Case Book- Rule 5: Scoring and Time Regulations

Ace your homework & exams now with Quizwiz!

Three-Tenths of a Second or Less on Clock- 5.2.5 Situation C: With three-tenths of a second or less left in a tied game, each team is in the bonus. Team A has a throw-in on the end line near their basket. A1 throws the ball to A5 on the near block who catches the ball and quickly shoots. A5 is fouled by B3 just prior to the end-of-period signal. The ball goes through A's basket.

Ruling: Since A5 may not control the ball and attempt a try with three-tenths of a second or less, A5 cannot score a goal and is not considered in the act of shooting. However, B3's foul cannot be ignored and is considered a common foul. A5's free throw attempts will determine if the game is over or if an overtime period is necessary. (4-41-6)

Error-Not Correctable- 5.8.4 Situation B: The head coach from Team A requests a 60-second time-out to rectify a timing error. The referee grants the time-out to investigate the matter, but determines that no correction can be made. The scorer then informs the referee that Team A cannot be charged a 60-second time-out as they only have one 30-second time-out remaining.

Ruling: Since they have no 60-second time-outs remaining and there was not timing correction made, Team A will be charged their remaining 30-second time-out regardless of the amount of time consumed. (5-11-4)

State Association Reducing the Number of Charged Time-outs- 5.11.1 Situation B: The state association has contractually arranged to have live telecasts of state semi-final and final games. One TV time-out each quarter will be permitted (at first dead ball closest to 3:30 remaining in quarter). The state association permits each team to have: (a) Two (2) 60 and two (2) 30-second time-outs; (b) one (1) 60 and three (3) 30-second time-outs; (c) no 60 and four (4) 30-second time-outs; or (d) one (1) 60 and two (2) 30-second time-outs.

Ruling: State associations may reduce the number of charged time-outs, therefore, correct procedure in (a), (b), (c) and (d). (5-11-1 Note)

Clock Start on Touching- 5.9.4 Situation: Thrower A1 holds the ball through the throw-in boundary plane and B1 slaps the ball out of his/her hands.

Ruling: The clock starts when it is released by A1 as it simultaneously has been touched on the court by B1. If this had been an alternating-possession throw-in, the arrow would be reversed.

Overtime- or Not- 5.7.1 Situation: The is B-62, A-60 when A1 is fouled with no time on the clock in the fourth quarter. The horn sounds immediately after the foul is called. Team A is not in the bonus but erroneously A1 is awarded a bonus and makes both free throws to tie the score. Team B controls the jump to start the overtime and B1 scores to make it 64 to 62. Before the ball becomes live on the subsequent throw-in, the scorer alerts the officials regarding a correctable-error situation.

Ruling: The error is corrected by canceling the two erroneous free throws. However, once the overtime started with the ball becoming live, the extra period cannot be canceled even though the points were. The score is B-64, A-60 and the overtime continues with the throw-in by Team A. (2-10-1b; 2-11-11; 5-7-4)

Timing Mistakes and Corrections- 5.10.1 Situation B: Team A leads by one point when they inbound the ball in their backcourt with 12 seconds remaining in the fourth quarter. A1's throw-in pass is to A2 who dribbles in the backcourt until the horn sounds. The trail official does not make a 10-second ruling because he/she "lost the count."

Ruling: The game is over. The clock may not be reset as there are no rule provisions to do this. If the count was not accurate or was not made, it cannot be corrected. There is no provision for the correction of an error made in the official's accuracy in counting seconds.

Forfeiture- 5.4.1 Situation A: A1 commits his/her fifth personal foul. Both the head coach and player are properly notified. Team A has substitutes available but the head coach from Team A does not send a substitute to the table within the 20-second time limit. The Team A head coach is assessed a technical foul. The head coach still does not send a substitute to the table.

Ruling: The official should forfeit the contest to the opposing team for the head coach delaying the contest and attempting to make a travesty of the game. Comment: The referee may forfeit a game if any player, team member, bench personnel or coach fails to comply with any technical foul penalty.

Time-outs Remaining- 5.11.1 Situation A: The coach for Team A requests a 30-second time-out, but it is discovered that he/she does not have a 30-second time-out remaining, but does have one 60-second time-out remaining. The official grants the coach the coach a 60-second time-out.

Ruling: The official was correct to grant the coach of Team A the last of his/her 60-second time-outs since the coach had already used two 60-second time-outs and two 30-second time-outs.

Forfeiture- 5.4.1 Situation B: The covering official rules a double foul on the post player and opponent after both push and shove each other. It is the fifth foul on each player. Some spectators in the crowd react vocally in a negative manner while others throw paper cups, etc., on the floor. The entire crowd seems to be in a hostile mood. What should the officials do?

Ruling: The officials must ask game management or home management to control the spectators. The officials have authority to charge a technical foul(s) if it can be determined which team's spectators are involved. However, much discretion is necessary in this case and the officials must be aware that a technical foul(s) on spectators usually leads to even more problems. Comment: The game should not be forfeited to either team because of the action of spectators. If game or home management cannot restore order by removal or other means, the officials are authorized to suspend play. The game would then be continued from the point of interruption, unless the teams agree to terminate the game with the existing score, or there are conference, league or state association rules which apply.

Ending a Quarter or Extra Period- 5.6.2 Situation F: Following the end-of-game signal which has Team A leading 62-60, the coach of Team A sprints after the game officials and shouts profanity at the referee who has just left the playing court outside the end line.

Ruling: The referee shall charge the coach with a flagrant technical foul and the results of the two free throws will determine whether an extra period will be necessary. The jurisdiction of the officials had not ended as the referee was still within the visual confines of the playing area. (2-2-4)

Timing Mistakes and Corrections- 5.10.2 Situation: Following a violation in the fourth quarter, there are five seconds on the clock as A1 is bounced the ball for a throw-in. The throw-in is completed to A2. The official properly signals the clock to start and immediately begins a closely-guarded count on A2. The official reaches a count of three seconds when B1 fouls A2. The official stops play properly and reports the foul at the table. The timer reports that he/she did not start the clock when the throw-in was touched by A2. The clock still shows five seconds.

Ruling: The referee will order the clock set at two seconds. The referee has definite knowledge of the amount of time involved in this situation by using the closely-guarded count.

Time-out Requests: 5.8.3 Situation F: A1's dribble is "interrupted" when the ball deflects off his/her shoe. A1 or a teammate asks or signals for a time-out as the ball bounces toward: (a) the sideline; or (b) the division line.

Ruling: The request cannot be granted in (a) or (b), since A1's dribble has been "interrupted" and the ball is loose. (4-15-6c)

Successive Time-outs- 5.11.7 Situation B: Following the expiration of time for the first extra period, the coach of Team B is charged with a technical foul. Team B requests a time-out before the free throws are administered to start the second extra period. The time-out request is granted. Thereafter, the official administers the first free throw to A1. Following the attempt: (a) Team B; or (b) Team A, then requests a time-out.

Ruling: The request cannot be granted in either (a) or (b), as it would be considered a successive time-out. The fact that the ball did become live between the two requests has no bearing on the ruling. Another time-out request by either team cannot be honored until after the clock has started in the second extra period.

Time-out Requests: 5.8.3 Situation D: A1 or A2 requests a time-out: (a) while airborne A1 is holding the ball; (b) while A1's throw-in is in flight toward A2: or (c) when the ball is on the floor at A1's disposal for a throw-in.

Ruling: The request is granted in (a) and (c), but denied in (b), as there is no player control while the ball is loose between players.

Time-out Requests/Starting Game or Extra Period- 5.11.5 Situation A: Team B requests a time-out: (a) as the teams position for the jump ball to start the game; (b) just prior to the toss on the jump to start the game; or (c) following the first free throw for a technical foul which occurred prior to the start of the game. Should the official grant the request?

Ruling: The request should be denied in (a) and (b), but granted in (c). The game must be started with the ball becoming live or by a violation or foul prior to this before a time-out request can be honored. In (c) the ball became live when it was at the disposal of the free thrower.

Ending a Quarter or Extra Period- 5.6.2 Situation G: The score is tied when A1 is fouled in the act of shooting and the try is unsuccessful. Playing time for the fourth quarter expires while the ball is in flight. No players are allowed along the lane. A1's first free-throw attempt is successful. Immediately following the made free throw the occupants of the Team A bench rush onto the court and a mini celebration takes place.

Ruling: The second free throw is not required. No penalty unless the celebration or any act is unsporting and a foul is charged to Team A before the final score has been approved. (5-6-2 Exception 3)

Ending a Quarter or Extra Period- 5.6.2 Situation E: A1 has been awarded two free throws after time has expired in the fourtth quarter. Team B leads 62-60 and A1 misses the first free throw.

Ruling: The second free throw will not be attempted. (5-6-2 Exception 3)

Successive Time-outs- 5.11.7 Situation A: Airborne shooter A1 is fouled by B1 with the try in flight. The horn then sounds ending the fourth quarter playing time. The ball continues its flight and goes through the basket to tie the score. Before A1 attempts the free throw as part of the fourth quarter. Team B captain requests and is granted a 60-second time-out. Team A or B captain then requests a 30-second time-out during the same dead-ball period.

Ruling: The second request is denied. At the end of playing time for the fourth quarter or any overtime period, successive time-outs shall not be granted. This means a time-out cannot be granted either team until the clock has run in the extra period- assuming the free throw is missed. Successive time-outs may be granted in all situations except after time has expired in the fourth quarter or any extra period.

Time-out Requests/Starting Game or Extra Period- 5.11.5 Situation B: Regulation play ends with a tied score. Team A has used all of its allotted time-outs. Team A requests a time-out before the overtime period begins.

Ruling: The time-out should not be granted. The additional 60-second time-out provided for each extra period(s) shall not be granted until after the ball has become live to start the extra period(s).

Ending a Quarter or Extra Period- 5.6.2 Situation A: While the ball is in flight during a try by A1, time for the second quarter expires after which B1 touches the attempt on its upward flight toward the basket, however, the ball subsequently goes through the basket.

Ruling: The touching does not end the try. The goal is scored. (4-41-4; 5-6-2 Exception 1)

From Floor to Basket- 5.1.1 Situation A: A pass, a tap or a try for field goal by A1 comes down several feet in front of the basket in the middle of the third quarter. The ball strikes the floor without touching any player and bounces into the basket.

Ruling: Two points are scored. The tap or the try for field goal by A1 ends when the ball touches the floor but a field goal is sometimes scored when it is not the result of a tap or a try. Credit the two points to A1. (4-41-2, 4, 5)

From Floor to Basket- 5.1.1 Situation B: A pass, a tap or a try for field goal by A1 is in flight when the horn sounds indicating the expiration of time in the third quarter. The ball subsequently comes down several feet in front of the basket, strikes the floor without touching any player and bounces into the basket.

Ruling: When deemed a pass and not a try, the ball becomes dead immediately when the horn sounds. However, a try or tap by A1 towards A's basket does not become dead until the try or tap ends, which it does when it touches the floor. Therefore, no points are scored. (4-41-2, 4, 5)

Timing Mistakes and Corrections- 5.10.1 Situation A: The score is tied with two seconds remaining in the game. A1 is awarded a bonus free throw. After the ball had been placed at the disposal of A1, B1 disconcerts A1. The free-throw attempt is missed. The timer does not hear the official's whistle sound and permits the clock to start. May the referee put the two seconds back on the clock?

Ruling: Yes. The rules provide "...the referee may correct the mistake when he/she has definite information relative to time involved." The referee not only orders the timer to put two seconds back on the clock but also awards A1 a substitute throw for the disconcertion by B1.

Not a Try or Tap for Goal- *5.2.1 Situation D: Following the free throws for a technical foul, A1 makes a throw-in from out of bounds at the division line opposite the table. The throw-in pass is deflected at A's free-throw line by: (a) A2; or (b) B1 and it then goes directly through A's basket.

Rulings: Score two points for Team A in both (a) and (b). The throw-in ended when the ball was touched by an inbounds player and the live ball subsequently passed through the basket. The fact it was not a tap or a try for goal does not affect the scoring of two points. (4-41-4; 5-2-1)

Ending a Quarter or Extra Period- 5.6 Comment A:

The expiration of time for a quarter or extra period does not always cause the ball to become dead nor end the quarter or extra period. The ending of a quarter or extra period often lags both the expiration of time and the ball becoming dead. If there is no foul, it ends at the time the ball becomes dead. If the ball is in flight following a try or tap, this coincides with the expiration of playing time. If the ball is in flight following a try or tap and there is no foul, the quarter or extra period ends when the ball becomes dead. If there is a foul after time expires and before the ball becomes dead, the quarter or extra period ends after the resulting free throw(s). The free throw(s) is a part of that quarter or extra period and, if a tie is involved, the result of the free throw(s) will determine whether additional play is required.

Ending a Quarter or Extra Period- 5.6 Comment B:

If a technical foul occurs after the ball has become dead to end a quarter, the next quarter is started by administering the free throws. This applies even when the foul occurs after the first half has ended. It also applies when the foul occurs after the second half has ended, provided the score is tied. If the score is not tied, the free throws are administered unless the outcome of the game will not be affected. If the outcome is not already decided, the free throws are attempted immediately as if the foul had been a part of the fourth quarter. In this case, if any overtime period is necessary, it will start with a jump ball. The division line throw-in following the technical foul cannot be carried over to the overtime as the fourth quarter ended with the last throw. (5-6-4)

Ending a Quarter or Extra Period- 5.6.2 Situation H: Team A is leading 61-60. B1 fouls A1 in the act of shooting as time expires. As the officials approach the scorer's table, the Team A coach rushes the floor and begins screaming obscenities at the officials.

Ruling: A flagrant technical foul is assessed to the Team A coach. The foul at the expiration of time is no longer ignored. The flagrant technical on the Team A coach created a false double foul situation, which may affect the outcome of the game. The penalties are administered in the order in which they occurred. With the lane cleared, A1 shoots two free throws for being fouled in the act of shooting. If both are successful, the game is over. If one or both are missed, an eligible player from Team B shoots the two technical foul free throws. The free throws will determine the outcome of the game or an extra period will be played. Comment: Jurisdiction of the officials is terminated when all officials leave the visual confines of the playing area. While the preferred action would be for all officials to immediately leave the playing area, such as observable action by the coach should be penalized as unsporting or flagrant. (10-4-1c; 4-19-9; 5-6-2 Exception 3)

Shortened Time-out- 5.11.2 Situation: Team A requests and is granted a 60-second time-out. After approximately 15 seconds of the time-out period has elapsed: (a) Team A comes back on the court ready to play while Team B players stay at their bench; (b) Team B is ready but Team A is not; or (c) both teams take positions and appear ready to resume play.

Ruling: In (a) and (b), the time-out period will continue as only one team is ready to play. In (c), the game will resume as soon as both teams are ready to play.

Time-out Requests: 5.8.3 Situation C: A1 fouls B2. The scorer notifies the nearest official that this is A1's fifth foul. The official notifies the coach of Team A of the disqualification. The official then instructs the timer to begin the 20-second replacement period. The official then notifies A1. After 10 seconds have elapsed: (a) the captain of Team A; or (b) the captain of Team B requests a time-out.

Ruling: In (a) and (b), the time-out request is denied as disqualified A1 must be replaced prior to any time-out being granted to either team. (2-8-4; 10-5-2)

Jumpers Facing Wrong Direction- 5.2.1 Situation E: During the pregame practice period, the visiting team properly uses the east goal and the home team the west goal. The officials, by mistake, allow the jumpers to face the wrong direction to start the game. A1 controls the tap by tapping the ball back to A2. A2, realizing that he/she had warmed up at the basket behind A1, dribbles to that basket and scores an uncontested basket.

Ruling: Score the basket for Team A. The officials should stop the game and emphasize to both teams the proper direction. The mistake is an official's error by allowing A1 and B1 to face the wrong direction; not a correctable error.

Three-Point Try- 5.2.1 Situation B: With 2:45 left in the second quarter, B1 has the ball on the left wing in Team B's frontcourt, standing behind the three-point arc. B5 makes a backdoor cut toward the basket. B1 passes the ball toward the ring and B5 leaps for the potential "alley-oop" dunk. The ball, however, enters and passes through the goal directly from B1's pass and is not touched by B5.

Ruling: Score three points for Team B. A ball that is thrown into a team's own goal from behind the three-point arc scores three points, regardless of whether the thrown ball was an actual try for goal.

Ending a Quarter or Extra Period- 5.6.2 Situation C: The ball is in flight during a try by A1 when time for the fourth quarter or for any extra period expires. The try is successful to make the score: (a) A-60, B-60; or (b) A-61, B-60 Clearly after the ball becomes dead, A2 contacts B1.

Ruling: A technical foul is charged if contact during a dead ball is intentional or flagrant. If flagrant, it results in disqualification in addition to the free throws. In (a), an extra period is played and this extra period is started by administering the penalty for the technical foul. If this occurrence is after an extra period, the procedure is the same as after the fourth quarter. The next extra period starts with the penalty for the technical foul. In (b), the free throws are treated the same as if they were part of the preceding quarter or extra period. If only one free throw is successful, an extra period is played and the overtime period is started with a jump. If neither or if both free throws are successful, the game is ended. (5-6-2; Exception 3, 4; 7-5-6a; 10-3-7)

Time-out Requests: 5.8.3 Situation A: A1 fouls B1. The official who made the ruling moves toward the reporting area. A2 immediately signals the free official for a time-out.

Ruling: A1 must be replaced before the time-out is granted. Comment: The first responsibility the ruling official has is to report the foul to the scorer. Officials should not be hasty in granting an immediate time-out after the game has reached a point that players may begin to foul out. Rather, they should take a second or two after reporting the foul to see if the scorer may report a disqualification. (2-8-4; 10-5-2)

Ending a Quarter or Extra Period- 5.6 Situation: A1 is fouled in the act of shooting by B1. A1's try or tap is successful to make the score with Team A leading 62-58. When the foul occurs, the clock is stopped with 0:00 showing, but no end-of-period signal (horn or light) has indicated.

Ruling: A1 will attempt the free throw with lane spaces occupied as required. The fourth quarter time has not expired until the quarter-ending signal.

Ending a Quarter or Extra Period- 5.6.2 Situation B: Time for the first quarter expires while the ball is in flight during a field-goal try by A1. B1 intentionally fouls A2 before the field-goal attempt has ended. After the ball has become dead following the last free throw by A2, A3 flagrantly fouls B1.

Ruling: A3 is disqualified for a flagrant technical foul. Because the foul by A3 was committed after the first quarter had ended. The second quarter will begin with the free-throw attempts by any Team B player. Team B is then awarded the ball at the division line opposite the table for a throw-in. This throw-in does not affect the possession arrow. (7-5-4b; 10-3-7)

Jumpers Facing Wrong Direction- 5.2.1 Situation F: During the pregame practice period, the visiting team properly uses the east goal and the home team the west goal. The officials, by mistake, allow the jumpers to face the wrong direction to start the game. Several baskets are scored before it is recognized that both teams are throwing the ball into the opponent's basket.

Ruling: All points scored count as if the teams had gone the right direction and scored in their own basket. Once the mistake is recognized, play shall continue with each team attempting to score in its own basket. (4-5-4)

Three-Tenths of a Second or Less on Clock- 5.2.5 Situation B: With three-tenths of a second or less left in the first half, Team B has been charged with only four team fouls. A1 is at the free throw line for one free throw. A1's shot hits the ring and bounds off. A2 legally taps the ball toward the basket and is fouled by B3. The ball had left A2's hand and the foul occurred before the end-of-period signal. The tap is unsuccessful.

Ruling: B3's foul is considered in the "act of tapping" and will result in two free throws for A2. The lane will be cleared and the period ends after A2's free throw attempts. (4-41-1, 5, 6, 7)

Three-Tenths of a Second or Less on Clock- 5.2.5 Situation A: The game clock shows three-tenths of a second or less in the third quarter when A2: (a) taps the ball; or (b) grabs A1's missed free throw or throw-in pass and quickly shoots. In both cases the ball leaves A2's hand(s) before the end-of-period signal and goes through A's basket.

Ruling: Count the goal in (a), but not in (b).

Timing Mistakes and Corrections- 5.10.1 Situation D: There are six seconds left on the clock in the fourth quarter and the ball is out of bounds in the possession of Team A. The throw-in by A1 touches the official on the court and then goes across the court and out of bounds. The timer permits two seconds to run off the clock. What recourse does the coach of either team have in such situation?

Ruling: Either coach may step to the scorer's table and request a 60-second time-out and have the referee come to the table. The coach is permitted to do this under provisions of the coach's rule. The referee shall come to the sideline and confer with one or both coaches and the timer about the matter; and if the referee has definite knowledge that there were six seconds on the clock when the ball was awarded to Team A for the throw-in, it is the responsibility of the referee to have the two seconds put back on the clock. The timer and scorer and the other official(s) can be used by the referee to gain definite information. If there is no mistake or if it cannot be rectified, the requesting team will be charged with a 60-second time-out. (5-11-4 Exception b; 5-8-4; 10-5-1c)

Error-Not Correctable- 5.8.4 Situation A: The appeal of the coach of Team A to an official, made while the ball is dead and the clock is stopped, is made when it is too late for correction of an error.

Ruling: Following the conference, the 60-second time-out remains charged to Team A and they are given the privilege of utilizing whatever time remains. The official will terminate the discussion with the coach immediately upon making a decision. If the discussion takes more than one minute, only one 60-second time-out is charged. (2-10-2; 5-11-4)

Timing Mistakes and Corrections- 5.10.1 Situation E: Team A scores a goal to lead by four point with 10 seconds remaining in the fourth quarter. Team B then quickly scores with approximately five seconds remaining; now trailing by two points. Team A expects to withhold the ball out of bounds for the throw-in with the time remaining (less than five seconds). The timer mistakenly stops the clock shortly following the Team B goal; the game clock reads 4.0 seconds remaining. The official sounds the whistle, (a) immediately to address the timing mistake; (b) after reaching a throw-in count of three to address the timing mistake; or (c) upon reaching a five-second throw-in count on Team A.

Ruling: In (a) and (b), Team A will have a throw-in from anywhere along the end line with (a) no change to the game clock; and (b) the game clock corrected to display 1.0 seconds. In (c), the game is over as time has expired. Comment: An official's count may be used to correct a timing mistake. (5-10-2)

Ending a Quarter or Extra Period- 5.6.2 Situation D: Team A trails 60-59 with just a few seconds remaining in the fourth quarter of play. A1 is fouled in the act of shooting by B1 but time expires before the ball is in flight. A1 is awarded two free throws. The coach of Team B is charged with a technical foul before A1's attempts. A1 makes: (a) neither throw; (b) one throw; or (c) both throws. When does Team A shoot the free throws resulting from the technical foul?

Ruling: In (a) and (b), the two free throws for the technical foul are attempted as part of the fourth quarter as the foul occurred before the fourth quarter had ended. In (a), the two free throws for the technical foul will determine if an extra period is necessary. In (b), the one successful free throw ties the game and if either free throw for the technical foul is successful, no extra period is required. In (c), the two successful free throws dictate there will be no extra period. The free throws for the technical foul are not administered as the outcome of the game has been determined. A quarter or extra period does not end until all free throws which could affect the outcome of the game have been attempted and related activity has been completed. (4-41-1; 5-6-3 Exception; 6-7-7)

Three-Point Try- 5.2.1 Situation C: A1 throws the ball from behind the three-point line. The ball is legally touched by: (a) B1 who is in the three-point area; (b) B1 who is in the two-point area; (c) A2 who is in the three-point area; or (d) A2 who is in the two-point area. The ball continues in flight and goes through A's basket.

Ruling: In (a) and (b), three points are scored since the legal touching was by the defense and the ball was thrown from behind the three-point line. In (c), score three points since the legal touch by a teammate occurred behind the three-point line. In (d), score two points since the legal touch by a teammate occurred in the two-point area.

Time-out Requests: 5.8.3 Situation E: A1 is dribbling in the ball in his/her backcourt when: (a) the Team B head coach requests and is erroneously granted a time-out by an official; or (b) the Team A head coach is yelling "side out" offensive instructions to his/her team and the official stops play believing the coach requested a time-out.

Ruling: In (a), Team B is entitled to use the time-out since it was requested and granted; once granted it cannot be revoked and is charged to Team B. All privileges and rights permitted during a charged time-out are available to both teams.. Play will resume with a Team A throw-in nearest to where play was stopped. In (b), an inadvertent whistle has occurred. Team A was not requesting a time-out, and therefore, should not be granted or charged with one. Play is resumed at the point of interruption. (4-36-1; 4-36-2a)

Time-out Requests: 5.8.3 Situation B: Following a time-out, both teams are at the sideline with respective coaches after all signals have been given prior to a throw-in by Team A. Team A or Team B requests a time-out: (a) before; or (b) after, the official places the ball on the floor at the throw-in spot.

Ruling: In (a), either team may be granted a time-out. In (b), Team A may, but Team B may not be granted a time-out after the ball is at A's disposal.

Length of Extra Period Incorrect- 5.7.3 Situation: Following a violation in the first extra period, the timer beckons the referee to the table. The timer informs the referee that by mistake the period started with: (a) more; or (b) less than four minutes on the clock.

Ruling: In (a), if the mistake is discovered before the clock reaches four minutes, the clock shall be set at four minutes and play resumes. If discovered after reaching four minutes, no correction is allowed. In (b), the appropriate amount of time shall be added to reflect a four-minute period. (2-5-5)

Overtime Continues- 5-7-4 Situation: The score is tied at the end of regulation time. During the overtime period, the official scorer informs the referee that Team A had an additional point in the fourth quarter that was not counted. In (a), referee reviews the scorebook and recognizes where a point was not properly credited to Team A.; or (b) the referee does not have definite knowledge that a point was not credited to Team A.

Ruling: In (a), the referee adds a point to Team A's score. In (b), the referee does not add a point to Team A's score. In either case, the referee continues the overtime period to completion. (2-11-11)

Three-Point Try- 5.2.1 Situation A: A1 attempts a three-point goal. B1 slaps the ball: (a) while it is in downward flight outside the cylinder, but above the ring level; or (b) while it is in the cylinder after bouncing off the ring.

Ruling: It is defensive goaltending in (a) and defensive basket interference in (b). Three points are awarded in both cases as a result of the violation. (9-11, 12)

Clock Start on Touching- 5.9.3 Situation: With two seconds on the clock in the fourth quarter, A1 is awarded one free throw with Team B leading 68-66. A1 throws the ball against the backboard and it ricochets off the ring with such force that A1 secures the rebound. A1's try for goal is successful as time expires.

Ruling: Legal goal by A1. The clock started when A1 touched the ball. (5-9-3; 9-1-3a)

Crediting Points- 5.2.3 Situation: A1 completes the throw-in to A2 to begin the second half. A2 is confused and dribbles toward the basket Team A used during the first half and dunks the ball into the basket of Team B.

Ruling: Legal goal. Two points are awarded to Team B. The ball is bounced to a player of Team A out of bounds at the basket of Team B. Team A may put the ball in play from anywhere along the end line as after any score by B (earned or awarded). (5-2-1; 7-5-7)

Timing Mistakes and Corrections- 5.10.1 Situation C: As the official rules a three-second lane violation, he/she properly sounds the whistle and gives the signal to stop the clock. While doing this, the official is able to see the exact time remaining in the fourth quarter. The clock shows five seconds remaining. The timer stops the clock: (a) at five seconds; (b) at four seconds; (c) at three seconds; or (d) the time runs out completely.

Ruling: No correction is needed in (a). In (b), (c), and (d), the referee will order five seconds put on the clock.

Ending a Quarter or Extra Period- 5.6.2 Situation I: During the pregame warm-up, the officials observe that the facility has functioning LED lights on each backboard. A1 begins the act of shooting just prior to the expiration of time in the first quarter. The covering official observes the attempt in A1's hands when the LED light is activated, but the ball appears to be out of the hands when the horn is sounded. The ball goes in the basket.

Ruling: No goal; the quarter expired prior to the release of the try. Comment: Red/LED lights provide a visual reference for officials to determine when a period has ended. The red/LED lights and the horn are expected to be synchronized, but since light travels faster than sound, it may appear that one follows the other. The red/LED lights give a more precise indication that a period has expired. (1-14; 6-7-6)


Related study sets

Maternity and Child Bearing Test #1

View Set

(Chapter 7) - The Courts and the Judiciary

View Set

NSG 3660 Optional Prep U: Infection Exam 1

View Set

Ecology and the Environment: L14

View Set

Polarity and Water Properties(Niggemeyer Biology)

View Set