Tennis Rules
When the ball is in play, another ball rolls onto the court, a let is called. The server had previously served a fault. Is the server now entitled to a first serve or second serve?
first serve
I hit a great drop shot and believe the ball bounced twice before my opponent hit it back. My opponent disagrees. Whose call is it?
it is your opponent's call
A player whose turn it was to serve first in the tie-breaker of a singles match, shall be...
the returner of the first game of the next set, due to serving first in the previous set
Who is supposed to call the game score before each point?
the server
In a doubles game, on the second serve, the server serves the ball and hits the net cord, and then drops into the receiver's alley. The receiver cannot reach it in time to return it. What is the ruling?
the server loses the point
What is the decision when the serves tosses the ball up and catches it instead of striking at it?
the server may try again without penalty
What is the correct height that a tennis net should be at the middle of the court?
3 feet
If, in the first game, the server has 3 points and the receiver has 2 points, what should the score be?
40-30
Before a match begins players warmups should last no longer than:
5 minutes
What's the first thing you should do when you and your opponent lose track of the score in a game?
@ b) Go back and replay only the point in question
What is the call if a person intentionally distracts an opponent while playing a point?
A hinderance is called and the player that is hindered wins the point
During a singles match, Player A missed his first serve. As he was getting ready to hit his second serve a ball rolled onto the court. Player A said he was going to hit his first serve again since the ball was a distraction. What is the correct ruling?
A let is not called in this case; a momentary pause between serves to clear the ball is a part of game, play on
When a ball from another court rolls onto your court during a point in a singles match, who can call a let?
Either player
In a 12 point tie-break, doubles player A1 served the first point and B2 returned the serve. Since B2 returned the first point in the tie-break, he/she is the first server for team B in the tie-break.
False - follow the serving rotation from the set
The serve hits the server's partner in the back on the fly--ouch #$%@!!. The penalty is loss of point.
False - if on the 1st serve, it would only be a single fault and one serve remaining, rather than an automatic loss of point
In doubles, player A1 served to put the team up 5-4; they then break the opposing team's serve and win 6-4. In the following service rotation, A1's partner must start the next set.
False-order of serving and receiving court can be changed at the start of the new set
Player A hits a screaming shot down the line. The ball lands very close to being out. Player B doesn't verbally make a call, but Player B does hold out his hand with the palm down. This means he called player A's ball out.
False-palm down is "good"; finger pointing in the air is "out"
Which of the following would not be rectified immediately?
In a doubles match, players of one team happen to reverse their receiving sides
May a server run at or along the baseline in his preparation to serve?
No, he must be somewhat stationary before starting his service motion
After two players had been playing for about 30 minutes, Player A was leading four games to one. Player B was hitting a lot of balls into the net. As he and Player B switched sides Player B thought the net was too high and measured it. Sure enough the net was two inches high, and they raised it to the correct height. Player B said, "Since the net was low we have to start the match over." Player A said, "You are wrong. The score stands and we will commence play at 4-1 for me." What is the correct answer?
Player A is correct
Advantage out
Receiver's point after deuce
What happens if the receiver volleys a serve that has hit the net and come over?
The receiver loses the point
Which of the following is a foot fault?
The serves steps over or onto the baseline before the racket strikes the ball
In no-ad scoring, when the score is deuce, the receiver (or receiving team in doubles) chooses whether the serve must be directed to the deuce service square or the ad service square.
True, at deuce, it is the receiver's option as to where the serve is directed
If a ball from another court rolls on the court between first and second serves, is the server entitled to two serves?
Typically not, if the receiver or server can immediately clear the ball
Player A's hat falls off onto the court during a point. Can someone call a let?
Yes, but only player A's opponent may call a let
Do the players change ends of the court after a tie-breaker has been used to decide a set?
Yes, the set score was 7-6, so change ends of court
You call a ball out, but as you hit it back, you realize it was good. What do you do?
You correct the call and lose the point
If your first serve hits your opponent's doubles partner before hitting the ground, who wins the point?
You win the point; the opposing team must allow a serve to bounce
The server serves before the receiver is ready, and the receiver does not attempt to return the serve. What is the decision?
a let is called
Player A is not sure of a call at her end of the court and asks her opponent, Player B, for her opinion. Player B says the ball was good. What must Player A do now?
accept player B's call
When should players change end s of the court during a set?
after the first game, then every two game completed thereafter, thus every odd game completed
In a doubles match, who can call a service let?
any of the four players on the court
When may a doubles team change its order of serving?
at the beginning of any set
Before a match starts, when should the players take their practice serves?
at the same time in warmup, typically the last part of the warmup
What should the receiver do if he or she is unable to determine whether a ball is good or just outside of play?
call the ball good
In singles, it is legal to stand in the area behind the doubles alley to serve.
false
As in volleyball, a ball that goes outside of the net post on the way to the opponent's side is not a legal return.
false - in tennis, the ball can be hit outside of the net post provided it then lands in the proper court
In a match using no-ad scoring, when the score is 3 points all in a game, the server must direct the ball to the deuce service court because of the score
false-it is the receiver's choice as to where the serve is directed
In doubles, throughout the tie-break, players always serve from the same end-of-court during the tie-break as they did during the set.
false: change end of court after every 6 points completed in a tie-break
If you step on the baseline just after you hit the ball on your second serve, what should the result be?
legal, so play continues
A point that must be replayed
let
A spectator is allowed to make a call on a shot hit in a match when:
never
A doubles player gets injured; is one member of a doubles team allowed to play alone against the opponents?
no
If your opponent hits a 2nd serve that is obviously going long, BUT the ball hits you in the leg before it bounces, what should happen?
opponent's point for not getting out of the way of the ball to allow the serve to bounce
If your opponent hits the ball with enough backspin so that the ball bounces on your side of the court and then spins back over the net onto his/her side of the court but you do not touch the ball, whose point is it?
opponent's point, you must touch the ball and you can reach over the net to do so
Player A hits a shot to Player B that appears to go through a hole in the net. Whose call is it?
player B
What choice is given the winner of the toss?
serving, receiving, or sides of the court
During the act of serving, the server swung at and missed the ball on the first serve; however, the ball landed outside the baseline. What is the ruling?
single fault, one serve remaining
In a heated doubles match the score was 5-4 40-15 for Team A in the first set. After an extended rally, a player on Team A hit a deep shot to a player on Team B. As Player B returned the shot his partner yelled "Out!" The player on Team A who hit the ball asked the player on Team B who had returned his shot if the ball was in or out. He said he wasn't sure. The Team A player who hit the shot said, "If you weren't sure and returned the ball it is our point." The other player on Team B said, "I saw the ball clearly and it was out. Therefore, it is our point." Team A's player said, "You are wrong. If your partner wasn't sure if the ball was in or out it is our point." What is the correct ruling?
team A wins the point
What is an ace
the receiver was unable to contact a good service
A player throws a racquet at the ball and hits it so that the ball goes back across the net and into the court. What is the call?
the person who hits the ball loses the point
A player rushes forward to get a drop shot and makes a winning return, but his momentum causes him to touch the net before the ball has bounced a second time on his opponent's side. This player loses the point thereby.
true
A shot is legal if, in one continuous motion, it is accidentally is struck twice by a player's racquet (double-hit) during the swing.
true
It is never legal to reach over the net to volley the ball.
true-With the volley, the ball is struck before the bounce; thereby, contact must be made on the hitter's side of the net. Only if the ball bounces first and spin and/or wind causes it to bounce to the opponent's side, then a player may reach across the net to hit the ball.
The serve hits the receiver's partner on the fly. This is a loss of point for the receiving team.
true: they have to let the ball bounce
When is the ball considered out?
when it hits any part of the line
In doubles, when may the order of receiving be altered?
when the next set starts
What determines when the receiving player is ready to return a serve?
when the receiver makes an attempt to return the serve
Does a player close to the net lose the point if the racquet goes over the net before hitting the ball?
yes
Is the receiver allowed to stand outside the lines of the court?
yes
If you hit a very angled shot and your opponent gets to the shot, hits the ball and it goes around the outside of the net post and into the court where you don't touch the ball, who's point is it?
your opponent's point
If your opponent hits a ball so far out of the court that it is going to hit the back wall/fence and you catch the ball before it lands who's point technically is it?
your opponent's point
If your opponent wasn't sure if your passing shot was in or out, what should happen?
your point; if any doubt, then the ball is good
If your opponent moves close to the net and hits a winner, BUT in so doing his/her foot touches the bottom of the net, whose point is it?
your point; the opponent cannot touch the net during play