand's features and benefits. b.tell people what a company is, what it can do, and where it is located. c.state the position of a company on an issue. d.bring the company's name to the attention of the target market again. e.promote the advantages of one product class over another.

d

The speed with which buyers forget about a brand if advertising is NOT seen is called: a.buyer turnover. b.the frequency rate. c.brand awareness rate. d.the forgetting rate. e.product recall dissipation rate.

d

The vice-president of marketing of G Street Fabrics has been told to invest the company's advertising dollars wisely. Which of the following measures could be used to compare the financial effectiveness of its advertising expenditures for different media? a.reach b.rating c.GRPs d.CPM e.frequency

d

Trade-oriented sales promotions are: a.promotions where charitable contributions of a firm are tied directly to the customer revenues produced through the promotion of one of its products. b.methods used to get a nonpersonal, indirectly paid presentation of a company or its products. Examples are news releases, news conferences, and public service announcements c.advertisements that show actual consumers using the product. d.sales tools directed used to support a company's advertising and personal selling directed to wholesalers, retailers, or distributors e.sales promotions which are directed to ultimate consumers and are used to support advertising and personal selling.

d

When preparing his grocery shopping list, Winston actively scans the supermarket ads in the local newspaper for coupons, rebates, and sale items. While in the store, Winston also looks for free samples of new products and products he hasn't purchased previously. The coupons, rebates, sale items, and free samples are all examples of: a.advertising. b.publicity. c.personal selling. d.sales promotion. e.direct marketing.

d

Which of the following statements about attitude tests is true? a.With attitude tests, additional product information, product samples, or premiums are offered to an ad's readers or viewers, and ads generating the most inquiries are presumed to be the most effective. b.With attitude tests, a question such as, "What ads do you remember seeing yesterday?" is asked of respondents without any other prompting to determine whether they saw or heard advertising messages. c.Attitude tests involve studies such as controlled experiments and consumer purchase tests. d.In an attitude test, respondents are asked questions to measure changes in their attitudes after an advertising campaign, such as whether they had a more favorable attitude toward the product advertised. e.In an attitude test, respondents are first shown an ad and then asked whether their previous exposure to it was through reading, viewing, or listening.

d

Which of the following statements describes a problem with using humorous appeals in advertising? a.What adults find humorous, children do not. b.What children find humorous, adults do not. c.Most humorous advertisements offend someone. d.Humor tends to wear out quickly, boring the consumer. e.Humorous appeals are easily ignored.

d

Which of the following statements describes a problem with using sex appeals in advertising? a.What men find sexy, women don't. b.What women find sexy, men don't. c.Sex appeal typically fails to gain audience attention. d.The sex appeal of the ad can distract the audience from the product. e.Sex appeals have no effect on senior citizens.

d

__________ advertisements are competitive advertisements that show one brand's strengths relative to those of competitors. a.Advocacy b.Competitive institutional c.Reminder d.Comparative e.Differentiation

d

__________ advertising promotes a specific brand's features and benefits. a.Institutional b.Hierarchical c.Pioneering d.Competitive e.Reminder

d

__________ is defined as the percentage of households in a market that are tuned to a particular television show or radio station. a.Gross rating points b.Reception rate c.Target audience reach d.Rating e.Share

d

__________ uses a patented computer system that digitally inserts ads into sporting events and other broadcast—not as a 15- or 30-second commercial—but as a visual part of the program. a.Media convergence b.Interstitials c.The digital divide d.Virtual advertising e.Interactive television

d

A __________ is an advertising agency that specializes in one aspect of the advertising process such as providing creative services to develop advertising copy or buying previously unpurchased media space. a.full-service agency b.in-house agency c.modified-service agency d.promotional firm e.limited-service agency

e

A news conference is a(n): a.announcement regarding changes in a company or product line. b.free space or time in a newspaper or on a broadcast medium. c.publicity tool which utilizes high-visibility individuals in lobbying activities. d.meeting of top news executives to decide advertising policy. e.informational meeting to which representatives of the media are invited.

e

An ad for Campbell's soup reads, "We haven't changed that great taste your family's always loved." This is an example of __________ advertising. a.advocacy b.comparative c.persuasive d.informative e.reminder

e

An ad for Conesco Insurance asks the question, "How long will you wait to start planning for long-term care?" The ad shows an elderly women being assisted by a nurse as she tries to win money on a game show. The idea that she will not have the care she needs because she failed to consider the future when she was young is an example of a:

e

An ad for Mercedes Benz cars showed a heart-shaped box of chocolates with one of the chocolates topped with the well-recognized Mercedes logo. There was no mention of the company name or sign of a product in the ad. This ad was an example of __________ advertising. a.competitive institutional b.competitive product c.advocacy d.pioneering product e.reminder institutional

e

Consumer-oriented sales promotions are: a.promotions where charitable contributions of a firm are tied directly to the customer revenues produced through the promotion of one of its products. b.methods used to get a nonpersonal, indirectly paid presentation of a company or its products. Examples are news releases, news conferences, and public service announcements c.advertisements that show actual consumers using the product. d.sales promotions that supplement advertising and personal selling but are directed to wholesalers, retailers, or distributors. e.sales tools used to support advertising and personal selling.

e

Frequency is defined as the: a.number of different advertisements, sales promotions, or publicity events in a promotional campaign of a marketing program. b.total number of times an advertisement is broadcast on network and cable television or radio. c.number of times an advertisement must be shown before a given percentage of the audience can recall key points of information. d.number of times an advertisement can be shown before it begins to lose effectiveness. e.average number of times a person in the target audience is exposed to an advertisement.

e

Michael Angelo's Pepperoni Mini Calzones are easy-to-prepare snacks, but the manufacturer believes customers are not buying the product as predicted because they are unfamiliar with calzones. The manufacturer is interested in employing a sales promotion technique that will communicate the ease of p reparation and encourage customers to try the product. Which method would it most likely employ? a.Advertise on television showing a mother preparing the snack in less than 60 seconds in the microwave. b.Provide a premium to build customer goodwill by receiving reduced price merchandise. c.Produce a point-of-purchase display that will be placed near a grocer's check-out register. d.Use a rebate to encourage customers to purchase the snack and increase customer confidence in the product. e.Use a demonstrator hired by the company to prepare the snack in a grocery store and give away the snacks to the shoppers.

e

One reason for using radio as an advertising medium is: a.its high cost. b.its long lead time required for the placement of an ad. c.its inability to use humor. d.its multisensory appeal. e.it is segmented.

e

One reason for using the Internet as an advertising medium is: a.its video and audio capabilities. b.its ability to use animation. c.the way that the ads can link customers and advertisers. d.interactive ads. e.all of the above

e

Pulse scheduling would most likely be used for advertising: a.bathroom cleaner. b.breakfast cereal. c.socks. d.motor oil. e.holiday candy.

e

Reminder product and brand advertising is typically used to: a.inform the target market. b.state the position of the advertiser on an issue. c.persuade the target market. d.identify the target market. e.reinforce previous knowledge.

e

The most common form of outdoor advertising is: a.stadium advertising. b.advertising on taxis. c.advertising on bus backs. d.advertising in subways. e.billboard advertising.

e

Theater tests: a.present a panel of consumers with an ad and ask for their reactions concerning the ad's effectiveness, appeal, etc. b.present a panel of consumers with an ad for a limited period of time. The ad is then removed, and the respondents are asked to recall as much pertinent information as possible. c.present consumers with a sample of a product and several different advertisements for the product. They are asked to select the one they think is most effective and explain why. d.present consumers with a hidden ad, which they are asked to recall. e.use electronic devices during or questionnaires after consumers view a TV advertisement to measure viewer response or feelings.

e

When Godiva Chocolates runs a magazine ad with the headline "Spend Your Birthday With The Ones You Love," it has created __________ advertising. a.parity b.direct sales c.pioneering d.comparative e.reminder

e

Which of the following describes a method used by coupon cheaters to defraud consumer goods manufacturers? a.Some scam artists set up a fake store and send coupons to manufacturers for payment. b.Coupon collectors often sell coupons by the pound to retailers who are paid full face value by manufacturers, even though the products were not sold. c.Retailers increase their refunds by adding extra coupons to those handed in by shoppers. d.Counterfeiters print rebate forms and proofs of purchase to collect big cash rebates without buying the goods. e.All of the above are methods used by coupon cheaters to defraud consumer goods manufacturers.

e

Which of the following is the definition for purchase frequency? a.the amount of time between trial and first repeat purchase of a given product b.the amount of time it takes each generation to enter the product life cycle c.how often a consumer will try a competitive brand before returning to the original choice d.how often new buyers enter the market to buy the product e.the more frequently the product is purchased, the less repetition is required

e

Which of the following is true about creating the advertising message? a.Copywriters are responsible for creating the text portion of the messages in advertisements. b.A high-quality 30-second TV commercial typically costs about $268,000 to produce. c.There are about 2,000 small commercial production companies in the US. d.As companies have developed global campaigns, the need to shoot commercials in "exotic" locations has increased. e.All of the above statements are true about creating the advertising message.

e

Which of the following is true regarding manufacturer training of distributor sales forces? a.The manufacturer provides brochures to educate the reseller's sales force. b.The manufacturer provides manuals to educate the reseller's sales force. c.The reseller's sales force is often less sophisticated and knowledgeable about the products than the manufacturer would like. d.Sales force training can increase the reseller's sales of the manufacturer's products. e.All of the above statements are true regarding manufacturer training of distributor sales forces.

e

Which of the following statements about aided recall posttests is true? a.With aided recall posttests, additional product information, product samples, or premiums are offered to an ad's readers or viewers, and ads generating the most inquiries are presumed to be the most effective. b.With aided recall posttests, a question such as, "What ads do you remember seeing yesterday?" is asked of respondents without any other prompting to deter mine whether they saw or heard advertising messages. c.Aided recall posttests involve studies such as controlled experiments and consumer purchase tests. d.In an aided recall posttest, respondents are asked questions to measure changes in their attitudes after an advertising campaign, such as whether they had a more favorable attitude toward the product advertised. e.In an aided recall posttest, respondents are first shown an ad and then asked whether their previous exposure to it was through reading, viewing, or listening.

e

Which of the following statements about magazines as an advertising medium is true? a.Magazines have distinct profiles for well-defined target audiences. b.Some nationally distributed magazines publish regional or metro editions to reduce the cost of ads and wasted coverage. c.Magazine ads can convey complex information. d.The cost of national magazine advertising is higher than comparable radio advertising. e.All of the above statements magazines as an advertising medium are true.

e

Which of the following statements about newspapers as an advertising medium is true? a.Newspapers have excellent local reach potential. b.National companies rarely use newspapers except in conjunction with local distributors of their products. c.Color reproduction is not very good. d.Local retailers often use newspapers as their sole medium. e.All of the above statements about newspapers as an advertising medium are true.

e

Which of the following statements about transit advertising is true? a.Transit advertising is a form of outdoor advertising. b.Transit advertising includes the interior and exterior of buses, subway cars, and taxis. c.One disadvantage of transit advertising is that heavy travel times often do not permit riders to read advertising copy. d.Transit routes can provide geographic selectivity of audiences for advertisers. e.All of the above statements about transit advertising are true.

e

Which of the following statements is true about executing the advertising program? a.Execution involves pretesting the copy and carrying out the advertising program. b.Advertising is evaluated to ensure that their advertising expenditures are not wasted. c.Evaluation is done before the advertisements are run in the campaign. d.Evaluation is done after the advertisements are run in the campaign. e.All of the above statements about executing the advertising program are correct.

e

__________ are sales promotions that require participants to submit some kind of entry form but are purely games of chance requiring no analytical or creative effort by the consumer. a.Premiums b.Rebates c.Deals d.Contests e.Sweepstakes

e

The purpose of competitive institutional advertisements is to: a.promote a specific brand's features and benefits. b.tell people what a company is, what it can do, and where it is located. c.state the position of a company on an issue. d.reinforce previous knowledge of a product. e.promote the advantages of one product class over another.

e


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