Adv& MKT 10 w/o

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_____ = Cost of commercial time/program rating.

Cost per point

Which medium offers the most target selectivity?

Direct mail

_____________________________________ refers to the relationship between the price paid for advertising space or time and the size of the audience delivered.

Relative cost

With which of the following media would you find cost per rating point (CPRP) used to compare cost figures?

Television

To determine the potential for sales of coffee (as opposed to a specific brand) in a particular market area, a company should use:

category development index

The evaluation and follow-up stage of media planning:

is an imperative if an organization is to evaluate its performance

Media buyers might choose to live with a relatively high degree of waste coverage because:

it may still be the most cost affordable buy on a per exposure basis

The times during the year when television audiences are measured in order to set advertising rates are called:

sweeps periods

Greater frequency levels of exposure would be necessary if:

the purchase and usage cycle is short

Which of the following would most likely result in waste coverage?

A business-to-business ad appearing in a general fashion magazine

_____________________________ of the medium or vehicle is the actual total cost required to place the message.

Absolute cost

Which of the following is an example of a media vehicle?

America's Next Top Model Show

______________________________ is the number of times the average household reached by a media vehicle is exposed to the vehicle over a specified period of time.

Average frequency

For which of the following products is an advertiser most likely to use continuity scheduling?

Cake mixes

___________________________ is an external factor that may influence the determination of media strategy.

Competitive factors

Which of the following statements describes a disadvantage associated with the flighting method of schedule advertising?

Consumers have a lack of awareness, interest, and retention of promotional messages during nonscheduled times

Which media scheduling strategy would be most likely to be used by a marketer of dishwashing detergent?

Continuous

______ is an attempt to provide some standardization of relative costing procedures for making media selections.

Cost per thousand (CPM)

C_________________ refers to the potential audience that might receive the message through a vehicle.

Coverage

Seasonal products such as Mother's Day cards and Valentine candy would best make use of which scheduling alternative?

Flighting

_____ is the employment of periods of advertising along with periods of non-advertising.

Flighting

Which of the following statements describes an advantage inherent in the flighting method of schedule advertising?

Flighting creates cost efficiency by using advertising only during purchasing periods

________________________________ is the number of times a receiver is exposed to a message in a given time period.

Frequency

The survey of buying power index is particularly useful for providing __________________________________ information.

Geographic

____________________________________ are based on the total audience the media schedule may reach using a duplicated reach estimate.

Gross rating points (GRPs)

_______________________________________ is a summary measure that combines reach and frequency.

Gross ratings points (GRPs)

After calculating both the brand development index (BDI) and the category development index (CDI), a media planner obtains the following results: High BDI and High CDI. What do these results imply?

High market share and good market potential

After calculating both the brand development index (BDI) and the category development index (CDI), a media planner obtains the following results: High BDI and Low CDI. What do these results imply?

High market share and monitor for sales decline

Which media vehicle is described as having few valid measurement techniques, a flexible message platform, and limited creative capabilities?

Interactive Media

Which of the following indices reflects a company with low market share of a brand in a given market?

Low brand development index (BDI)

Which of the following situations offers the advertiser the least attractive marketing opportunity?

Low brand development index (BDI) and low category development index (CDI)

After calculating both the brand development index (BDI) and the category development index (CDI), a media planner obtains the following results: Low BDI and Low CDI. What do these results imply?

Low market share and poor market potential

In calculating both the brand development index (BDI) and the category development index (CDI) a media planner obtains the following results: Low BDI and High CDI. What do these results imply?

Low market share; good market potential

Magazine A has a cost for a full-page ad of $10,000 and a circulation figure of 5,000,000. Of these 5,000,000 subscribers, 40 percent are tennis buffs. Magazine B has a cost for a full page of $10,000 and a circulation of 3,000,000. Of the 3,000,000 subscribers 75 percent are tennis buffs. If you sold tennis racquets and wanted to compare the cost per thousand (CPM) of these magazines, which would you choose?

Magazine B ......As per the concept of target cost per thousand (TCPM), For Magazine A circulation to target market is: 5,000,000 x 40 % = 2,000,000 and TCPM (10,000/2,000,000)*1,000 = $5. For Magazine B circulation to target market is: $3,000,000 x 75 percent = 2,225,000 and TCPM = (10000/2225000)*1000 = $4.49. Since TCPM for Magazine B is lower, it is more cost effective

____________________________________ is the series of decisions involved in delivering the promotional message to the prospective purchasers and/or users of the product or brand

Media Planning

_____________________________ are plans of action designed to obtain specific media objectives.

Media strategies

Which of the following forms of advertising would be most effective when the objective is to attain maximum coverage of a local market at low cost?

Newspaper

A retailer wants to run an ad announcing that the new Harry Potter book will be available at the store next Saturday. There are two newspapers in the community in which the retailer operates. An ad in Newspaper A will cost $500, and an ad in Newspaper B will cost $375. Newspaper A has a circulation of 10,000, and Newspaper B has a circulation of 8,000. After calculating the cost per thousand (CPM), you know that:

Newspaper B is the more cost-effective buy. The formula for computation of Cost per thousand (CPM) = (Cost of ad space/circulation) x 1000. CPM for newspaper A = ($500/10,000) x 1,000= $50. CPM for newspaper B = ($375)/8,000) x 1,000 = $46.875. Hence, newspaper B is more cost effective

Which of the following media strategies is suitable for a new product with a target audience concentrated in a well-defined market segment?

One that emphasizes reach rather than frequency

Disneyworld advertises itself as a vacation spot throughout the year, but it advertises more heavily during the summer months and during the Christmas season when more people are vacationing. This is an example of _____ scheduling.

Pulsing

My product is hand-tooled leather wallets, which can be purchased at any time of the year, but which are more often purchased during the Christmas season and before Father's day. Given a limited budget, which strategy would likely be the most effective if I wanted to try to stimulate trial and/or sales?

Pulsing

Recreation vehicles (RVs) advertise throughout the year but typically advertise more heavily in June and September. Which of the following scheduling methods does this pattern represent?

Pulsing

Which of the following is an example of a marketing factor that has been shown to be important in determining advertising frequency levels?

Purchase and usage cycles

A measure of potential reach in the broadcast industry is the TV or ___________________________________.

Radio program rating

____________ is the measure of the number of different audience members exposed at least once to a media vehicle.

Reach

Which of the following statements is true about advertising reach?

Reach of a media vehicle can be defined as the "opportunities to see" an ad

_____ is used to compare media vehicles.

Relative cost

Which of the following statements is true about reach and frequency?

Since one exposure is usually ineffective, the central goal of productive media planning should be to enhance frequency rather than reach.

For which of the following products is an advertiser most likely to use a flighting schedule?

Snow tires

Which of the following sources of information should be used by a media buyer wishing to acquire statistical information for a specific metropolitan market?

Survey of buying power index

How do gross rating points (GRPs) differ from target ratings points (TRPs)?

TRPs calculations do not include waste coverage, and GRPs calculations do.

______________________________________________ is the number of persons in the primary target audience who the media buy will reach and the number of times those persons will be reached.

Target ratings points

When trying to attain maximum coverage of the entire U.S. market, which form of advertising would be most effective?

Television

Which of the following statements is true about the media mix?

The characteristics of the product or service helps in determining the combination of media that should be used

A retailer wants to advertise its "Back-to-School" sale in a city that has two daily newspapers. There are 450,000 subscribers to Newspaper A and 520,000 subscribers to Newspaper B. The two-page ad in Newspaper A costs $20,000, and the same ad will cost $22,000 in Newspaper

The newspaper that has readers who have school-aged children

________________________________ is an internal factor that may influence the determination of media strategy.

The size of the media budget

Media planning is not an easy task. Which of the following is a reason why media planning is so difficult?

Time pressures inhibit proper planning

____, also known as overexposure, occurs when the media coverage exceeds the target audience.

Waste coverage

General Foods wishes to determine the percentage of Maxwell House coffee sold in a geographic area as compared with the percentage of the total population in this market. The most appropriate index to use would be:

brand development index

The rate of product usage in a geographical area may be calculated through the use of:

brand development index (BDI)

In terms of advertising, scheduling constant advertising without variation is referred to as:

continuity

In media planning, [(Cost of ad space/circulation) x 1000] is the formula used to calculate:

cost per thousand

In order to compare the relative costs between two print media, an advertiser needs to use:

cost per thousand (CPM)

While purchasing time on television, it often becomes difficult to determine the print equivalent cost. As a result, some television rate cards now express costs in terms of _____ to provide a comparable base.

cost per thousand (CPM)

The major problem with the use of readers per copy figures is:

determining pass-along rates.

Dr Pepper ran its commercial featuring Garth Brooks during American Idol and during The Bachelor. Since many people watched both television shows, _________________________________ occurred.

duplicated reach

Most people who watch the show 'Desperate Housewives' also watch 'America's next top model'. An ad for Coca-Cola placed in both these shows would most likely result in:

duplicated reach

The overlap that occurs due to people seeing the ad twice is referred as:

duplicated reach

The concept of _______________________________ is based on the assumption that one exposure to an ad may not be enough to convey the desired method.

effective reach

The use of hot sauce is most common from Louisiana, west to New Mexico and north to the Arkansas-Oklahoma border. A producer of hot sauce would use this information to schedule by using:

geographical weighting

In a market analysis, the _________________ is considered a good indicator of the potential of the market. It is derived by dividing the percentage of users in a demographic segment by the percentage of population in the same segment and the multiplying the quotient by 100.

index number

A company with a substantial advertising budget with little or no awareness in the target market should:

maximize reach

The _______________________ determines the best way to get the advertiser's message to the market.

media plan

The primary objective of ____________________________-_ is to develop a framework that will deliver the message to the target audience in the most efficient cost-effective manner possible

media planning

The media plan is a guide for:

media selection

The _________________________________________ is a specific carrier within a medium category.

media vehicle

USA Today, Sports Illustrated, and Tonight Show with Jay Leno are all examples of:

media vehicles

The _____________________________ is the general category of available delivery systems, which includes broadcast media, print media, direct marketing, outdoor advertising, and other support media.

medium

To calculate gross ratings points (GRPs), you will need to:

multiply reach times frequency (GRP = Reach x Frequency)

Cost per thousand (CPM) is potentially an underestimate of cost efficiency because of:

nonconsideration of the total readers per copy

The pass-along rate refers to the:

number of persons to whom a magazine copy has been given and who have read it

Effective reach refers to the:

percentage of a media vehicle's audience reached with the addition of one more showing of an ad.

A product that may be consumed throughout the year, but has seasonal periods where consumption is higher would most logically employ a(n) _____ scheduling method.

pulsing

When a product's advertising schedule involves constant advertising with heavier efforts being made at certain times, a(n) ______ schedule is being employed.

pulsing

New Balance running shoes would probably wish to pursue a _____ scheduling strategy, while Rossignol snow skis would more than likely use a _____ schedule.

pulsing; flighting

Given an advertising objective of achieving maximum awareness in an undifferentiated target market, the strategy should be to maximize:

reach

Cost per thousand (CPM) is an expression of ______ for various media vehicles.

relative cost

Advertising and promotional costs can be categorized in two ways. They are:

relative cost and absolute cost

Cost per thousand is a measure of the ______ of a particular media vehicle.

relative cost effectiveness

An index number of 100 means that the:

segment being analyzed is average

After the situation analysis and the development of both the marketing and creative strategy plans, it is time to develop the media plan. The first step in developing a media plan is to:

set the media objectives

According to ____, a media buyer for a manufacturer of paintball guns would be better satisfied with the ad's performance if he or she purchased an ad in Paintball Sports magazine rather than Sports Illustrated, even though the cost per thousand of Paintball sports is much higher than Sports Illustrated.

target cost per thousand (TCPM)

For newspapers, the cost efficiency formula is based on:

the daily inch rate

The advertiser needs to know _____ to determine how many readers an advertiser gets for every dollar spent in print media.

the pass-along readership

The market potential in a given metropolitan area, as compared to the United States as a whole, can be determined by using:

the survey of buying power index

Unduplicated reach is:

total reach less duplicated reach.

If the ad is placed on two shows, the total number exposed once is ____________________________________.

unduplicated reach

The category development index is similar to the Brand Development Index (BDI) except that it:

uses information about the product category

A media selection problem whereby the coverage of the media vehicle goes beyond the scope of the target audience is known as:

waste coverage

When the coverage of the media exceeds the targeted audience, this excess is referred to as:

waste coverage


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