Digital Marketing Exam 2 Review

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Assume you buy t-shirts at wholesale for $10, and you resell them online for $50, and you give away free shipping which costs $5, and you want to make $20 per shirt. With an average CPC of $3, how many clicks can you get before you get a sale?

$15 cpa/ $3 cpc= 5 clicks

With an average CPC of $2.00, how high does the conversion rate need to be in order to reach a goal CPA of $10?

$2/$10*100= 20%

An advertiser bids $10 CPM, achieves a 1% CTR, and achieves a 5% conversion rate. What would an equivalent CPA bit for this advertiser be?

$20

With a budget of $1000, an average CPC of $2.50, how many clicks can the advertiser receive before their budget is exhausted?

1000/2.50= 400 clicks

A banner ad had 20,000 impressions, a CTR of 1%, and a conversion rate of 5%. The number of actual conversions was

20,000 * 1%= 200 200 * 5%= 10 actual conversions

A banner ad created by Jonathan had CTR of 1.5% with 20,000 impressions. How many people clicked on the banner ad?

20,000 * 1.5% = 300

During a one-week period, a website had 3,000 total pageviews from 500 sessions. What is the site's average page depth?

3,000/500=6

Of 500 sessions that occurred on a website during a one-week period, 200 of them started on the homepage; 100 of these 200 sessions saw only the homepage before leaving the site. Of the 300 sessions that started on other pages, 100 of them consisted of only one pageview. What is the site bounce rate?

40%

If 300 people visit Amanda's retail website and 6 make purchases, the conversion rate is

6/300 = 2%

With an unlimited budget, an average CPC of $1.00, a CTR of 1.8%, and 60,000 impressions, how much will the advertiser spend?

60,000 x 0.018 x $1= $1,080

A lead generation website received 1,000 visitors, gained 80 leads, and booked jobs with 20 of those leads. What is the conversion rate and what is the close rate?

8% ; 25%

Using your answer from above - How many conversions can you get for $3000?

$3000 budget/$10 cpa= 300 conversions

Assume you buy t-shirts at wholesale for $10, and you resell them online for $50, and you give away free shipping which costs $5, and you want to make $20 per shirt. What should your Target CPA be?

$50 retail price - $10 wholesale cost -$5 shipping cost - $20 target margin = $15 target CPA

The correct formula for calculating CTR is

(Clicks/Impressions) * 100

Assume you buy t-shirts at wholesale for $10, and you resell them online for $50, and you give away free shipping which costs $5, and you want to make $20 per shirt. What should be your target conversion rate?

1 conversion/5 clicks= 20% target conversion rate

An editorial link is:

A link created voluntarily by another website owner because he/she values the website's content

On the SERP, the meta description

Describes the content of the webpage

Toyota knows that people are only actively looking to purchase a car every few years. It wants to focus its ad dollars on people who are actively researching cars to purchase. What targeting dimension should Toyota use for its ad campaign?

In-market audience

A furniture seller believes that people who have just moved are more likely to need new furniture. What targeting dimension should this furniture seller use for their ad campaign?

Life events

Why is receiving 100 links from 10 different websites better than receiving 100 links from the same website?

Links from 10 websites mean a higher link diversity than links from one website

A search engine is likely to infer a website is low quality for each of the following features, EXCEPT:

Long meta descriptions

Two competing websites have the same number of links. Website A received all of its links between January 2016 and January 2017. Website B received its links from January 2016 to the present. Which website is likely to rank higher today for a search that is equally relevant to both sites?

Website B, because it has higher link freshness

Bass Pro Shop wants to use remarketing to advertise to individuals who have visited the retailer's website. This remarketing will occur because

Whenever an individual visits a website within the ad network, the ad network will see the Bass Pro cookie on the individual's computer and display the Bass Pro ad on the computer screen

What is the difference between white hat SEO and black hat SEO?

White hat- using the correct technique Black hat- things you do that Google will punish you for (spamming)

A website that sells software made 100 sales of $200 each from 2,000 sessions (for a total of $20,000 in revenue and profit- the marginal cost of these sales was $0) The average cost to generate each session was $5 (the traffic came from a paid advertising campaign) Were these 2,000 sessions profitable?

Yes

If you have a $3000 budget, your average CPC is $0.50, and your conversion rate is 5%, what is your current CPA?

at a 5% conversion rate, 5 out of 100 clicks result in sales, or 1 sale for every 20 clicks.20 Clicks * $0.50=$10 CPA

If Cody's website sells exercise equipment, then a link from ____ is likely to be most valuable to Cody (if all of these sites have the same popularity)

www.fitnessblog.com

The average click-through-rate (CTR) for search text ads is around

1% to 4%

The character limit for the meta descriptions is about _____ characters

155

The formula for calculating cost per click (CPC) is

Costs/Clicks

PageRank could be easily manipulated by

Creating spam websites linking one to another

The _____ is a measure of the amount of time individuals spend at a website

Average session duration

Why is a high bounce back rate a negative signal of a web page's quality?

Because this behavior indicates that the searcher did not like what they saw or find what they were looking for

Organic search results are typically displayed:

Below the paid ads

The most reliable way to measure advertising effectiveness is to:

Conduct a carefully controlled experiment

Although web analytics cannot identify the name of a website visitor, it can identify the person's address based on the person's Internet connection and IP address

False

In buying search ad space, advertisers are normally charged slightly more than the amount they bid on a keyword

False

In mapping keyword phrases to webpages, the best strategy is to match broader keyword phrases with subcategory or product pages and more specific keyword phrases with the home page or category pages

False

What is the anchor text of this link: <ahref="http://jane.com">Fashion deals</a>

Fashion deals

Channel analysis enables an analytics user to:

Investigate which traffic source produced the best-quality traffic

Writing a blog post for someone else's blog and including links to one's own site would give a website what kind of links?

Manual links

Backlinks to a website fit into one of the following categories, EXCEPT:

Neighborhood

An ad's location, bid strategy, daily budget, ad extensions, and more are all determined at what level within the Google Ads account?

The campaign level

A major advantage of creating content specifically with the goal of ranking well for a popular search phrase is that:

The content will have built-in distribution

For a search engine, "relevance" refers to:

The extent to which a web page's content matches the searcher's query

"Analysis paralysis" occurs when:

The sheer volume of data overwhelms a manager and causes inaction

You have a website that sells widgets, and you have a category page specifically for blue widgets. After some extensive outreach efforts, you are able to gain 100 links to your blue widgets category page, but no links to your homepage. How will these new links affect the rankings of your homepage on relevant searches?

They will improve homepage rankings

Which of the following is NOT a reason to remarket?

To downsell products or services

Jane.com sells clothing and accessories. They want their line of maternity clothing to show up on searches that include "maternity". What should the URL for the maternity category page be?

https://jane.com/maternity

To determine whether a new ad copy is better at attracting attention, an advertiser should conduct an A/B test and measure

the click-through rate

Based on the concept of Quality Score, an ad that is written well and seems to generate more clicks compared to other advertisers will receive a better ad position

True

Individuals who type in generic words in a search engine are usually less inclined to make a purchase than someone who types in a more specific keyword phrase

True

The purpose of the title on a search ad is to get the searcher's attention

True

A website that sells high-end ties notices that its ads are showing up for searches that include "cheap". Because its ties are expensive, it does not want its ads to show up for searchers using the word "cheap". What should this advertiser do?

Add the word "cheap" to its negative keyword list

Two advertisers achieve the same 1% CTR on their ads. Advertiser A bids $10 CPM while Advertiser B bids $1.50 CPC. Which advertiser will be awarded more impressions from the ad network?

Advertiser B because his/her bids are expected to earn the ad network more money

The benefit of keyword mapping is:

All of these answers are correct

When a consumer clicks on a display, the landing page should match the ad's:

All of these are correct

Content marketing differs from advertising in that:

Content marketing is meant to entice readership/viewership on its own merits

Return on Advertising Spend (ROAS) cannot be calculated within a Google Ads account unless:

Conversion tracking is set up properly in analytics (or Tag Manager) and connected to the Google Ads account

A website that sells suits has created two custom segments: one called "Working Professionals" and another called "Luxury". It would like to execute an advertising campaign targeted to people who belong to BOTH segments. How can it accomplish this?

Create a combined audience with the AND specification

Sending out press releases to entice news organizations to do a story about a company can result in links from these news organizations' websites. These links would be considered:

Editorial links

If i write five headlines for a Responsive search ad, which headlines will show up in the ad?

Every ad impression will include a subset of the headlines, but all five headlines will be selected from

Because display ads can be shown on hundreds or thousands of different websites, analyzing traffic from these display ads will not provide useful information

False

If hundreds of websites are targeting a particular keyword search phrase, it would be a good choice for a new website to use also since the keyword phrase is generating a high level of traffic

False

With CPC bidding for display ads, advertisers pay each time an ad appears on a website

False

Advertisers on a display network can pay through each of the following methods EXCEPT:

Flat fee

An analytics package records all of the following information from visitors EXCEPT:

Hard disk space on the computer

Retargeting (or remarketing) ads are shown to people who

Have previously visited the advertiser's website

Search engines reduce a webpage's ranking in all of the following situations, EXCEPT:

Having pages with higher-than-expected click-through rates

In what way is the final URL the most important part of a search ad?

If the final URL is wrong, searchers cannot reach the website properly

Which of the following is NOT used when calculating an ad's Quality Score?

Organic search ranking

A low conversion rate can be caused by all of the following EXCEPT:

Overly responsive design

A(n) _____ occurs anytime a user accesses a page on a website

Pageview

Which of the following is NOT a targeting method available on the Google Display Ad Network?

Past visits to competitors' websites

Useful information about the algorithms now used by search engines to determine popularity is provided by each of the following, EXCEPT:

Paying search engines, such as Google, a premium to increase their websites ranking

The three match types vary in how close the search phrase and the keyword have to be in order to trigger the ad. Which match type is in the middle (not the closest but not the furthest)?

Phrase match

Web analytics tracks the identity of a computer through

Placing a cookie on each computer that visits the site

Good display ad copy does everything EXCEPT:

Pre-convert the consumer

Which of the following is NOT a match type for selecting search ad targets?

Precise match

Which of the following is NOT recommended to be shown in a search ad?

Reference to competitors

A company wishing to rank for local searches should first:

Register and verify its business with Google's My Business

"Long tail keywords" are:

Search terms with lower volume than "fat head keywords"

An experiment at eBay showed that advertising on brand keywords (searches that included "eBay") were not profitable because:

Searchers clicked the organic listing when the advertised listing was not available

The percentage of all sessions that consist of only one pageview is the

Site bounce rate

Of 500 sessions that occurred on a website during a one-week period, 200 of them started on the homepage; 100 of these 200 sessions saw only the homepage before leaving the site. Of the 300 sessions that started on other pages, 100 of them consisted of only one pageview. Which is higher: the site bounce rate or the homepage's bounce rate?

The homepage's bounce rate

Including the word "maternity" in the alt text and file name of several images on the maternity category page of Jane.com will improve the page's relevance score for searches using the word "maternity". What other benefit can result from this?

The images are more likely to show up on image searches that use "maternity"

Even a highly relevant keyword may not be worth pursuing in your SEO if:

The keyword has no traffic

If your website ranks 1, 9, 98, and 112 for four different keywords, on which keyword should your website first target SEO efforts?

The keyword on which your site ranks #9

I place the following link on my website: <arel="nofollow"href-"http://jane.com">Fashion deals</a>. How will this link be treated differently by the search engines?

The link will not pass link authority to jane.com

An effective display ad must attraction attention, communicate a value proposition, and invite some type of action

True

An online advertiser looking to use banner advertising must identify its target audience so it can create more effective advertising campaigns

True

Anytime a user enters a website he has created a visit, which can consist of one or more page views

True

Backlinks from websites and webpages that cover a similar topic are considered by search engines to be more important than general websites that are not related

True


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