Digital Strategy Quizzes

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What technical information about a visitor's computer is NOT known to analytics? a) Operating system b) Browser c) Screen size d) Memory

Memory

Which is the correct formula for calculating CTR? a) (Clicks/Impressions) x 100 = CTR b) Clicks/Impressions = CTR c) (Impressions/Clicks) x 100 = CTR d) Clicks/Cost = CTR

a) (Clicks/Impressions) x 100 = CTR

How many responses are optimal for negative reports on scam reporting websites? a) 1 b) 0 c) 2 d) 3

a) 1

The 3,000 visits to my site last week resulted in 12,000 hits. What was the average page depth last week? a) 4 b) 3 c) 4,000 d) 3,000

a) 4 12,000/3,000 = 4

Which of the following might be a paid link (advertisement) on our site? a) <a rel="nofollow" href="http://www.expedia.com/Hotels">Great Hotel Deals</a> b) <a href="http://www.expedia.com/Hotels">Great Hotel Deals</a>

a) <a rel="nofollow" href="http://www.expedia.com/Hotels">Great Hotel Deals</a>

Which of the following is NOT an example of ORM? a) A company hires a PR firm to attract news stories about the company so that its homepage ranks better on the SERP b) A company hires a PR firm to attract news stories about the company so that searches on the company's name will bring up links to the positive news stories instead of negative links c) A company uses Google Alerts to monitor web mentions of its company and its top executives d) A company uses its customer service team to respond to negative comments about the company online

a) A company hires a PR firm to attract news stories about the company so that its homepage ranks better on the SERP

A "hit" is another term for what? a) A pageview b) A purchase c) A site visit d) A video view

a) A pageview

Which of the following developments will make consumers more tolerant of notification-based advertising? a) Ad targeting will improve so that only informative and welcome notifications will be sent b) Notifications will be controlled biometrically c) consumers will be unable to turn off notifications from any apps d) Social distancing

a) Ad targeting will improve so that only informative and welcome notifications will be sent

Remarketing ads are displayed: a) After visitors to the advertiser's site have downloaded a cookie on their browser and they go to a site within the ad network where the advertiser is paying for clicks. b) After visitors to the advertiser's site has downloaded a cookie on their browser and they go anywhere else online. c) Only on the Google Display ad network. d) When someone who has visited the advertiser's site goes anywhere else online.

a) After visitors to the advertiser's site have downloaded a cookie on their browser and they go to a site within the ad network where the advertiser is paying for clicks.

A social media style guide should specify all but which of the following? a) Click Through Rate b) Tone c) Legal d) Format Guidelines e) Response Guidelines

a) Click Through Rate

If a keyword has low search volume, you should do which of the following? a) Consider the CPC and if your ad and landing page are relevant to determine if you should choose that keyword b) Most definitely do NOT advertise on this keyword c) Most definitely do advertise on this keyword d) Only choose it as a keyword if it has a low cpc

a) Consider the CPC and if your ad and landing page are relevant to determine if you should choose that keyword

What are the three main social media activities? a) Create Content/Manage Paid Ads/Reputation Management b) Tone/Legal/Response Time c) Engagement %/CTR/Loyalty d) Humor/Education/Inspiration

a) Create Content/Manage Paid Ads/Reputation Management

On which of the following dimensions are mobile users equal to desktop users? a) Effectiveness of video b) Length of internet usage sessions c) Patience d) Importance of location

a) Effectiveness of video

Which header tag is the largest? a) Header 1 (<h1>) b) Header 2 (<h2>) c) Header 7 (<h7>) d) Header 5 (<h5>)

a) Header 1 (<h1>)

If a company thinks its website is being punished for engaging in black-hat SEO tactics, it should a) Immediately fix any pages using these tactics b) Choose new keywords to target c) Improve the site's XML sitemap d) Use less detectable black-hat SEO tactics

a) Immediately fix any pages using these tactics

Ad Rank takes into consideration: a) Keyword Bid and Quality Score b) None of these c) Quality Score d) Keyword Bid

a) Keyword Bid and Quality Score

Single product landing pages should include all of the following, except: a) Links, images, and info about other products b) Product images c) Call to Action d) Familiar color scheme and logo

a) Links, images, and info about other products

Which of the following should go in the upper fold of a lead generation landing page? a) Phone number b) Link to Terms and Conditions page c) Disclaimers d) Extensive content

a) Phone number

Who is liable when false information is posted online? a) Practically nobody b) The web hosting company that maintains the website's servers c) The company that maintains the website on which the false information is posted d) Search engines that link to the false information

a) Practically nobody

Which of the following is a valid use of browser Bluetooth for a large retailer like Target, Hy-Vee or Walmart? a) Providing location-based information to shoppers b) Automating checkout procedures c) Making audio broadcast announcements in the store d) Improving Wi-Fi signals in-store

a) Providing location-based information to shoppers

A retail website's conversion rate is calculated as a) Purchases/Visits b) Revenue/Page Views c) Visits/Advertisements d) Page Views/Visitors

a) Purchases/Visits

The accelerated mobile pages project is trying to address what shortcoming of mobile devices? a) Slow loading of webpages b) Poor mobile web design c) Immobility of desktop computers d) Difficult clicking

a) Slow loading of webpages

Companies need to measure the impact of their Social Media efforts. KPIs for Social Media might include all but which of the following? a) Tone b) Conversion Rate c) Changes in Volume and Sentiment d) Follower Growth/Decline e) Engagement Rate

a) Tone

Which is NOT one of the three "T's" of negative publicity? a) Trolling b) Timeliness c) Transparency d) Training

a) Trolling

In general, the proper response to a negative review on an online review site is to: a) Understand the situation and take responsibility where appropriate b) explain how the company is not at fault c) Send discounts & coupons in response for the failure d) ignore it

a) Understand the situation and take responsibility where appropriate

If I run a retail website that sells sports equipment and I send a broadcast email to my email list advertising a 15% discount on ski helmets, then a user who clicks on the email should be taken to a) a dedicated landing page showing ski helmets with a 15% markdown b) the homepage c) a search bar on my site where users can search for the specific gear they want d) the ski gear category page

a) a dedicated landing page showing ski helmets with a 15% markdown

Sending an email to a shopper who has abandoned their shopping cart is an example of a) a triggered email b) a segmented email c) a transactional email d) a broadcast email

a) a triggered email

A company like Apple generates so much online commentary that it would be too labor intensive to monitor it all. But Apple still wants to be on the lookout for negative press. It should therefore.... a) actively monitor crucial alerts like "Apple + fraud" and "Apple + scam" b) just look at ten randomly selected results from Google Alerts per day c) monitor blogs only and ignore news sites, discussion forums, etc. d) just examine Google Alerts once per month

a) actively monitor crucial alerts like "Apple + fraud" and "Apple + scam"

Unpaid search traffic comes when a user clicks on a) an organic search result b) a banner ad c) the top advertised listing d) a listing in the sidebar on the right of the SERP (search engine results page)

a) an organic search result

A manual link-building practice that was once considered standard but is now considered (by Google) to lean toward black hat is a) asking customers to link to your website. b) creating a social media profile for your website. c) guest blogging. d) submitting your site to Google Places.

a) asking customers to link to your website.

A commuter's evening routine is very rigid except for Friday evenings, when she often makes extra stops forr shopping on the way home. Advertisers would most likely find success if they targeted her with ads a) at the beginning of her evening commute b) during the weekend c) during her morning commute d) when she gets home from her Friday evening commute

a) at the beginning of her evening commute

Targeting consumers based on their location is not as effective as targeting them based on their location and a) both past behavior and timing b) timing c) their past behavior d) neither past behavior nor timing

a) both past behavior and timing

A website's popularity is determined by a) external inbound links. b) its Google ranking. c) its traffic. d) an annual poll.

a) external inbound links.

I do a search for "restaurants near me" and I see an ad for a local Tahi restaurant only if I am within 400 meters of the restaurant's location. This location-based ad strategy is called... a) geo-fencing b) hyper-targeting c) temporal training d) cogintive dissonance

a) geo-fencing

When compared to a typical online ad campaign, remarketing campaigns typically have a) higher CTR and higher conversion rates. b) lower CTR and lower conversion rates. c) lower CTR and higher conversion rates. d) higher CTR and lower conversion rates.

a) higher CTR and higher conversion rates.

A page's ranking is determined by both its popularity and its relevance to the searched phrase. The page's popularity is measured based on a) its link profile as well as the root domain's link profile. b) keyword usage. c) the link profile of its root domain d) its link profile.

a) its link profile as well as the root domain's link profile.

All else being equal, a marketing channel that has a high cost per exposure will have a _______________ ROI. a) low b) high

a) low

A company has focused all of its efforts on demand harvesting for a long time. It should now shift its efforts to include ___________________. a) loyalty building b) demand generation c) PPC d) even more demand harvesting

a) loyalty building

A hashtag's primary purpose on Twitter is to a) make Tweets searchable b) provide a link to discover additional information related to that Tweet. c) identify the source of the Tweet. d) add a witty phrase to a Tweet for comedic effect.

a) make Tweets searchable

Mobile users engage in more "snacking" than desktop users. This means that... a) mobile users have shorter, more frequent usage sessions b) mobile users make smaller, more frequent purchaes c) mobile users find restaurants more frequently from their phones d) mobile users do not eat three square meals per day

a) mobile users have shorter, more frequent usage sessions

All of the following activities are more difficult on a mobile device than on a desktop computer EXCEPT a) scrolling b) viewing information c) clicking d) typing

a) scrolling

Getting 100 backlinks from 100 different websites is better for ranking purposes than getting 100 backlinks from 10 different websites because a) search engines consider link diversity a sign of organic, independent endorsements of a website's content. b) if we get too many links from the same website, the search engines automatically assume we are buying those links. c) the links from 100 different websites will generate more traffic, and traffic is the most important ranking determinant. d) if the links come from 100 different websites, those links are more likely to generate social sharing.

a) search engines consider link diversity a sign of organic, independent endorsements of a website's content.

In general, advertisers are willing to pay more if a) they can more precisely target potential customers. b) they can show their ad repeatedly to the same person. c) their ads are humorous. d) their ads are shown to older people.

a) they can more precisely target potential customers

Direct traffic is defined as visitors who a) type the URL directly into their browser's address bar b) click directly on a product page c) are using a mobile device d) come to the site directly from Google

a) type the URL directly into their browser's address bar

The Google Display Ad Planner tells you a) where your target audience is spending their time online. b) exactly how much you will have to pay per click. c) how many clicks your ads will get. d) exactly how many impressions your ads will get

a) where your target audience is spending their time online.

In a PPC text ad, it is a best practice to include which of the following: a) UVP b) All of these c) Keywords pertaining to the adgroup d) Call-to-Action

b) All of these

To have consistent messaging online, all of your ads should a) use similar calls to action. b) All of these. c) use a similar color scheme. d) highlight the same value propositions.

b) All of these.

A website can influence its click-through rate on the SERP through a) The title tag b) Both of these c) The meta description d) None of these

b) Both of these

A reliable way to increase a website's rankings is to create multiple copies of the site at different URLs. a) True b) False

b) False

Ideally, a company should never add content to its site. a) True b) False

b) False

Web browsers process which of the following languages? a) Perl b) HTML c) PHP d) Java

b) HTML

When is the best time to post social media content? a) At 5:30 on weekdays before people get home from work b) Just before its followers are most active c) On weekends when people are free d) On weekday mornings before work

b) Just before its followers are most active

Which of the following is NOT a technical constraint of mobile devices compared to a desktop computer? a) Mobile devices typically load websites more slowly. b) Mobile devices make scrolling more difficult. c) It is more difficult to type on a mobile device. d) Fingertips are less precise than mouse icons for clicking on content.

b) Mobile devices make scrolling more difficult.

Which of the following best describes Oli Gardner's principle of continuance? a) Users should experience a uniform, continuous interaction with the website across all devices. b) Once the user has completed a target action, the user knows the action is done and is encouraged to take additional action. c) Once a conversion has been achieved, the user should receive the response within 24 hours. d) If a user stops somewhere in the middle of the conversion process, the user should be able to pick up where he or she left off rather than having to start the process over.

b) Once the user has completed a target action, the user knows the action is done and is encouraged to take additional action.

Companies/Brands have three methods to distribute content. Which of the following is NOT one of those methods. a) Earned Media b) Steal competitors customers c) Attrract Engaged Users d) Paid Distribution

b) Steal competitors customers

Alt text is a) None of these b) The text that appears if an image does not download from the server c) Both of these d) The text of a link

b) The text that appears if an image does not download from the server

In order for two computers to communicate via the internet, they must first locate one another. How do computers locate one another on the internet? a) Through cookies b) Through the IP address c) Through the server d) Through the URL

b) Through the IP address

Which of the following is NOT a principle of Steve Krug's design for the usability paradigm? a) Follow website conventions. b) Use a sans serif font. c) Make it obvious what's clickable. d) Eliminate distractions.

b) Use a sans serif font.

The benefit of advertising on YouTube instead of or in addition to television advertising is a) the ability to achieve conversions immediately. b) all of these. c) a greater ability to target smaller, more specialized audiences. d) the ability to advertise with a smaller budge

b) all of these.

A trust symbol is a) a snippet of code that is added to the HTML of the landing page. b) any symbol, icon, image, or small statement communicating to the user that the site is legitimate. c) none of these d) an icon provided by the site owner that must be on the shopping cart page.

b) any symbol, icon, image, or small statement communicating to the user that the site is legitimate.

IBM's primary goal in its use of YouTube is to a) provide additional customer service. b) build its brand equity. c) sell computers. d) train its customers on how to use its products.

b) build its brand equity.

Display advertising has a low exposure effectiveness, but it may still be cost-effective because ___________________. b) display ads cost the same regardless of exposure frequency b) display ads cost the same regardless of exposure frequency c) it requires only a flat fee d) customer concentration is 100%

b) display ads cost the same regardless of exposure frequency

One way to use an email list segmentation scheme is to send certain emails only to specific segments. Another way is to a) use different background colors for each segment b) send emails to the whole list while changing parts of the content to match segment characteristics. c) send all members of the list the same email with the expectation that only some segments will respond d) send members of the email list only specific segments of an email

b) send emails to the whole list while changing parts of the content to match segment characteristics.

Which of the following is NOT a way that a media site might measure engagement? a) Time on site b) Video views c) Page views d) traffic source

b) traffic source

The recommended method for adapting content to all screen sizes is to a) serve different content to different screen sizes. b) use responsive web design. c) use random assortment content coding. d) create separate URLs for mobile devices.

b) use responsive web design

A mobile application that gets installed and used regularly by a large number of customers may still not be profitable if _________________. a) the conversions on the application are higher-value than on the website b) using the app does not increase users' spending c) it produces converstions from a new group of customers d) the convenience of using the app increases visit frequency

b) using the app does not increase users' spending

The ultimate test of the quality of a website's design is a) how entertaining and enticing the content is for users. b) whether the website produces a high conversion rate. c) whether the website looks professional to users. d) how easily users can find what they're looking far.

b) whether the website produces a high conversion rate.

If my website sells exercise equipment, then a link from ______ is likely to be most valuable to me (if all of these sites have similar popularity). a) www.freerecipes.com b) www.fitnessblog.com c) www.frisbees4sale.com d) www.crossstitchfun.com

b) www.fitnessblog.com

Suppose I send an email with the following characteristics: 25% open rate; 5% click-through rate (calculated from total delivered emails); 20% conversion rate; $100 average order value. How much revenue can I expect this email to generate if I send it out to my entire email list of 1000 members? a) $5250 b) $2250 c) $1000 d) $125

c) $1000

Which advertiser is going to pay the most per click? a) $2.06 CPM with a CTR of 4% b) $1.98 CPC c) $2.50 CPC d) $3.00 CPM with a CTR of .5%

c) $2.50 CPC

The Five Steps for creating a social media plan are: a) 1. Determine the Objective, 2. Choose the algorithm 3. Plan the Content, 4. Distribute & Promote Content, 5.Measure Success b) 1. Determine the CTR 2. Choose the Social Platforrm(s), 3. Plan the Content, 4. Distribute & Promote Content, 5.Measure Success c) 1. Determine the Objective, 2. Choose the Social Platforrm(s), 3. Plan the Content, 4. Distribute & Promote Content, 5.Measure Success d) 1. Determine the Objective, 2. Choose the Social Platform(s), 3. Plan the Content, 4.Reputation Management, 5.Measure Success e) 1. Determine the Objective, 2. Choose the Social Platform(s), 3. Plan the Content, 4. Distribute & Promote Content, 5.Pay for Likes

c) 1. Determine the Objective, 2. Choose the Social Platforrm(s), 3. Plan the Content, 4. Distribute & Promote Content, 5.Measure Success

After 100 impressions, ad A has a CTR of 1% and a conversion rate of 100%, and ad B has a CTR of 2% and a conversion rate of 0%. Which ad is better? a) Ad B because it has a 2% CTR. b) Ad A because it has a 100% conversion rate. c) 100 impressions is not enough data to know which ad is better. d) Ad A because it has both a 1% CTR and a conversion.

c) 100 impressions is not enough data to know which ad is better.

A Twitter handle, the unique identifier of a Twitter account, begins with which symbol? a) # b) $ c) @ d) !

c) @

With the Google Display Network, you can run a) banner ads. b) Text ads. c) All of these. d) None of these.

c) All of these.

How often should a company send emails? a) Once per week b) Twice per week c) As often as it can create valuable content d) Once per day

c) As often as it can create valuable content

How often does Google recalculate Quality Score? a) Once per week b) Every 100 times an ad is considered for display for a particular keyword c) Each time an ad is considered for display for a particular keyword d) Once per day

c) Each time an ad is considered for display for a particular keyword

Which advertiser is aware the top ad position? a) The highest bidder is always on top b) The advertiser with the highest CTR c) It depends on who receives the highest Ad Rank d) The advertiser with the highest Quality Score

c) It depends on who receives the highest Ad Rank

What does a cookie do? a) It processes server requests b) It converts the URL to a domain name. c) It identifies the requesting computer to the server. d) It constructs the HTML code that is sent to the requesting computer

c) It identifies the requesting computer to the server.

The best platform(s) for social reputation management are what? a) Instagram & Snapchat b) Pinterest & Instagram c) Review sites like Yelp & Trip Advisor d) Instagram

c) Review sites like Yelp & Trip Advisor

Why does having too much advertising space damage a website's search rankings? a) It diminishes the value of external links to the site. b) None of these c) Search engines consider a site with lots of advertising space to be lower quality. d) Both of these

c) Search engines consider a site with lots of advertising space to be lower quality.

During what time of day should emails be sent? a) Morning b) Evening c) When response rate is highest d) Mid-day

c) When response rate is highest

The 'Why?' question of the Three Questions design framework is, a) Why should I care about you? b) Why are you better than your competitors? c) Why should I pick you? d) Why should I buy online?

c) Why should I pick you?

What is the most detailed level of geographic information known to analytics? a) GPS coordinates b) City c) Zipcode d) State

c) Zip code

When a member of our email list clicks an unsubscribe button, they should be taken to a) a dedicated landing page with our best deals b) a page warning the user that unsubscribing is a bad idea c) a page that unsubscribes the user but allows them to stay subscribed to a smaller portion of emails and/or asks the reason for unsubscribing d) our website's homepage

c) a page that unsubscribes the user but allows them to stay subscribed to a smaller portion of emails and/or asks the reason for unsubscribing

Advertising on LinkedIn can be very profitable for a) companies with a marketing budget. b) companies in the Fortune 100. c) companies targeting professionals. d) any company of any kind.

c) companies targeting professionals.

A new company with no existing customers should likely focus on ______________. a) demand generation b) loyalty building c) demand harvesting d) its return policy

c) demand harvesting

If I pay to advertise on Google's ad network and I notice a low conversion rate from mobile users despite having a mobile-optimized website, it is likely that... a) Both of the options b) Neither of the options c) mobile users prefer to convert on a desktop/laptop or to purchase in-store d) mobile traffic is poorly qualified (consisting of too many fat finger click

c) mobile users prefer to convert on a desktop/laptop or to purchase in-store

A random sample of consumers will likely have a low customer concentration for Rolex because ___________________. a) Rolex only appeals to young females b) Rolex actively tries to prevent most people from buying its watches c) most people cannot afford such an expensive watch d) Rolex is not a respected brand

c) most people cannot afford such an expensive watch

Two general methods of promoting a brand on Pinterest are (1) to curate Pinboards belonging to the brand within Pinterest and (2) to a) remove text content from the brand's website and convert it to visual content. b) create video versions of all Pins. c) provide a "Pin it" button on Pinterest-worthy content on the brand's website. d) encourage website users to create a Pinterest account.

c) provide a "Pin it" button on Pinterest-worthy content on the brand's website.

To cater to the needs of different audiences, a website should a) include multiple calls to action on each page. b) appeal to new customers at the expense of existing customers. c) provide content and/or navigation links wanted by as many groups as possible. d) dedicate equal space on the homepage to each audience.

c) provide content and/or navigation links wanted by as many groups as possible.

An advantage of PPC is that ________________. a) there is very little competition for the highest-value keywords b) it is the least expensive channel on a cost-per-exposure basis c) returns are typically seen immediately d) the high start-up cost make it difficult for competitors to bid on profitable keywords

c) returns are typically seen immediately

A double opt-in email capture practice is one that a) sends at most two emails per week b) requires customers to double-click on the sign-up link c) sends an email to confirm the customer's desire to be on the email list d) send two copies of every email to customers

c) sends an email to confirm the customer's desire to be on the email list

The gold standard for business use of YouTube is to create a video that a) is difficult for competitors to copy. b) is free to watch. c) simultaneously entertains and advertises. d) does not pander to its audience.

c) simultaneously entertains and advertises.

Last week, the 3,000 visits to my site generated $600 in revenue selling products that cost me $300. What is the most I should spend on a PPC advertisement for my website? a) $1.00 b) $0.20 c) $0.25 d) $0.10

d) $0.10 $300/3,000 = 0.10

If an advertiser bids a $1.50 CPM, receives 40,000 impressions, and gets 80 clicks, the equivalent CPC bid would be a) $2.00 b) $0.075 c) $1.50 d) $0.75

d) $0.75 1.50 * 4 = 6 / 80 = 0.75

What would the HTML code create a link to cnn.com using the anchor text, "My favorite news site"? a) <a href="http://cnn.com">Cnn.com, My favorite news site</a> b) <a href="My favorite news site","http://cnn.com"></a> c) <a href="Cnn.com, My favorite news site /a"> d) <a href="http://cnn.com">My favorite news site</a>

d) <a href="http://cnn.com">My favorite news site</a>

As compared to fat head keyword phrases, long tail keyword phrases typically a) are more plentiful (there are more of them) b) are longer c) receive a lower volume of searches d) All of these

d) All of these

Google Shopping Ads can be displayed... a) At the top left of the SERP b) On the entire search page c) At the top right of the SERP d) All of these

d) All of these

Nowadays, search engines determine a website's quality based on a) Spelling and grammar on the site b) External links to the site c) Search engine users' behavior toward the webpages from the SERP (search engine results page) d) All of these

d) All of these

The title tag of a webpage appears a) on the SERP (search engine results page) b) At the top of the browser c) None of these d) Both of these

d) Both of these

The bid strategy can be adjusted at the... a) Keyword level b) Ad level c) Ad Group level d) Campaign level

d) Campaign level

Company X has 2,000 Facebook Likes while Company Y has 10,000 Facebook Likes. Company X's Facebook efforts might be more successful than Company Y's efforts if a) Company Y creates content more often than Company X. b) Company Y has been doing social media longer. c) Company X's content is more humorous. d) Company X's fans are more engaged.

d) Company X's fans are more engaged.

What platforms are the best for increasing your SEO value? a) Instagram and Snapchat b) Twitter and Instagram c) Facebook and Youtube d) Facebook & Twitter

d) Facebook & Twitter

Which of the following programming languages is a static, client-side language (as opposed to a dynamic, server-side language)? a) PHP b) Perl c) Java d) HTML

d) HTML

Which of the following reflects product-centric (as opposed to brand-centric) demand? a) I really need a way to stay warmer when I ski b) I only shop at North Face for winter clothes c) I really want Patagonia's new ski gloves d) I need new ski gloves

d) I need new ski gloves

How does analytics track the identity of a computer? a) It looks up the identity of computer users from an NSA database b) It requires all users to login before browsing the site c) IP addresses from users' computers pass on personally identifiable information about the owner of the computer d) It places a cookie on each computer that visits the site

d) It places a cookie on each computer that visits the site

Which of the following would you NOT see in your LinkedIn Updates? a) Job activity from your connections. b) New connections from your network. c) Posts from news channels you are following. d) Job activity from Influencers.

d) Job activity from Influencers.

Last-click attribution will likely exaggerate the value of traffic that comes from where? a) Social Media b) Offline advertising c) Banner ads d) Search engines

d) Search engines

The Second-price auction model: a) is used for price changing that occurs every second b) is for keywords with low-priced CPCs because no other bids were placed for that keyword c) determines how much the second highest bidder will be charged d) allows the highest bidder to pay only a penny more than the second-highest bidder

d) allows the highest bidder to pay only a penny more than the second-highest bidder

A reliable strategy for long-term off-site SEO success can be characterized as a) an intense effort to generate buzz during website launch. b) strategic payments to related sites in return for links. c) using a limited amount of black-hat techniques mixed with mostly white-hat techniques. d) consistent efforts to generate inbound links from reputable sites.

d) consistent efforts to generate inbound links from reputable sites.

PageRank could be easily manipulated by a) creating a website with thousands of pages. b) placing thousands of links on the same page. c) hacking Yahoo.com. d) creating spam websites linking to one another.

d) creating spam websites linking to one another.

To track the number of video views on my site, I would set up a(n) ______ goal. a) time-on-site b) destination c) pages-per-visit d) event

d) event

Publishers that participate in a display ad network a) never make more money selling ad space through the ad network than they would selling the ad space on their own b) have to deal individually with each advertiser running ads on their site. c) always make more money selling ad space through the ad network than they would selling the ad space on their own. d) get paid each time an advertiser is charged by the ad network for displaying advertisements on the publisher's site.

d) get paid each time an advertiser is charged by the ad network for displaying advertisements on the publisher's site.

The majority of Pinterest users are women because a) it is a visual medium, which appeals only to women. b) social media usage is much more prominent among women generally. c) Pinterest does not allow Pins for certain categories, which are the categories that would appeal to men. d) it first gained popularity among the mostly female arts and crafts community

d) it first gained popularity among the mostly female arts and crafts community

An ad that commands a consumer's direct attention is likely to be _____________________. a) ineffective in almost all circumstances b) less effective than an ad that is only seen in a consumer's peripheral vision c) effective for all audiences d) more effective than an ad that does not command direct attention

d) more effective than an ad that does not command direct attention

Online retailers can and should encourage every customer to sign up for regular emails from the retailer. In order to avoid spam filters, the retailer should a) automatically send regular emails to all customers b) provide a check box that is checked by default during the checkout process for customers to sign up for emails c) send emails to all customers except those who request to be taken off the email list d) provide a check box that is unchecked by default during the checkout process for customers to sign up for emails

d) provide a check box that is unchecked by default during the checkout process for customers to sign up for emails

A transactional email is a) usually sent regularly to the whole email list b) only sent to purchasers who sign up for an email list c) sent to select segments of the email list during specific times of the year, like holidays d) sent to an individual to update him/her about a purchase

d) sent to an individual to update him/her about a purchase

Advertisers buy ad space through display ad networks a) so they don't have to buy ad space from each publisher individually. b) and have no control over which sites show their ad. c) but can pick what types of sites they will allow to show their ad. d) so they don't have to buy ad space from each publisher individually and can pick what types of sites they will allow to show their ad.

d) so they don't have to buy ad space from each publisher individually and can pick what types of sites they will allow to show their ad.

A viral strategy that targets "influencers" (key people with a larger-than-average share of influence) is more likely to work on Twitter than Facebook because a) Twitter identifies key influencer accounts that most Twitter users pay attention to. b) Twitter allows businesses to advertise only to influencers. c) Facebook limits the number of friends any single account can have. d) some Twitter accounts have a list of followers that is many degrees of magnitudes larger than average.

d) some Twitter accounts have a list of followers that is many degrees of magnitudes larger than average.

A retail site should track conversions by setting up a(n) ______ goal in analytics. a) destination b) pages-per-visit c) time-on-site d) event

destination

The Google Keyword Planner CPC Data: a) Is irrelevant because the CPC bidding system is too dynamic and provides data that helps you do keyword research b) Provides data that helps you do keyword research c) Is relevant, but one should not expect to pay the exact same CPC as the Planner suggests d) None of these e) Provides data that helps you do keyword research and is relevant, but one should not expect to pay the exact same CPC as the Planner suggest f) Is irrelevant because the cpc bidding system is too dynamic

e) Provides data that helps you do keyword research and is relevant, but one should not expect to pay the exact same CPC as the Planner suggest

What advantage does a social network have over a display network for paid advertising? a) None of these b) Ads on social media command more attention than banner ads on a display network c) Ads on social media provide a great number of engagement options d) Social media networks typically have more intimate knowledge of their users' interests e) all of these options

e) all of these options

Linear attribution gives credit to what? a) Only unique customer touchpoints b) All prior customer touchpoints that can be tracked in analytics c) Only banner ads seen by the customer d) All online and offline customer touchpoints

All prior customer touchpoints that can be tracked in analytics

Both paid search traffic and paid referral traffic are the results of a) offline advertisements b) bribes to webmasters c) successful search engine optimization efforts d) online advertisements

online advertisements


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