Digital Marketing Final Chapters 7-13
If an advertiser bids a $1.50 CPM, receives 40,000 impressions, and gets 80 clicks, what would the equivalent CPC bid be?
$0.75 ($1.50*40=$60. $60/80=$0.75)
Suppose I send an email with the following characteristics: 25% open rate; 25% click-through rate; 20% conversion rate; $100 average order value. How much revenue can I expect this email to generate if I send it out to my entire email list of 1000 members?
$1250
If four advertisers bid the amounts shown below, which advertiser will pay the most per click?
$2.50 CPC
An advertiser bids $10 CPM, achieves a 1% CTR and achieves a 5% conversion rate. What would an equivalent CPA bid for this advertiser be?
$20
How many responses are optimal for negative reports on scam reporting websites?
1
After 100 impressions, ad A has a CTR of 1% and a conversion rate of 100%, and ad B has a CTR of 2% and a conversion rate of 0%. Which ad is better?
100 impressions are not enough data to know which ad is better
A Twitter handle, the unique identifier of a Twitter account, begins with which symbol?
@
Which of the following is NOT an example of reputation management?
A company hires a public relations firm to attract news stories about the company so that its homepage ranks better on search results
Two advertisers achieve the same 1% CTR on their ads. Advertiser A bids $10 CPM while Advertiser B bids $1.50 CPC. Which advertiser will be awarded more impressions from the ad network?
Advertiser B because his/her bids are expected to earn the ad network more money
Where/when are remarketing ads displayed?
After visitors to the advertiser's site have downloaded a cookie on their browser and they go to a site within the ad network where the advertiser is paying for clicks
What is the benefit of advertising on YouTube instead of or in addition to television advertising?
All of the above. A greater ability to target smaller, more specialized audiences, The ability to advertise with a smaller budget, and The ability to achieve conversions immediately
Online Reputation Management is the practice of
All of the above. Ensuring that searchers find overwhelmingly positive information about a brand online, Monitoring the web for negative content, and Determining if, when, and how to respond to negative content about a brand online
To ensure consistency between an ad and its landing page, both the ad and landing page should
All of the above. Use a similar color scheme, use similar calls to action, highlight the same value propositions
Sites that frequently rank negative content about brands online include
All of the above. scam reporting sites, online review sites, and news/press sites
What is a transactional email?
An email sent to an individual to update him/her about a purchase
How often should a company send emails?
As often as it can create valuable content
Facebook decides which ads to show based on eCPM, effective Cost Per Mille. How is this calculated?
Bid amount × click-through rate
Why should companies plan their content before they begin efforts to attract followers?
Both a and b. There should already be content for followers to see, and the company needs to have a content plan in place
With the Google Display Network, what types of ads can be run?
Both of the above. Banner ads and text ads
For a company like Oracle or Cisco, neither of which sells products online, what is the purpose of its social media likely to be?
Build brand equity
What is IBM's primary goal in its use of YouTube?
Build its brand equity
Which type of YouTube ad lasts exactly 6 seconds?
Bumper ads
A nonprofit organization has generated a following of people who have created websites about the organization. Most of these sites are positively-inclined toward the organization; only a few are negative. The organization begins to buy up some of these sites (mostly the positive sites) and redirecting these URLs to their own home URL. What is the downside of this strategy?
By redirecting the URLs, those URLs will no longer rank independently on search engines, moving other (potentially negative) sites up higher in the rankings
In what way is social media not free?
Companies must allocate resources to managing their social media accounts
For whom can advertising on LinkedIn be very profitable?
Companies targeting professionals
Company X has 2,000 Facebook Likes, whereas Company Y has 10,000 Facebook Likes. Company X's Facebook efforts might be more successful than Company Y's efforts if
Company X's fans are more engaged
On which of the following dimensions are mobile users equal to desktop users?
Effectiveness of video
Publishers that participate in a display ad network
Get paid each time the ad network charges an advertiser for displaying advertisements on the publisher's site
Compared to a typical online ad campaign, remarketing campaigns typically have
Higher CTR and higher conversion rates
Which of the following would you NOT see in your LinkedIn Updates?
IPO news from industries you are following
Why should email marketers remove from their email list any consumers who have not opened an email for several months?
Including these recipients puts the company at risk of being blocked by spam filters
Why are the majority of Pinterest users women?
It first gained popularity among the mostly female arts and crafts community.
Which platform has an advertisement type that is most similar to email marketing?
What is a hashtag's primary purpose on Twitter?
Make Tweets searchable
Why is the engagement of social media followers more important than the number of followers?
Most social media platforms do not show company content to followers who are not highly engaged.
To rank lots of positive content about its brand on the SERPs for its brand, a company should
NOT all of the above. Create lots of positive content on a variety of sites that discuss its brand as a main topic and add value to the web so it can outrank the negative content
Which site would Target likely hope to keep off the first page of Google results for a keyword search for Target?
NOT all of the above. Extargetemployees.com
With Google Alerts, a company can
NOT all of the above. Get emails and/or RSS feed alerts that send links to new pages Google has crawled/indexed surrounding specified terms
Positive content is more likely to rank online if
NOT all of the above. It has a large amount of links from reputable, powerful sites that also mention the branded keywords a company wishes to rank for
Effective emergency response to negative publicity includes
NOT all of the above. Responding in a timely manner
Assume that Nike PR and SEO employees are monitoring mentions of "Just Do It." Why would they most likely do that?
NOT all of the above. To catch and stop frequent trademark infringement
An advertiser on Pinterest who wants to drive as much traffic as possible to his/her website should use what type of ad?
One-tap pins
What led to a thriving ecosystem of influencers on Instagram?
Paid advertisements came relatively late to Instagram
Who is liable when false information is posted online?
Practically nobody
Two general methods of promoting a brand on Pinterest are (1) to curate Pin boards belonging to the brand within Pinterest and (2) to
Provide a "Pin it" button on Pinterest-worthy content on the brand's website
Online retailers can and should encourage every customer to sign up for regular emails from the retailer. What should the retailer do to avoid spam filters?
Provide a check box that is unchecked by default during the checkout process for customers to sign up for emails
What should social media content from a company do?
Provide value to its followers
Which of the following steps is NOT a part of the social media plan?
Register the company on all social platforms
All of the following activities are more difficult on a mobile device than on a desktop computer EXCEPT
Scrolling
One way to use an email list segmentation scheme is to send certain emails only to specific segments. What is another way?
Send emails to the whole list while changing parts of the content to match segment characteristics
What does double opt-in email capture do?
Sends an email to confirm the customer's desire to be on the email list
The gold standard for business use of YouTube is to create a video that
Simultaneously entertains and advertises
The accelerated mobile pages project is trying to address what shortcoming of mobile devices?
Slow loading of webpages
Why is a viral strategy that targets "influencers" (key people with a larger-than-average share of influence) more likely to work on Twitter than on Facebook?
Some Twitter accounts have a list of followers that is many degrees of magnitudes larger than average
Which is NOT one of the three T's of negative publicity?
Take down
A website that sells wedding dresses targets ads to (1) women (2) ages 22 to 35 (3) actively searching for a wedding dress (4) with an interest in fashion (5) in the top 10% of income (6) within the greater Denver area. What is a major downside of this targeting?
The audience will be so small that the ads are not likely to generate a large volume
Why is Ford's objective in running social media campaigns to build brand equity rather than increase online sales?
Their dealers would be upset at having to compete with online sales
What does it mean when a video or other content "goes viral"?
Those exposed to it forward it on to other friends, thus spreading it until it reaches market saturation
On Twitter, Partner Audiences allow advertisers to target potential customers based on behaviors that occur outside Twitter. How does Twitter get this information?
Twitter has partnered with third party data providers to access this information
During what time of day should emails be sent?
When response rate is highest
What does the Google Display Ad Planner tell an advertiser?
Where the target audience is spending its time online
A company wants to be scientific about creating a viral video. It has created a video and estimates the following virality parameters: Pf = .03; N = 500; Pv = .5. If the company is able to get 1,000 people to watch it at the outset, and its parameter estimates are accurate, is the video likely to go viral?
Yes
Advertisers buy ad space through display ad networks
a and c. So they don't have to buy ad space from each publisher individually and but can pick what types of sites they will allow to show their ad
Which of the following is NOT a good example of a website to promote as an alternate result for a branded search?
a copy of the main website at a different URL
If I run a retail website that sells sports equipment and I send a broadcast email to my email list advertising a 15% discount on ski helmets, then a user who clicks on the email should be taken to
a dedicated landing page showing ski helmets with a 15% markdown
When a member of our email list clicks an unsubscribe button, they should be taken to
a page that unsubscribes the user but allows them to stay subscribed to a smaller portion of emails and/or asks the reason for unsubscribing
A company sends out a broadcast email to its entire email list informing the list about Black Friday deals. At 6:00 pm on Black Friday, the company sends out an email only to members of its email list that (1) clicked on the previous email and (2) did not make a purchase. This second email is an example of
a triggered email
Sending an email to a shopper who has abandoned their shopping cart is an example of
a triggered email
A company like Apple generates so much online commentary that it would be too labor- intensive to monitor it all. But Apple still wants to be on the lookout for negative press. It should therefore
actively monitor crucial alerts like "Apple + fraud" and "Apple + scam"
When responding to negative content, a company should
all of the above. Be transparent and admit any wrongdoing, Have a plan in place for how, where, and when employees should respond, Try to always respond to negative complaints offline
What advantage does a social network have over a display network for paid advertising?
all of these options. Social media networks typically have more intimate knowledge of their users' interests, Ads on social media command more attention than banner ads on a display network, and Ads on social media provide a great number of engagement options
Posting on a company's social media profiles can improve company profit by
all of these options. facilitating purchases from first-time customers, increasing loyalty of past and current customers, and improving SEO and thereby facilitating first-time customer purchases
When a consumer clicks on a display ad, the landing page should match the ad's
all of these options. value proposition, color scheme, imagery
Retail websites can most advisedly grow their email list by
allowing customers to sign up for the email list during the checkout procedure
The three broad methods of display ad targeting on Google's display network are
audiences, demographics, content
Email marketers can target different segments by
both of the options. sending emails only to specific segments of the email list, and changing portions of content for each segment within an email
Measuring the average sentiment expressed about a company on social media platforms may not be a good reflection of the company's performance because
both of these options. some industries generate a generally high level of negative posting regardless of their performance, and sentiment coding on social platforms is sometimes inaccurate
Showing the same advertisement too many times to the same person can annoy consumers, and in addition is less effective than showing ads fewer times to more people. To avoid showing the same ad 10 or more times to the same person, advertisers engaging in remarketing should
employ frequency caps
A B2B services company is likely to use email marketing to
engage in lead nurturing
When two people connect on Facebook, they are friends. When a person connects to a company on Facebook, the person is considered a __________ of the company.
fan
Advertisers on a display network can pay through each of the following methods EXCEPT
flat fee
In determining what content to show users, Facebook uses all of the following EXCEPT
gender
Curated social media content refers to content that
is collected from a variety of other content creators
The primary advantage of a short email sign-up form is that
it attracts a higher volume of sign-ups than a longer form
Email marketing can be especially effective for a search engine like Kayak or Expedia because
it typically has information about deals that might interest its customers
The purpose of hashtags is to
make posts (tweets) searchable
If a company's social media followers exhibit greater purchase frequency than non-followers, this could be a sign that the company's social media efforts are producing good results. Alternately, it may only reflect the fact that
more loyal customers are more likely to follow the company on social media
. Instagram can be a top social platform for generating first-time customers even though it has a huge downside in that
posts cannot include links to external content
In addition to posts from friends and paid-for advertisements, what other two types of content are found in a Facebook News Feed (though with much lower frequency)?
posts from Liked pages and actions from friends
Good display ad copy does everything EXCEPT
pre-convert the consumer
Social listening usually entails (1) scraping all public mentions of a company on social media, (2) coding those mentions as positive, negative, or neutral, and (3)
summarizing average sentiment about the company
If an email marketer has a good email list and lots of information about the users on this list, marketing automation would be useful for
targeting emails to the right users based on their ongoing behavior
Twitter consumption is fast-paced because of the short nature of tweets. Pinterest consumption is even faster-paced because
the Pinterest feed shows multiple columns of images
To determine whether a new ad copy is better at attracting attention, an advertiser should conduct an A/B test and measure
the click-through rate
To determine the winner of an A/B test on a subject line, an email marketer should use
the open rate
After a B2B services company closes a deal with Company X, email marketing may still be useful for purposes of
training the employees within Company X
In general, the proper response to a negative review on an online review site is to
understand the situation and take responsibility where appropriate
On Facebook, custom audiences allows advertisers to
upload email addresses of current customers and target users with similar characteristics
Dynamic remarketing ads
use different ad content across targets
Creating a post with a discount for a product is an example of providing
utilitarian value