MKTG 465 E-Marketing EXAM 1

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To cater to the needs of different audiences, a website should

provide content and/or navigation links wanted by as many groups as possible

A retail website's conversion rate is calculated as

purchases/visits

In general, advertisers are willing to pay more if

they can more precisely target potential customers.

I have a blog and I want to track the engagement of my readers. My blog posts usually take at least 4 minutes to read, and I want to track the percentage of users who read an entire blog post. I should set up a(n) _____________ goal.

time-on-site

To calculate your ROAS, you must know which of the following?

total ad spend and total revenue

direct, unpaid referral, paid referral, unpaid search traffic, paid search traffic Unpaid search traffic comes by being well-ranked on commonly searched terms Alternatively, unpaid search traffic comes with good rankings on a lot of less popular search terms Paid search allows a company to target driven customers Expense of paid search varies by keyword Expense of paid search varies by keyword

traffic (analyzing success)

which of the following is not a way that a media site might measure engagement?

traffic source

Direct traffic is defined as visitors who

type the URL directly into their browser's address bar

The recommended method for adapting content to all screen sizes is to

use responsive web design

The ultimate test of the quality of a website's design is

whether the website produce a high conversion rate

The 'Why?' portion of the Who? What? Why? design framework is the question,

why should I believe you're good?

Last week, the 3,000 visits to my site generated $600 in revenue selling product that cost me $300. What is the most I should spend on a PPC advertisement for my website?

$.10

With a budget of $1000, an average CPC of $2.50, how many clicks can the advertiser receive before their budget is exhausted?

$1000/$2.50 = 400 clicks

Assume you buy women's skirts at wholesale for $10, and you resell them online for $50, and you give away free shipping which costs $5, and you want to make $20 per dress, what should your target CPA be?

$50 Retail Price - $10 Wholesale cost - $5 Shipping cost - $20 Target Margin = $15 Target CPA

With an average CPC of $2.00, how high does the conversion rate need to be in order to reach a goal CPA of $10?

($2/$10) * 100 = 20%

With an unlimited budget, an average CPC of $1.00, a CTR of 1.8%, and 60,000 impressions, how much will the advertiser spend?

(60,000 * .018) * $1 = $1080

which is the correct formula for calculating CTR?

(Clicks/Impressions)*100=CTR

Which of the following is the correct format for the Modified Broad Match keyword match type?

+ipad+mini

My chosen keyword phrase for a page should make up __ to __ % of the page's content.

3,5

The 3000 visits to my site last week resulted in 12000 hits. What was the average page depth last week?

4

What would be the HTML code to create a link to cnn.com using the anchor text, "My favorite news site"?

<a href="http://cnn.com">My favorite news site</a>*** <a href="http://cnn.com">Cnn.com, My favorite news site</a>

Which of the following might be a paid link (advertisement) on our site?

<a rel="nofollow" href="http://www.expedia.com/Hotels">Great Hotel Deals</a> *** <a rel="nofollow" "http://www.expedia.com/Hotels">Great Hotel Deals</a>

Ad Rank takes into consideration:

A and B (Keyword Bid and Quality Score)

Using the above information and answer, with an average CPC of $3, how many clicks can you get before you get a sale? What should be your target conversion rate?

ANSWER: $15 CPA / $3CPC = 5 (1 Conversion / 5 clicks) = 20% Target conversion rate.

revenue (analyzing success) (per conversion)

An increase in owner's equity resulting from the operation of a business Creating a customer is expensive—increasing a customer's spending is much easier Add-on product recommendations Upgrades Product review Customer reviews tend to be higher for higher-priced products. Shoppers who make their decisions based on customer reviews are thus likely to buy more expensive products.

A trust symbol is

Any symbol, icon, image, or small statement communicating to the user that the site is legitimate

The Google Keyword Planner

B and C (Is relevant, but one should not expect to pay the exact same CPC as the Planner suggest and Provides data that helps one do keyword research

The second-price auction model

Charges the highest bidder only a penny more than the bid of the second-highest bidder

If a keyword has low search volume, you should do which of the following?

Consider the CPC and relevance of the landing page to determine if that keyword should be chosen

linkbait how they relate to popularity and ranking

Content designed to attract attention and encourage those viewing it to create hyperlinks to the site, with the aim of improving the site's position on the list of results returned by a search engine.

which of the following is NOT considered when determining Quality Score?

Conversion rate

White Hat SEO

Doing the right techniques in SEO to help your site appear higher on the search results the practice of optimizing website results in search through the ethical and strict application of search engine best practices and guidelines white hat SEO refers to the usage of optimization strategies, techniques and tactics that focus on a human audience opposed to search engines and completely follows search engine rules and policies. ... Also called Ethical SEO.

how often does google recalculate quality store

Each time an ad is considered for display for a particular keyword

Web browsers process which of the following languages?

HTML

which of the following programming languages is a static, client-side language (as opposed to a dynamic, server-side language)?

HTML

Which header tag is the largest?

Header 1 (<h1>)

social sharing how they relate to popularity and ranking

If people are posting it on their social network profile it has worthwhile content and deserves to rank well!

Black Hat SEO

Intentional, manipulative behavior of SEO's aimed at "gaming the system" - this includes keyword stuffing, keyword spam, hidden text, cloaking, masking, link wheels, link farms, link pyramids, paid links, low quality content (pages and sites) with massive keywords, malicious redirects, exact match domains, negative SEO (to impact competition), automated content scraping / spinning and publishing and so much more. Must avoid at all costs. using search engine optimization techniques that take advantage of Google's search algorithms but violate Google's guidelines

If you bid on the keyword ipad mini tablet as a keyword using the [ ] brackets like this: [ipad mini tablet], your ad will show up

Only when someone searches for ipad mini tablet

What does a cookie do?

It identifies the requesting computer to the server.

A page's ranking is determined by both its popularity and its relevance to the searched phrase. The page's popularity is measured based on

Its link profile as well as the root domain's link profile

KPI stands for what?

Key Performance Indicator

Time-on site

Measures the time that visitors spend on your site during a visit/session

blacklinks how they relate to popularity and ranking

Number of «»: All else being equal, the more people who like you the more popular you are «» from related/relevant websites: Expertise matters! If a page has a number of «» from pages with a similar topic they matter more as they are considered expert endorsements Anchor text: If the anchor text of the backlinks to a page uses relevant keywords, the value of these endorsements increases.

Understand concepts around Paid Search Marketing

Pay Per Click (PPC) Search Engine Marketing (SEM) Adwords & BingAds Campaign, AdGroup, Keywords, and Ads Impressions Click-through Rate (CTR) Cost Per Click (CPC) Conversions and Conversion Rate Cost Per Acquisition (CPA) Quality Score Display URL & Destination URL

What does PLA stand for?

Product Listing Ad

SEO stands for

Search Engine Optimization

SEO

Search Engine Optimization (the action of making the best or most effective use of a situation or resource.) Techniques used to increase a web page's search engine rankings. Earning traffic through unpaid or free listings SEO is a marketing discipline focused on growing visibility in organic (non-paid) search engine results. SEO encompasses both the technical and creative elements required to improve rankings, drive traffic, and increase awareness in search engines.

diverse verse search traffic

Search Marketing is a tactic used to gain online presence and traffic via paid and unpaid strategies on search engines such as Google, Bing, and Yahoo.

Main Content

Search engines code up every word instance on a webpage to determine what the webpage is about.

Getting 100 backlinks from 100 different websites is better for ranking purposes than getting 100 backlinks from 10 different websites because

Search engines consider link diversity a sign of organic, independent endorsements of a website's content Link diversity: Comes from a variety of webmasters wit different IP addresses.

anchor text

Search engines use "" from external links as an objective, third party description of a webpage.

Conversion (analyzing success)

Superior search function helps customers find products quickly Superior to other retail websites ("Results not found") Tailored to user (shopping history) Refined by millions of searches Purchase, lead, engagement, account creation, click-through Most important product information at top ("above the fold") Prominent "Add to Cart" button Easy-to-navigate checkout procedure User profile enables stored shipping and credit card information (and email messages) Conversion is higher with fewer steps in the transaction process Stored information saves steps (no additional steps for shipping or credit cart information) Fewer steps = higher conversion rate

Title Tag

The "" of a webpage shows up at the top of a browser when one navigates to that page. For example, with overstock.com it will display "Overstock.com: Online Shopping - Bedding, furniture..etc"

Which advertiser is awarded the top ad position?

The advertiser with the highest Ad Rank

which of the following is NOT a principle of Steve Krug's design for usability?

Use a san serif font

For two computers to communicate via the internet, they must first locate one another. How do computers locate one another on the internet?

Through the IP address

Networking with other website owners can be beneficial to your website's rankings because

Website owners are more likely to link to sites owned by people they know

Header Tags

Within HTML code, header tags, i.e. <h1> and <h2> surround the word or phrase that gives a title or label to sections of the webpage.

URL

Words in the "" receive heavy weighting in the calculation of relevance, so the target keyword phrase should be in the ""

A "hit" is another term for

a page view

Destination

a page where the user visits after using your internal site search box. Once they see some results as a result of the internal site search , they can click and visits to that page.

If I have a website that sells running shoes, I should map the keyword phrase "Asics Gel Kayano 20" to

a product page

Nowadays, search engines determine our website's quality based on

all of the abouve

As compared to fat head keyword phrases, long-tail keyword phrases typically

all of the above

In a PPC text ad, it is a best practice to include which of the following?

all of the above

Unpaid search traffic comes when a user clicks on

an organic search result

KPI's for all the different types of sites: Destination, Time-on site, page depth etc.

are values used by marketing teams to measure and track the performance of their marketing campaigns. Digital marketing teams use a number of tools to promote their services and products, and tracking the results can often be time consuming and difficult. By creating specific digital marketing «», it's easy to determine targets and goals and measure performance based on those values.

A website can influence its click-through rate on the SERP through

both a and b

The title tag of a web page appears

both a and b (at the top of the browser and on the SERP )

A reliable strategy for long-term off-site SEO success can be characterized as

consistent efforts to generate inbound links from reputable sites

PageRank could be easily manipulated by

creating spam websites linking to one another

A brand new website should NOT choose target keyword phrases based on

current ranking

Off-site SEO

deals with the creation and dissemination of content on a website to build quality links to the site attracting backlinks from other websites to increase popularity

On-site SEO

deals with the formatting of content on the website to maximize its chances of ranking for all desired searches Changing the content of a website to increase relevance for particular keyword phrases

A retail site should track conversions by setting up a(n) ___________ goal in analytics.

destination

PPC Math

enables business owners to not only target their ads to the customers who are most likely searching for their product or service, but also track how many click-thrus and impressions their ads received using multiple variables (ie: keywords, clicks from geographic areas, time of day, etc.).

To track the number of video views on my site, I would set up a(n) _______________ goal.

event

a website's popularity is determined by

external inbound links

A reliable way to increase our rankings is to create multiple copies of our site at different URLs.

false

Ideally, a company should never add content to its site

false

If my website sells exercise equipment, then a link from ___________ is likely to be most valuable to me (if all of these sites have similar popularity)

fitnessblog.com

A manual link-building practice that was once considered standard but is now considered (by Google) to lean toward black hat is

guest blogging

What goes into determining Ad Rank?

in Internet marketing is the position of a pay-per-click (PPC) ad on a search engine results page (SERP). The position of this ad depends on the position of each keyword included in the ad, which is determined by your bid for that keyword or ad group multiplied by the matched keyword's Quality Score.

conversion funnels

is a phrase used in e-commerce to describe the journey a consumer takes through an Internet advertising or search system, navigating an e-commerce website and finally converting to a sale.

Page depth

is the average number of pages that your visitors view during a single session. Average «» data is part of the user behavior report in Google Analytics.

attribution

is the identification of a set of user actions ("events" or "touchpoints") that contribute in some manner to a desired outcome, and then the assignment of a value to each of these events Marketing «» provides a level of understanding of what combination of events in what particular order influence individuals to engage in a desired behavior, typically referred to as a conversion

Both paid search traffic and paid referral traffic are the result of

online advertisements

How does analytics track the identity of a computer?

it places a cookie on each computer that visits the site

Alt text

label or tag that indicates the content of an image

Organizing campaigns can help with all of the following except:

landing page optimization

single product landing pages should include all of the following, except

links, images, and info about other products

What technical information about a visitor's computer is NOT known to analytics?

memory

which of the following is not a technical constraint of mobile devices compared to a desktop computer

mobile devices make scrolling more difficult

which of the following best describes Oli Gardner's principle of continuance?

once the user has completed a target action, the user knows the action is done and is encouraged to take additional action

Why does having too much advertising space damage our search rankings?

search engines consider a site with lots of advertising space to be lower quality

Black hat SEO is any practice that

search engines frown upon

My analytics tells me that last week my site had 3,000 visits but only 2,500 visitors. What explains this discrepancy?

some visitors made multiple visits

Alt text is?

text that describes the contents of an image

which of the following is Not displayed in a PPC text ad?

the destination URL

pagerank and general concepts

works by counting the number and quality of links to a page to determine a rough estimate of how important the website is. The underlying assumption is that more important websites are likely to receive more links from other websites.

what is the most detailed level of geographic information known as analytics

zip code


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