MK 335 MIDTERM

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The Fold

-Your most important message, content or Call to Action should usually be placed above the fold -Fold: The imaginary line at the bottom of the monitor that divides the immediately visible part of the website from the part that is visible only after scrolling down

Social Analytics

-deriving understanding and meaning from group behavior -sentiment analysis -monitoring online conversations, influence, what people are saying and where -Images and Text

Data Management Platforms

-establish who we are then track us, and make predictions about what we will do next -DMP create information layers overlaying physical reality and dynamically capture and process data -to develop insight into prospects and customer relationships and use findings in customer relationship management programs EX: email campaigns, suggesting additional products, retargeting

Contextual Advertising

-paid placement of ad campaigns on digital pages with content directly relevant to the ad being run.

Mobile

- Device Formats, iOS, Android - responsive, apps, ads, GeoFencing, , Google map, SMS, check ins, reviews

What is CPM

CPM campaigns maximize reach, are measured by how efficiently targeting lowers the cost per thousand reached. The advertiser pays for every thousand times the advert loads on the publisher's page. This is how a campaign is normally priced when brand Awareness or exposure is the primary goal.

· How does good copy, good keywords help your digital ad campaign reach traffic and revenue or lead generation goals?

If you have a good copy of your web design with an inclusion of important key words that are aligned with your digital ad campaign you will receive more relevant traffic who will not bounce from your site. They will be taken to the pages in your site which they are looking for straight from SEO and they will ultimately buy more products if they can find them.

CPA

Key ad distribution platforms CPA is often the best option for advertisers because they pay only when the Advertising has met its goal. For this reason, it is also the worst type for the publisher, as they are rewarded only if the advertising is successful. Most common use = banner ads.

3 formats to design for Mobile first

Mobile site- HTML pages linked together to create easier use of handheld displayMobile app- Downloadable content for mobile devices, designed specifically for IOS or androidResponsive design- Non interruptive change format, the design will reflect both web and mobile on any screen size.

What do we target with digital ads

Target people, not pages. At the right time. At the right place.

Copywriting for digital

Text must be crawlable, write pages text to reflect your keywords. Spiders can only crawl and index actual text

3 Web Page Design Theory Considerations

The Fold - The imaginary line where the page breaks at the bottom of a monitor, should be important info here. Consistency- The images, text color, size and themes should stay relevant and consistent White space- White space between stuff, not to much content squeezed in.

What is digital advertising and how is it different from traditional advertising

The primary difference between digital marketing and traditional advertising is that many digital marketers look to provide value to their audience by using content marketing and other solutions. Traditional advertisers are typically just looking to increase sales with their ad spots, not to provide value.

Digital Advertising - owned channels

your social media accounts

Behavioral Advertising

§ Examples: Sending display ads across the web to anonymized people who visited your website but did not convert on a form, § Publishing Sponsored Content ads on LinkedIn with related content for target leads who have watched a certain video § Retargeting ads § How it works today - Cookies (and pixels) § Email advertising and personalization - § Personalized website content, landing pages

Mobile Search

· - how is it different from web desktop searches

Digital Advertising - Paid/rented channels

advertisements, google tracking

Native Ads

another type of targeting within contextual targeting- aka branded content, sponsored content and Infomercial type ads for a publishers landing page that blend in with the normal editorial content on the page.

Bids

bidding system determines the cost per click you pay, as well as when ads are eligible to appear

Digital Advertising - earned channels

consumers search your company up

Behavioral Targeting

delivers relevant advertising to prospects and customers based on their established online tendencies and previous choices. How ads reach their users: Tracking data helps advertisers target users based on their behavior

online pr services

free: Current Free Services •Prlog.org •Onlineprnews.com •1888pressrelease.com •PR-inside.com paid: •Paid wire services •www.businesswire.com •www.prweb.com •www.prnewire.com •www.marketwire.com The differences between paid and free press release sites: •Many paid sites also offer extra SEO benefits -tagging, the option to edit your meta data, and grammar checking. They may also tweet your release to their lists •Robust analytics also come with the territory.

Outbound

reaching out to customers: - Display - Programmatic Advertising - Geo-fencing - Search /SEM - Email marketing - E-commerce

Link Building

- trust-and validated relevance building signals, what are some strategies, an example - 1.Ask for specific links from your suppliers - ask them to link back to you - its unlikely they will refuse a customer request 2.Find complimentary products or services - reach out with a pitch and ask them to collaborate, in the case of CD Landscaping this could be local landscape architects, Pool and patio contractors, Lawn irrigation installation companies and so on 3.Content marketing - creating and providing free quality advice and knowledge in your niche - on your site, in emails, on social pages and in social platform groups aligned with your product or service 4.Use the power of Facebook and Instagram - great sources of inbound links if you regularly engage in an open dialogue and have something to offer- content, samples, insider knowledge or tips - build your network and reach out to influencers in the niche/space - often local communities have sites like Wilton 411, etc. - use unique coupons and discounts to measure on your end which influencers have the most traffic-driving and conversion power. You can create individual coupon and discount codes align with individual influencers to track results 5.Link out to other sites 6.Press Releases 7.Subscribe and submit your links to web directories - CD Landscaping - Home Advisor, Angie's List, Yelp, Google+ business There are several web sites and communities available online on which you can sign up and create profile pages that link back

Types of End User Targeting and Advertising

-Contextual Advertising -Native Advertising Websites, email, relationship databases, ad networks

GDPR

-General Data Protection Regulation -GDPR ultimately places legal obligations on a processor to maintain records of personal data and how it is processed, providing a much higher level of legal liability should the organization be breached -GDPR is a European Law ordinance requiring all sites to state what information they always collect from you and we must agree to the terms and conditions of this. This is important because of the push for a more private digital world

Consistency

-Ideally, users perceive one message on multiple touchpoints -Consistent use of visual elements across all your properties and channels

How do we learn who are our digital prospects and customers are

-Research -Influencers -Tracking

SERP

-Search Engine Results Page - 5 components search engines use to rank pages/content. Search engine ranking factors: -rich snippets -paid results -universal results -knowledge graphs -ads

White Space

-The space between elements on a page -Spacing on the page allows the eye to travel easily between chunks of information and allows scanning

Factors that drive good web design

-Valuable: Solutions in the form of services, products, knowledge -Useful: Your content should be original and fulfill a need -Usable: Site must be easy to use -Desirable: Image, identity, brand, and other design elements are used to evoke emotion and appreciation -Findable: Content needs to be navigable and locatable onsite and offsite -Accessible: Content needs to be accessible to people with disabilities -Credible: Trust

Digital Analytics

-the measurement, collection, analysis and reporting of web data for purposes of understanding web usage -It can be used to help measure both online and offline transactions Mesrues/metrics: email marketing, Facebook, public relations, AdWords, and SEO. **we are striving to reach prospects on their journey ,engage them, so they interact with our brand. The value of Interactivity is not about the media but the quality of interaction - e.g. immersion, nature of the UX, extent to which the prospect is affected /takes action - sign-up, comment, share etc.**

3 things we need to understand about users

-what they need, -what they value, -their abilities, and limitations.

Keyword Search Strategy & Planning

4 Factors that define a good keyword/key phrase: 1. volume - Keyword volume tools 2.competition 3.Propensity to convert - likelihood searcher is going to convert & relevance of the selected term 4.Value per lead - aver. value per prospect attracted by the keyword

Search and Cookies

A cookie is a piece of text that a Web server can store on a user's hard disk. Cookies allow a Web site to store information on a user's machine and later retrieve it. The pieces of information are stored as name-value pairs. A pixel provides data similarly thru analysis and insight of users data May 2019 Google announced plan to eliminate cookies from Chrome by 2022 -Unlike many digital advertisers, Google does not rely third-party cookies for its ad business

Data Leakage

An Ad Network drops a cookie on a user to monetize an impression on Forbes.com, for a specific campaign they have contracted with Forbes for. Later they sell another advertiser on a campaign targeted to people who have been to Forbes.com, but do not share that revenue derived from the data in this instance with Forbes.com.

· Data-driven design, Designing for Persuasion - SEO and Calls to action

Begins with the customer, human factors is the analysis of usage- in laptop desktop or mobile.Designing the web-pages for calls to action, getting users to perform the desired task

What is CPC

CPC campaign seek to maximize click through or traffic to a page measured by the costs of generating clicks volume obtained , often used in PPC ads. the advertiser pays only when their ad is clicked on, regardless of how many times it has been viewed. CPC advertising is normally associated with search advertising, although it has become popular in display advertising too, especially when using ad networks. Cost Per Action or Cost per Acquisition campaign seek to maximize conversions, are measured by how many actions like transactions or leads are generated for the ad spending. Transactions or definitions of acquisitions vary depending on the site and campaign. It may be a user. Filling in a form, downloading a file or buying a product.

Customer Journey

Customer Decision Journey (CDJ) Here is how the CDJ works: -Consider an initial set of brands. - Evaluate information to expand and then narrow choices. - Buy a product based on a final decision. - Experience the product and create expectations that will inform a subsequent purchase. - Advocate for (or militate against) the product or service based on the experience - Bond with the brand, which that leads to repeat purchases.

Inbound

Customers reaching out to the company: -SEO (search engine optimization) -Link Building -Content Marketing: Whitepaper, guides, contests

What is the focus of User Experience

Data driven design, architecture and navigation, layout and design, content and readability, behavior and interaction

Lifetime Customer Value

Effective and critical measure of business sustainability, monetization of the customer relationship Formulas: CLV = Average Revenue per User/#Period X Gross Margin X Average Duration of Relationship* (period) or CLV= Average annual recurring revenue per account X (1/annual churn) X gross margin (%) = ($) LTV Or CLV = Average Order Value X (#) Repeat Sales X (in # months) Average Retention Time X (%) gross margin = ($) LTV

Social

Entering the conversation: - Platforms - Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, Vimeo, YouTube, Snap Chat,TikTok Crowdsourcing

Customer Lifespan

Formula: Lifespan = 100/(100 - Retention)

Google Ads Quality Score

Google Ads Quality Score •Applied on keyword, ad group and account •Relevance of keyword to search term(s) •Relevance of ad copy to search •Relevance of landing page to the search •CTR history of the ad

SEO Strategies

On-page optimization: -achieved by making changes to the HTML code, content and structure of a website, -making it more accessible for search engines, and -by extension, easier for users to find. Off-page optimization: -Focused on building links to your website, and -covers activities like social media and digital PR Local SEO - Be Found on Mobile Increasing local visibility -Claim a business listing in Google -Location data -Citation management -Managing online directory listings/ Yelp, Manta, etc. ratings/reviews, and local social media engagement

Reputation Management

Online Reputation Management - your brand identity and characterization in the online community

What are the 4 digital strategy pillars that all tactics fall under - know what tactics fall into what strategy -

Outbound Inbound Social Mobile

Media Hacking

The innovative use of media in the creative development of ad messages to create an immersive UX for the viewer •Use of media to enhance the brand message and UX •Use of tech for interactive, immersive storytelling •Leveraging "networked" life - integration, multi-platform, mobile, Radio Frequency Identification Identification (RFID), near-field communications, etc.

Behavioral targeting tactics usually overlap with re-marketing.

Remarketing/Retargeting is the tactic of marketing to people who have already engaged with your company in some way. Sometimes, this targeting is behavioral — like targeting people who have already visited a particular landing page or downloaded a specific topical content offer, or whitepaper.

SEO vs PPC

Search engine optimization is how the search engines pull the most relevant information to the top of the lists via keywords. Pay per click is a paid method to have qualified prospects and leads find your site via a search engine. Keywords are free, adwords are not. Inbound

Display Ad Formats

Standard Banners - Leaderboard, square/tile, skyscraper, rectangle Interstitial Banners - take over the screen on the first page, or between pages Pop-Ups and Pop-Unders - new, separate windows •Note Google may downgrade rank for sites using Floating Ads - float in a layer above site content, prominent close Other: Maps, Video, Native, Sponsored Content

What is Behavioral Targeting

The ability to serve relevant content/products/ads to users based on past behavior. The benefits are that users are placed in segments relevant to them, makes the internet feel "personalized"

Customer Acquisition Cost

The cost to the company to acquire a new customer Formulas: 1. Cost of Contact/ Response Rate = CAC 2. ($) Total sales expenses and marketing expenses / (#) new customers acquired = ($) CAC 3. Marketing cost +Wages associated with Marketing and Sales + Cost of all marketing and sales Software + Professional Services + Other overheads related to marketing and sales/ Customers Acquired = CAC

CAC, LTV, Lifespan EXAMPLE

The following data are collected after a firm runs a search marketing campaign. The average customer makes one transaction per year. Revenue per transaction generated from the campaign was $400 per transaction, the average margin generated from the search marketing program is $200. Customer retention rate was 50% Media Spending =$525,000 Impressions = 6,865,500 Clicks = 185,000 Transactions = 5250 Revenue/Transaction = $400 Margin/Transaction = $200 Determine each of the following metrics for the program detailed above: (A) Click-through rate (B) Conversion rate (C) Cost per click (D) Customer lifespan (E) Customer acquisition cost (F) Lifetime customer value A) CTRate = number or click/number of impressions = 185,000/6865500 = .0269 = .0269x100= 2.69% B) Conversion Rate = number of transactions/number of clicks = 5250/185000 = .0284 x100 =2.84% C) Cost per click = cost of advertising/ number of clicks = 525000/185,000 = $2.84 D) Customer lifespan = 100/(100-retention) = 100/(100-50) = 2yrs. E) Customer acquisition cost = Total marketing and sales expenses for the period or campaign/ number of new customers acquired for the period or campaign = 525000/5250 = $100 F) LCV = Average revenue per customer per period x gross margin rate x average duration of the relationship = 400x.50x2 = 200x2 = $400 Or, Average annual recurring revenue per customer x (1/100-retention)x gross margin rate = 400x2 x .50= $400

What is web design's purpose and key elements, what type of digital strategy is it

To have a user experience that focuses on having a deep understanding of what they need, what they value and their abilities and limitations.Inbound strategy since customers are coming to you, customer centric

Analysis & Attribution

Tracking data usually tied into your CRM program -Assigning value to interactions Types of attribution - basic models: Single Event: -First Click/Touch -Last Click/Touch -View Through

SEO Defined

Valuable content, engagement: -to attract visitors -to retain visitors and bring them back -to convert visitors to leads, Customers/fans/donors/supporters/users Important to digital ads, link building, user generated content

Ad tagging

What is ad tagging - A tag (or often called pixel) is a short snippet of JavaScript (code) that does something on your website. Cookies and pixels work together to track visitors and serve them relevant, personalized ads or page content -Marketing/advertising tags and pixels are collecting some information about the visitor to a website and their behavior on the site. -This is then sent back to the respective marketing/advertising platform to be processed

Native Advertising

a form of contextual targeting in which the ad or sponsored content appears like editorial content

Behavioral Advertsing

a refinement of Contextual Adv. - Tracking data helps advertisers target users based on their behavior (search, clicks, purchases, device) rather than demonstrated or stated preferences for certain content or searches

CPA, CPC, CPM

key terms and payment models in online advertising

Contextual Advertising

paid placement of ad campaigns on digital pages with content directly relevant to the ad being run


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