ad test 4
Describe cinema advertising and web films
$857 million was spent in 2016 in the US on cinema ads prior to films, and expected to rise to $908 million by 2020 - especially valuable for reaching younger audiences - web films: short feature films available online for free viewing. the primary target is 18-35 year old men and women
describe common objectives and themes for successful social media campaigns
- sharing humor and creativity with consumers - deals and contests - causes, sponsorships, and events - interactive games, virtual worlds, and avatars - consumer-generated stories and content
-launched in 2004 - over 1.23 billion daily active uses, - 26.7 billion in rev - sponsored ads live on the right side of the facebook page - one-half of facebook users check their site everyday
What are five ways to augment the lifetime values?
1. increase the retention rate 2. increase the referral rate 3. enhance the average purchase volume per customer 4. cut direct costs 5. reduce marketing communication costs
_____ advertising is delivered to individuals' homes or workplaces typically via postal mail in the form of printed materials or in a digital/electronic form.
Direct
Beverly should use _____ advertising for her client who has requested a medium that is less wasteful than other media and produces the highest percentage of responses.
Direct mail
describe the advertising management process from the perspective of clients and their agencies
advertising strategy (setting objectives, formulating budgets, creating ad messages, selecting ad media and vehicles) --> strategy implementation --> assessing ad effectiveness - this process usually involves at least two parties: the organization that has a product or service to advertise, the client, and the independent organization that is responsible for creating ads, making media choices, and measuring results, the agency
_____ are electronic files that track users' online behavior.
cookies
Discuss mailing lists, and the various types
house lists: internal; R-F-M: recency- frequency- monetary value house lists of other companies: mail response list (external) compiled list: external
Gwen works at a consumer-goods manufacturer and deals with the tactical, day-to-day activities that must be performed to carry out an advertising campaign. Gwen is involved in _____.
implementing advertising strategy
A major negative of social media is that consumers can _____.
make negative comments
In advertising terminology, newspaper is the _____ and the Wall Street Journal is the _____.
medium; vehicle
Which of the following is an asset an up-to-date database provides a firm?
offer varied messages to different groups of customers, ability to direct advertising efforts to those people who represent the best prospects for the company's products or services, create long-term relationships with customers, enhance advertising productivity
twitter content
pointless babble - 40% conversational - 38% pass-along value- 9% self-promotion - 6% spam- 4% news- 4%
A major concern for users of Facebook is the issue of _____.
privacy
explain some of the major social media categories and different social media brands
publishing, sharing, messaging, discussing, collaborating, networking
how does social media compare to traditional media
reach: both offer scale, but traditional media is more centralized, while social media is decentralized usability: traditional media requires specialized skills and training, anyone with online access can generate content for social media immediacy: traditional media often has long time lags, social media can be generated very quickly permanence: once created, traditional media cannot be altered, changes can be made "on the fly" with social media
Which form of device is used most often to access Facebook?
smartphone/ mobile
Tim was looking for football stats on the NFL webpage when an animated ad for Nike team-branded jerseys appeared on top of the NFL's Web page. What type of online advertisement is this?
superstitial
Which of the following is an advantage of social media?
two-way dialogue
Describe the major factors used in segmenting target audiences for media planning purposes:
use cross-platform measurement by using a comparable metric such as gross rating points (GRPs: reach x frequency) include creative quality in the measurement, conducting analytics when decisions are made - have agreement as to data sharing and collaboration
social media
web-based and mobile technology used to turn communication into interactive dialogue - integrates technology and social interactions to create value for users - helps to solve consumer problems by establishing communication
discuss the Chinese social media landscape
One objective involved in formulating media plans is determining how much advertising volume (termed _____, by practitioners) is required to accomplish advertising objectives.
weight
- 2006 -2.4 billion in rev. - advertising: does not have display advertising, advertisers can target users based on their history of tweets and may quote tweets in ads directed specifically to the user
Explain ad blockers:
- 49% of users use ad blockers
Risks and uncertainty when investing in advertising
- Advertising is costly and its effects are often uncertain - Many companies think its appropriate at times to reduce advertising expenditures or to eliminate advertising entirely - Marketing managers- and perhaps especially chief financial officers- sometimes consider it unnecessary to advise when their brands already are enjoying great success
Describe other telemarketing regulatory efforts:
- FTC Telemarketing sales rule (1995) - bans deceptive and abusive sales practices (harassing calls) - prohibits "credit card laundering" - prohibits calls before 8 am and after 9 pm, local time - requires seller identifcation - FTC Do Not Call Rule - Telephone Consumer Protection Act FTC Children's online privacy protection rule
Discuss "other" advertising media forms (Table 15.4)
- brand placements - yellow pages advertising - video game advertising - cinema advertising - a collection of alternative ad media
What is the telephone disclosure act?
- cost - average length of call - parental permission if under 18 - not allowed if audience is under 12, unless "educational" (1-800-Barney)
describe the characteristics of direct- response advertising
- direct mail - other media - telemarketing - direct selling - involves the use of any of several media to transmit messages to encourage buyers to purchase directly from the advertiser - top direct response TV advertisers: proactive, rosetta stone, nutrisystem, snuggie
What are factors to consider in using outbound marketing vs. conventional face-to-face sales calls?
- importance of face-to-face contact - geographical concentration - economic consideration: order size - customer decision criteria - number/type of decision makers - nature of the purchase - status of the decision maker - evaluation of the specific selling tasks
Discuss the challenges associated with programmatic ad buying and cross-platform media options:
- major concern with the quality of the ad creative itself that is served up as a result of a data-driven, programmatic ad buy - argued that emotional connections, consumer engagement, and brand messaging should take precedence over data-driven frequency and exposures - the incorporation of creative performance measurement into the ad-buying systems is a related problem associated with this quality question. currently, programmatic ad buys tend to favor leftover ad inventories sold at lower prices
distinctive features of direct-mail advertising
- makes a definite offer - contains all information necessary to make a decision - includes a response device (ex. website, toll-free number, coupon) to facilitate action
Discuss other alternative advertising mediums:
- post-it notes - stadium cup holders - sides of garbage trucks - restroom space - labels on fruits and veggies - back covers of comic books - skywriting - human body
Discuss online and email advertising problems
- privacy and behavioral targeting (online profiling via cookies and marriage of online nad offline data) - opt-in and opt-out battles - SPAM (unsolicited commercial e-mail) - phishing and international fraud - click fraud with search engine advertising - google and ETC
Describe selecting the target audience:
- should be pinpointed, otherwise exposures may be wasted, and prime candidates missed - four major types of information are used in segmenting target audiences - behavioral data - geographic data - demographics - lifestyle/psychographics
Explain virtual signage
- some brand logos seen at sports venues on TV are virtual (ex. computer generated image) - advertisers in the US have embraced virtual signage but in Europe regulators such as the European Broadcasting Union have banned virtual advertising from events in which it holds broadcasting rights
Explain database marketing and how it works
- up-to-date computer databases help with direct mail/ direct marketing efforts - database marketing: a process by which companies collect information on consumers, analyze it to predict who will buy, and then develop tailored marketing messages to those consumers How it works: 1. the product 2. into the database maw 3. digesting the data 4. an ideal consumer (i.e. high volume user) 5. using the knowledge (coupons, new products, ads) 6. sharing the data with retailers 7. refining the database
Explain distinctive features of direct mail:
-targetability - measurability - accountability - flexibility - efficiency
Explain the model of the media-planning process (Figure 16.1)
1. selecting the target audience 2. specifying media objectives 3. selecting media categories and vehicles 4. buying media
Discuss specifying media objectives
1. what proportion of the population should be reached with vehicles containing the advertising message during specified period (reach) 2. how frequently should audience be exposed to the vehicles with the message during this period (frequency) 3. how much total advertising is needed to accomplish reach and frequency objectives (weight) 4. how should the advertising budget be allocated over time (continuity) 5. how close to the time of purchase should the target audience be exposed to the vehicles with the advertising message (recency) 6. what is the most economically justifiable way to accomplish objectives (cost)
Assume that the media schedule for a brand yields 500 GRPs. If the frequency is 5, the reach would be _____.
100
share of time spent on facebook
25% all other 27% homepage/newsfeed 21% profiles 17% photos 10% apps and tools
Telemarketing uses outbound calls from salespeople for what purpose?
All of these
Which of the following explains why some argue that children should not be on Facebook before they are high-school age?
Children lack logic and sophisticated reasoning
discuss the effect of advertising elasticity on a brand's SOM
Consumer demand fluctuates constantly, for many reasons. To discuss the effects of a specific factor on demand, economists use the term "elasticity" to describe how responsive consumers are. The more responsive consumers are to a specific change, the more elastic consumer demand is for that factor. This is important because, for any business, consumer demand has a direct effect on how many products it sells.
Which of the following is a distinctive feature of direct mail?
Efficiency, measurability, targetability, accountability
Which of the following agencies deals with consumers' privacy concerns for Facebook?
Federal Trade Commission
Lou is trying to increase the lifetime value of his customers. Which of the following is a way for him to augment his customers' lifetime value?
Increase the referral rate
explain the various functions that advertising performs
Informing Influencing (persuading) Reminding and increasing salience Adding value Assisting other company efforts
What is a distinct feature of direct-response advertising?
It makes a definite offer.
A key feature of database marketing is that each present or prospective customer is viewed as not just an address, but rather as a(n) ____.
Long-term asset
explain SOM (Share of Market) in relation to ad spending
Market leaders win the ad spending war for market share by creating or exploiting disequilibrium and outspending their competitors by a wide margin for a sustained period. They use ad spending as a competitive weapon, and they benefit from a relative share of voice effect on market share.
Addilson is responsible for developing the overall media strategy for his agency's clients. Addilson is a(n) ____.
Media planner
_____ is the design of a strategy that shows how investments in advertising time and space will contribute to the achievement of marketing objectives.
Media planning
Teresa received an e-mail message telling her to click on the link in the message to update her account profile at her bank. She did so, was taken to a website that looked like her bank's online banking website, and proceeded to enter all sorts of personal information such as her social security number, checking account number, and credit card numbers. However, this was not a legitimate site for her bank, but rather it was one designed to look like her bank site so thieves could obtain consumers' personal information to steal their identities. Unfortunately for Teresa, $3,000 was stolen from her bank account, and several purchases were made on her credit cards. This activity is known as ____.
Phishing
_____ takes place when criminals send e-mail messages appearing to be from legitimate corporations and direct recipients to phony websites that are designed to look like companies' actual websites with the intent to extract personal data from people such as their credit card and pin numbers.
Phishing
Creating demand for an entire product category is known as _____ demand.
Primary
Social media brands operating as collaboration tools provide which of the following for users?
Publishing, networking, discussing, sharing
Define the terms reach, frequency, and weight.
Reach: the percentage of a target audience that is exposed at least once during a specified time frame to the media vehicles containing the ad message Frequency: The average number of times during the specific period that members in the target audience are exposed to the media vehicles containing advertiser's message. Weight: represents how much advertising volume is required to accomplish advertising objectives.
Facebook ads can be targeted based on criteria like gender and network.
True
magnitude of advertising and the percentage of sales revenue companies invest in this marcom tool
US: $204 billion (~$631 per person) Global: $538 billion broken down: overall promotional dollar: - trade sales promotion (50%) - consumer sales promotion (25%) - media advertising (25%)
A(n) _____ is an invaluable advertising medium for conveying much information about the brand, its character, and its promotional offerings.
Website
Which of the following questions is most important when choosing metrics to evaluate a social media campaign?
What are your objectives?
Programmatic ad buying:
a series of tactics in purchasing online ad space: fully automated ad buying, real-time auctions for ad inventory, and data- driven targeting efforts - online advertising is aggregated, booked, flighted, analyzed, and optimized via software interfaces and algorithms -programmatic ad buying top categories: dating services, fitness and weight loss, gaming, home and garden, and business opportunities
what are advantages and disadvantages of social media
advantages: flexibility, reach, consumer engagement, two-way dialogue, integration, improved metrics, cost effectiveness disadvantages: privacy and censorship, lost productivity, addiction, and fatigue, meaningless comments, hackers and frauds, negative comments
A basic premise of frequency value planning states that _____.
advertisers should select a media schedule that generates the most exposure value per gross rating point
Facebook earns its revenue primarily from _____.
advertising
Discuss video game advertising:
aka advergaming - expenditures on advergaming totaled about $1 billion in 2010, and are estimated to reach $7.2 billion by 2016 - video game users usually play a single game for 40 hours before they grow tired of it - today, over 48% of game players are female - nielsen has developed a service to measure video game audiences and track behaviors
direct marketing and the reasons underlying its growth
an interactive system of marketing which uses one or more advertising media to effect a measurable response and/or transaction at any location
Research has found that click-through rates (CTRs) are a function of _____.
brand familiarity
Which of the following is perhaps most important when it comes to social media campaigns and success?
brand storytelling
social media measurement
comScore's 2-million social essentials panel - impressions/ unique exposed fans= frequency - total US reach x frequency= total US GRPs
Explain the programmatic advertising process
consumer browsing internet -> publisher sends dimensions of ad space to SSP -> SSP reads users cookies in order to serve the most relevant ad -> DSP values impression and submits a bid -> SSP picks winning bid --> ad is served to consumer all happens in a matter of milliseconds
CPM stands for _____.
cost per thousand
What factor should be considered when evaluating the suitability of introducing a telephone sales force?
customer decision criteria, geographical concentration, status of the major decision maker, nature of the purchase
With effective database marketing a firm may be able to alter the channel of distribution via direct marketing efforts, and hence _____.
cut direct costs
Letters, postcards, programs, calendars, folders, and catalogs are all examples of _____.
direct-mail advertising
how does snapchat make money
discover, stories (product placement), selfie mode (disappearing photo messages, LENSES, FILTERS), live stories
_____ reach is based on the idea that an advertising schedule is effective only if it does not reach members of the target audience too few or too many times.
effective
what makes social media "work" and why
encourage storytelling about the brand - co-produce messages and meanings with consumers step into the real world - connect and engage with customers through empathy, understanding, and openness - evolve with your customers in being social and human - admit mistakes and accept criticism
CPM (Cost per thousand impressions):
example for go.com 10,000 per mon x 1000/ 500,000 views per month= $20
Frequency refers to the number of people who purchased a product as a result of an advertisement.
false
social media privacy concerns and other concerns
general privacy principles - notice - consent - access - secirity facebook privacy policy - critics have voiced concern over facebook's privacy policy including the use of location services, third-party data tracking, and allowing advertisers to republish user posts other concerns: - addiction - age of users
Chloe is playing "Need for Speed," which is a video game they plays on their Playstation 3 game console. During their races, they sees signage for various brands, such as McDonald's and other fast food restaurants. This is an example of _____.
in-game advertising
Which of the following do successful social media campaigns have in common?
integration with other IMC elements
Advertising's long-term role has been described as "Strong advertising represents a deposit in the brand equity bank." By "strong" is meant the advertising _____.
is different, relevant, held in high esteem, and memorable
Which of the following is an advantage of brand placements in movies, TV programs, and elsewhere?
less likely to be summarily rejected as just another persuasive attempt
Describe brand placements:
marketing strategy whereby an advertiser promotes a brand by inserting it within the context of a selected medium (ex. TV, film, online, gaming program) for a fee or other consideration - brand-placement spending amounted to $6.01 billion in 2014 and is estimated to grow to $11.44 billion in 2019
Explain the Lifetime Value Analysis
net present value (NPV) of profit that a company stands to realize on the average new customer during a given number of years
successful social media campaigns, including non-profits
nike "write the future" ALS Ice Bucket Challenge Old Spice Like a Girl
snapchat demographic trends
older people are starting to join Snapchat, an important demographic for the hot startup to broaden its reach
Explain inbound and outbound telemarketing:
outbound: team making outbound calls inbound: provide the number, 800 number and people call us
Which of the following types of information can be gleaned from social media sites?
product ideas, promotion modifications, consumer feedback, pricing information
The most meaningful basis for segmenting target audiences is _____ data.
product usage
Discuss the example of the Saab 9 - 5 direct mail campaign:
telephone calls were made to everyone who responded to an initial mailing to set up test-drives - results: of the 200,000 initial prospects, 16,000 indicated interest in test-driving the 9-5 (an 8% response rate) more than 2,200 test drives were scheduled
Media
the general communication methods that carry advertising messages- TV, magazines, newspapers, and so on
Vehicles
the specific broadcast programs or print choices in which advertisements are places
Explain Gross Impressions (also called total exposures or duplicated audiences)
total audience (homes) exposed during the specified time period to any of the media vehicles containing the ad messages on any occasion - average freq. = gross impressions/ net coverage ex. : 2.22= 20/9