mktg 455 exam 1 study guide
From our Brexit conversation, what is the name of the group of people who can be influenced via a significant amount of targeted digital advertising to effect the outcome of the entire election/referendum? "Vote Leave" "The Fringe" "The Persuadables" "The Victims" "Cambridge Analytica"
"The Persuadables"
Calculate the amount you will pay for an ad (CPC) using the following information: The ad rank of the person below you is 15 Your ad rank is 30 The Quality score of the person below you is 7 Your Quality score is 10 $1.50 $1.00 $2.00 $3.50
$1.50
With a budget of $1,000, an average CPC of $2.50, how many clicks can the advertiser receive before their budget is exhausted?
$1000/$2.50 = 400 clicks
Using the above information and answer, with an average CPC of $3, how many clicks can you get before you get a sale? What should be your target conversion rate?
$15 CPA / $3CPC = 5 (1 Conversion / 5 clicks) = 20% Target conversion rate
Assume you buy women's skirts at wholesale for $10, and you resell them online for $50, and you give away free shipping which costs $5, and you want to make $20 per dress, what should your target CPA be?
$50 Retail Price - $10 Wholesale cost - $5 Shipping cost - $20 Target Margin = $15 Target CPA
With an unlimited budget, an average CPC of $1.00, a CTR of 1.8%, and 60,000 impressions, how much will the advertiser spend?
(60,000 * .018) * $1 = $1080 or (Number of impressions x click through rate x cpc)
An advertiser wants to show search ads to people searching for running shoes. She wants her ad to show only for searches that use "running" or a close variant, but she wants to allow for broader matching to "shoes". Which keyword matching will accomplish this? - [running shoes] - "running shoes" - +running shoes - +running +shoes
+running shoes
paid referral traffic examples
- banner ads - text ads - video ads - affiliates - link purchases
direct traffic
- recognizable brand - easy to remember URL - bookmarked pages - mobile app - email marketing
display ad network : 3 players
1. Display Ad Network platform - this provides the structure for the ad network and connects advertisers with publishers (i.e. Google Ads and Microsoft Advertising) 2. Publisher - website owners who make their sites available for ad space 3. Advertiser - companies who pay to advertise on publisher's websites
effective display advertising
1. attract attention 2. communicate a value proportion 3. invite action
display ad targeting: 3 methods of targeting
1. audience 2.demograpahics 3. content
revenue metrics
1. conversion rate 2. revenue 3. revenue per session 4. top seller
web design frameworks
1. design for usability 2. conversion centered design 3. three questions 4. segments 5. mobile first
audience targeting enables advertisers to target people based on their:
1. interests 2. behavior
audience metrics
1. pageviews 2. sessions 3. users 4. average session duration 5. entry
what does a search engine look for?
1. the meaning of your query 2. relevance of web pages 3. quality of content 4. usability of web pages 5. context and settings
keyword usage
1. url 2. title tase 3. header tags 4. main content 5. alt text 6. anchor text
key web design steps
1. who is the target and what do they need 2. what are you trying to convey to the target 3. what are your site objectives 4. design site 5. test and retest "ABT"
modified broad match
1.advertisers wanted something in between Broad Match and Phrase Match; indicated by putting a "+" sign before the keyword(s)
broad match
1.provides the broadest keyword interpretation; i.e. casts the widest net
What is the conversion rate based on the following analytics information from Amazon's website? # of visitors = 10,500,000 # of visitors who visited more than 1 page = 6,500,000 # of visitors who put an item in shopping cart = 1,500,000 # of visitors who purchased something = 250,000 2.4% 14.3% 3.8% 16.7% 61.9%
2.4% = 250,000/10,500,000 or (number of sales (purchases)/ total number of visitors)
During September, a website had 5,000 total pageviews from 2,000 sessions. What is the site's average page depth for September? 0.4 2.5 1.5 3.5 10.0
2.5=5000/2000 or total pageviews/sessions
The benefit of keyword mapping is... - to prevent keyword cannibalization in a website's SEO efforts - to make sure the most appropriate webpage shows up on the SERP for every search phrase - to organize SEO efforts across the many search phrases the website is targeting - All of these options
All of these options
Why is a high bounce back rate a negative signal of a webpage's quality? - Because this behavior is an indicator that the website might be engaging in click fraud. - Because the search engine must load the SERP again, and this wastes the server's bandwidth. - Because search engine rankings are determined by websites' conversion rate, and a high bounce rate means a low conversion rate - Because this behavior indicates that the searcher did not find what they were looking for.
Because this behavior indicates that the searcher did not find what they were looking for.
landing page experience
Employing the principles of good web design found in Chapter 2 of the text should create a good landing page experience, which will decrease bounces. But search marketers should also remember to incorporate keywords into the landing page and also to create a different landing page for each ad group to make sure the landing page matches the searchers' intent.
The "freshness" of backlinks to your site has no impact on its search ranking. True False
False
What is the anchor text of this link: <a href="http://jane.com">Fashion deals</a> ? </a> Fashion deals "http://jane.com" <a href>
Fashion deals
In what way is the Final URL the most important part of a search ad? - As the longest part of the search ad, it takes up the most space - The Quality Score is based exclusively on the final URL - The final URL is bolded for users, so it most readily entices a click - If the final URL is wrong, searchers cannot reach the website properly
If the final URL is wrong, searchers cannot reach the website properly
Which of the following is NOT used when calculating an ad's Quality Score? - Expected CTR - Landing page experience - Organic search ranking - Ad relevance
Organic search ranking
display ad network
Platform to coordinate digital display advertising
Which of the following is NOT an example of direct traffic? - Someone types in the URL of a website into a browser address bar - Someone clicks on a bookmark from his/her browser - none of these - Someone types the name of a website into a search bar and clicks the first link on the search engine results page - Someone clicks on a link from an email
Someone types the name of a website into a search bar and clicks the first link on the search engine results page
For a search engine, "relevance" refers to... - The traffic level of the website - How high you rank on the SERP - How many pages on the website link to one another - Whether a website has been visited by the searcher before - The extent to which a webpage's content matches the searcher's query
The extent to which a webpage's content matches the searcher's query
You have a website that sells widgets, and you have a category page specifically for blue widgets. After some extensive outreach efforts, you are able to gain 100 links to your blue widgets category page, but no links to your homepage. How will these new links affect the rankings of your homepage on relevant searches? They will improve homepage rankings. They will have no effect on homepage rankings. They will damage homepage rankings. They will improve homepage rankings on searches for red widgets.
They will improve homepage rankings.
I'm running a hockey equipment website and I want to make sure the shoppers who are interested in hockey sticks are very narrowly defined. To do that, what keyword match strategy should I use for the search phrase 'hockey sticks'? [hockey sticks] +hockey sticks *hockey *sticks "hockey sticks" hockey sticks
[hockey sticks]
What enables a website to recognize a computer as a return visitor rather than a first-time visitor? - an IP address - a cookie - the computer's configuration - a URL - the web browser
a cookie
An editorial link is... - a link created in a quid pro quo agreement with another website owner - a link created by submitting one's own site to a directory or local business archive - a link created voluntarily by another website owner because he/she values the website's content - a link created by a newspaper editor
a link created voluntarily by another website owner because he/she values the website's content
manual links
acquired through direct efforts, but still requires a 3rd party to sign off on
A website that sells high-end ties notices that its ads are showing up for searches that include the word "cheap". Because its ties are expensive, it does not want its ads to show up for searchers using the word "cheap". What should this advertiser do? - change exact match keywords to phrase match keywords - use only exact match in its keyword list - change any modified broad match keywords to broad match keywords - add the word "cheap" to its negative keyword list
add the word "cheap" to its negative keyword list
paid search
allows a company to target driven customers
AIDA model
awareness - generating traffic interest - driving conversion desire - driving conversion action - maximizing revenue per conversion
ad rank components
bid amount quality score expected CTR ad relevance landing page experience
Return on Advertising Spend (ROAS) cannot be calculated within a Google Ads account unless - the advertiser spends a minimum of $250 per month on Google Ads - the advertiser has achieved at least 50 conversions in the past month - conversion tracking is set up properly in Google Analytics (or Tag Manager) and connected to the Google Ads account - the advertiser has a six month history of advertising on Google Ads
conversion tracking is set up properly in Google Analytics (or Tag Manager) and connected to the Google Ads account
To conduct an A/B test on ad copy, an advertiser merely has to... - create multiple ad campaigns, each with a different ad group - create multiple ad groups, each with a different ad - create multiple ads in an ad group - create multiple accounts
create multiple ads in an ad group
editorial links
given spontaneously by another webmaster because h/she likes the pages content (highest ranked)
Jane.com sells clothing and accessories. They want their line of maternity clothing to show up on searches that include 'maternity'. What should the URL for the maternity category page be? https://jane.com/category5 https://jane.maternity.com https://jane.com/maternity https://maternity.jane.com
https://jane.com/maternity
For a perfectly "optimized" page for on-site SEO, you would include keywords - none of these - in the footer - in the H1 headline - in the URL - in the URL and in the H1 headline
in the URL and in the H1 headline
Including the word 'maternity' in the alt text and file name of several images on the maternity category page of Jane.com will... - increase the likelihood that the page will show up on searches for 'maternity' - better organize the website content - help visitors see the image descriptor - boost the SERP for other pages on Jane.com
increase the likelihood that the page will show up on searches for 'maternity'
routes and availability page
is the page that comes up after someone does a search for hotel rooms in a particular location and timeframe
manufactured links
low quality, best avoided ex: adding comments to a blog and including a link to your website
Writing a blog for someone else's blog and including links to one's own site would give a website what kind of links? no follow links manual links editorial links manufactured links
manual links
phrase match
one step up in breadth from Exact Match; directs the search engine to match the exact phrase in "quotes", but can include words before or after
paid links
paid links to an outside website
Which of the following is NOT a match type for selecting search ad targets? - precise match - phrase match - exact match - broad match
precise match
All of the following are recommended to be shown in a search ad EXCEPT: - reference to competitors - keywords - unique value proposition - call to action
reference to competitors
choosing keywords
relevance traffic competition current ranking
SERP
search engine results page
"Long tail keywords" are... search terms with lower volume search terms done on mobile devices similar to "fat head keywords" search terms that produce a low conversion rate
search terms with lower volume
off site SEO
seeks to improve a websites popularity by getting lots of other webpages with good quality to point to that website
An ad's location, bid strategy, daily budget, and ad extensions are all determined at what level within Google Ads? - the ad group level - the keyword level - the ad level - the campaign level
the campaign level
anchor text
the clickable blue words that make up each link
For a search engine, "relevance" refers to... - the traffic level of the website - the extent to which a webpage's content matches the searcher's query - how many pages on the website link to another - whether a website has been visited by the searcher before
the extent to which a webpage's content matches the searcher's query
a measure of quality for off site SEO
the number and character of links pointing to that webpage
exact match
this is the narrowest search parameter. Implies that the phrase has to be a word-for-word exact match. Not really. It has to be close match, but if it is still a close variant, it will match. Brackets [ ] are used to direct Google Ads to use exact match keyword targeting.
unpaid search
traffic comes by being well ranked on commonly searched terms
natural inbound links
unpaid links to other pages within a website
In web design, what is more important than a website's visual appeal is... - how new the website is - how many pages it has - whether it generates a high conversion rate - what colors it features - whether the website uses HTML5
whether it generates a high conversion rate
ad relevance
•Ad relevance is primarily measured by the keywords found in the ad. This means that (1) advertisers should incorporate keywords into the ad copy when possible and (2) ad groups should be organized around a small number of keywords (5-10) so that the ad relevance remains as high as possible for as many keywords as possible.
expected CTR
•Google wants the CTR to be as high as possible, because that's how it earns money, so if we earn a high CTR, we will be rewarded with better ad placement. We can improve CTR by writing good ad copy and by continually running A/B tests to keep improving CTR.