MKT 450 Final Exam

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brand keywords

-_________is specified in the search -consumer is likely ready to make a purchase -not as expensive as non-_______ keywords (not as competitive) -traffic usually converts highly

social media strategy: upper funnel

-awareness: building your audience, attracting new followers and fans -creating and sharing remarkable content that compels and engages your target buyer persona -examples: leveraging influencers, breaks convention, newsjacking

paid ads

-costs money (CPM, CPC) -reach as big as your budget allows -high creative fatigue -can drive every part of the funnel -audience targeting is (usually) very targeted

organic ads

-free -limited reach (less than 3% of your fan base) -short "shelf-life" -expected by your followers -better for driving upper and mid-funnel -audience is relevant

non-brand keywords

-no _______ specified in the search -consumer is likely early in the purchase cycle -typically more competitive -> more expensive -traffic doesn't convert as high -builds awareness for your brand

why links matter

-provide relevancy: a _____ from another website to yours is a popularity vote -more ______ = more popular. more popular = better rankings -not all ______ are created equal -want high quality ______ from sites & webpages that have high(er than yours) domain authority and page authority

how affiliates can help fill the funnel

-upper funnel: bloggers, influencers, content producers -mid funnel: product reviews and comparisons -lower funnel: coupons, cash back, promoting sale events

SEO: keywords

1) Relevance: relevance is determined by the searcher's intent 2) Search Volume (Traffic): take into consideration how often a ________ is searched 3) Competition: who is ranking for that search phrase and are they well optimized? 4) Current Rankings: don't mess up what is already working; whats within reach? (bottom of pg 1, top of pg 2)

email marketing: black-hat list growth strategies

1) Scraping the web: similar to how search engine web crawlers scour the internet for content, _____hat email scammers can use the same process to look for email addresses 2) Purchasing or renting lists: some solicitors sell their databases to companies willing to buy them -these people don't know you -high likelihood you get marked as spam/junk-affects deliverability of your legit emails -poor ROI -most reputable email vendors don't let you send emails to lists you haven't built

the 3 players in the display network

1) advertisers: companies that are willing to pay for traffic (netflix, nike, etc) 2) publishers: websites that are willing to rent out space on their site to show ads (bloggers, vloggers, etc) 3) ad networks: the middlemen that facilitate the handshake between advertisers and publishers; they collect money for the advertisers, they pay money to the publishers; central place for tracking, creative, and finding publishers and advertisers to partner with

what makes a great display ad

1) attract attention: colors, faces, motion, emotion 2) communicate unique value proposition 3) strong call to action 4) landing page matches expectations set by ad

paid social best practices: think mobile first

1) create a strong call-to-action 2) keep ad copy lean 3) ensure landing pages have good mobile experience

affiliate marketing: cost per action (CPA) - why advertisers like it

1) ease of tracking 2) trust 3) networking 4) ease of payments

paid social best practices: meet your customer where they are

1) fans = loyalists -vip perks, early releases, special events, thank you campaigns, refer a friend campaigns 2) friends of fans = warm interest -testimonials, discounts, gifting offers 3) brand new eyeballs -high frequency, fresh content often, social proof, knock down barriers to entry, micro conversions

types of targeting options

1) geographic: people in the southwest 2) demographic: men ages 25-34 3) keyword: articles containing "men's fashion" 4) interest: based on past browsing and buying behavior; "mens fashion enthusiasts" 5) topic: broad topic of a website 6) placement: a specific website 7) retargeting: based on prior behavior on your website or email list

components of a great PPC ad

1) highly relevant to the searchers query with relevant keywords 2) strong & obvious call-to-action (CTA) 3) enticing unique value proposition (UVP)

what to consider when expanding to other social media networks

1) is my persona on this network? 2) will this platform fill a need that is different from one of my other platforms? 3) do I have the time required to build an audience (again) on another platform? 4) how many posts/week am I able to commit to this account 5) which of the social media strategic goals (awareness, engagement, revenue) will this platform help me fulfill? 6) why is time spent on this social media platform more valuable than time spent doing other marketing activities?

email marketing: list growth strategies

1) lightbox 2) exit pop-up 3) traditional opt-in 4) check-out opt-in 5) webinars & courses 6) sign-up form on facebook

email KPI's

1) open rate 2) click through rate (CTR) 3) conversion rate 4) unsubscribe rate

psychology of social media: the six principles

1) social currency 2) triggers 3) emotion 4) public 5) practical value 6) stories

paid social best practices

1) think mobile first 2) meet your customer where they are

the 3 factors that go into a great search experience

1) users 2) quality 3) relevance -the better the quality and the higher the relevance, the more users. The more users, the more money -all of this is predicted on google's results (white hat vs black hat)

match types

1. exact 2. phrase 3. broad 4. modified broad match

principles of good landing page design: design for usability

1. follow website conventions: if most other websites in your market put page elements like the navigation bar & company logo in the same place on the page, then you should do the same so users do not have to spend time and effort learning your websites unique configuration 2. create effective visual hierarchies: more important things should be larger & higher up on the page & similar items should be grouped together on the page 3. break pages up into clearly defined areas: if different visitors are interested in different possible actions (looking at products, reviewing account info) it helps them to identify an area of the site first so they can drill down from there 4. make it obvious what's clickable 5. eliminate distractions: include only most important info on homepage to avoid clutter 6. format content to support scanning: make paragraphs short, use plenty of headlines, & include bulleted lists whenever appropriate

principles of good web page design: conversion-centered design

1. grab attention with a call-to-action (CTA): the potential action you'd like consumers to take & format the page to point towards (literally and/or figuratively) this action 2. context: where are site visitors coming from? does the message and content of the homepage match the expectations of customers? 3. clarity: is it clear from a quick scan of the webpage what the webpage is about? does the user know what will happen once he or she clicks a link? 4. congruence: do all the words on the webpage encourage the conversion or do some words distract potential customers from the desired behavior 5. credibility: do potential customers have ample reason to believe you can deliver on your promises? 6. closing: use positive messaging close to the desired click region. Negatively-valenced words can sometimes inhibit clicking 7. continuance: once you've obtained the desired conversion, does the customer know you've completed the intended action and are they being encouraged to begin the next conversion 8. clear value proposition

email KPI's: unsubscribe rate

= # of unsubscribes / # of emails sent -if 1 unsubscribes of the 100 emails sent, 1% is ______ rate -industry average is 0.25%

return on ad spend (ROAS)

= (Total Profit / Total AdSpend) * 100

email KPI's: click through rate (CTR)

= clicks / opens -if 4 people clicked of the 20 that opened, ______ is 20% -18% is industry average

email KPI's: conversion rate

= orders / clicks -3-5% is industry average for email

email KPI's: open rate

=opens / # of emails sent -if you send 100 emails and 20 are opened, _____ ______ = 20% -20% is industry average

media site KPI's: average session duration

______ sites with more video content than written content may be more interested on keeping users viewing videos, during which a site will insert video advertising and less interested in driving additional page views -better measure of user engagement than other KPI's

affiliate marketing

a marketing arrangement by which an online retailer pays a commission to an external website for traffic or sales generated from its referrals

email marketing: list growth strategies - lightbox

a pop-up that comes up after entering a site; highly effective -all other distractions are removed -eye catching -trigger at just the right moment (time, scrolling, browsing pages, exiting) -strong call-to-action -page-level targeting

media site KPI's: average page depth

a reliable indicator of user engagement and good content navigation/integration -news site, blogs; sites with written content

importance of domain authority

a search engine ranking score developed by Moz that predicts how well a domain will rank on search engine results pages (SERP) -scores are on a range from 0-100, with higher scores corresponding to a greater ability to rank -want to get links from sites that right higher on ______ ________

YOUtility content as a link-building method

a type of marketing that is wanted by customers because it helps them solve their problems; useful information that creates long-term trust and a kinship between your company and your customers -know the right problems to solve through keyword research

principles of good webpage design: customer segments

a webpage must address the needs for a variety of customers and potential customers, whose needs and interests vary sharply -Netflix example: some visitors to Netflix are potential customers who want to know more about the service, while some visitors are already signed up and just want to sign-in and watch their show -join free for a month prominent, and sign-in smaller in upper right. Netflix is dedicating their homepage to new customers with the join free button, but still addresses the needs of their current customers with the sign in button

ecommerce KPI's: average order value

a website can increase the amount of money it makes from each transaction either from 1) enticing shoppers to purchase additional items or 2) enticing shoppers to purchase higher-priced items

principles of good webpage design: three questions

a website is most likely to convert if it provides clear answers to these three questions with information easily found above-the-fold (portion of a website that can be seen without having to scroll down) 1. What are you offering? 2. Why should I pick you? 3. What do you want me to do next?

broadcast emails

announcements, notifications, and messages to entire database or segment of total database -category promotions/offers -getting feedback/sending general surveys -user policy updates -newsletters/digests -announcements & invitations - sales, events and PR -scheduled tips and tricks -contests

triggered emails

automated emails that are ________ based on specific events, such as an action taken (or not) by a website visitor, or a meaningful change in a customer's behavior or profile -welcoming & onboarding users -cart abandonments -personalized offers & recommendations -transactional messages -re-orders and renewals -remarketing -engaging inactive users

methods for link building: manufactured links

because of their low quality, _______ links are best to be avoided. many sites have been penalized for automating the creation of these links -Ex: blog comments, forum signatures, free article directories, & creation of a secondary site

SEO: meta description

become the two lines of descriptive text Google displays to potential customers -use consumer friendly language -use keywords that you used in your page title-these become bolded -leverage your unique value propositions (the reason people want to use your company vs the competitor) -communicate this in 160 characters or less -goal is to get the click-through

content strategy

brings the social media strategy to life. its the who, what, and how -who is our target consumer (buyer persona)? -who is the content for? -what messages are going to resonate? -how does this message further our goals?

psychology of social media: emotion

caring leads to sharing -you should be thinking about crafting messages that make people feel something -emotional things get shared -your product may have great functionality, but sometimes its good to focus on the feeling of your messaging -its important to think about how to trigger the right emotions because triggering the wrong emotions can lead to negative outcomes

elements of a good email: email message body

communicate your message; goal: get the click-through -meet expectations set by subject line -reiterates CTA/promise -establishes relevancy -talk in 2nd person (you, your) -short & sweet -designed with standard practices in mind (CTA buttons, visually interesting, responsive for mobile devices)

segmented emails

customers on an email list differ greatly from one another in many respects -products purchased -location -demographics -device -communication preferences -time of day/day of week they open email -keeps your list responsive, your ROI strong, and keeps a steady flow of email revenue

ecommerce KPI's: sessions

each visit to the website is a potential sale, so a ______ site should always be looking to increase the number of sessions to its site

marketing automation

enables businesses to automate tasks and workflows for the marketing and sales process, including prospect and customer profiling on landing pages, lead scoring, sending automated personalized emails and web recommendations to support lead nurturing and customer engagement

white hat link building

ethical; honors webmaster guidelines; efforts today will pay off for years to come; slower but more sustainable Examples: -YOUtility marketing: marketing that solves peoples problems

prospecting

finding brand new customers, or "prospects" that don't know about you already -upper funnel -goal is reach and impressions -terrible ROAS (return on ad spend)

lead generation KPI's: conversion rate

for a ______ _______ site, a conversion is a generated lead -lead can be converted in many ways, such as filling out a form on the website or by calling the company directly

media site KPI's: sessions

for a _______ site, repeat sessions from the same user are just as beneficial as a session from a new user, so it should care about generating a high number of sessions of any kind

3 goals of every website

generate conversions, drive traffic, & make money

retargeting

getting people who already know about you to take action -middle & bottom of the funnel -goal is traffic and conversions -great ROAS (return on ad spend)

elements of a good email: landing page

goal: make money, drive conversions -meet expectation set by subject line & email message -reiterates CTA/promise -designed with standard best practices in mind (CTA buttons, visually interesting, & responsive for mobile devices)

micro-conversions

highly valuable (usually small) actions that a consumer can take on the path to purchase -path to purchase: awareness -> consideration -> purchase -> loyalty & advocacy -ex: email opt ins, reading product reviews, watching a video, following a company on their social media accounts -purpose: to move a consumer down the path to purchase -extremely important for high-price items

lead generation KPI's: users

in _____ ________, repeat sessions from the same user typically are not beneficial because additional leads from the same person do not generate additional revenue -should be looking to increase the number of users to the site and not sessions

ecommerce KPI's: conversion rate

increasing the percentage of users who complete a transaction is extremely beneficial for a _______ website -should be constantly striving for ways to improve conversion rates, typically through A/B testing of various aspects of the site

CAN SPAM act

law that sets the rules for commercial email that establishes requirements for commercial messages, gives recipients the right to have you stop emailing them, and spells out tough penalties for violations

Pay per click (PPC)

like an auction because you are bidding against other competitors

methods for building links: editorial links

links that are given simultaneously by another webmaster because they like the page's content 1. Create linkable content: -Visual content: such as infographics; more interesting to read, to look at, and more likely to be shared -Expertise: expert knowledge/advice summarized on one page can be very helpful; very valuable for ranking purposes -Videos: inherently more interesting than any other type of content -Press releases: if a business is doing something unique or newsworthy, a press release will notify news organizations of that event & posted on news site 2. Greasing the wheels: if a webpage has buzz-worthy content, a webmaster can take additional steps to maximize exposure and potential for link acquisition -Provide embed code for visual content -do some networking with other website owners -follow up with any website that has linked to your content -investigate the competition & examine their links

responsive web design

method of coding elements of a webpage (text, images, navigation, and so forth) to detect the website visitors screen size and automatically resizing and rearranging those elements to optimize their display

content strategy, social media strategy & buyer personas

need to know buyer personas and social media strategy before beginning content strategy

marketing funnel

not the same as a conversion funnel -upper funnel: awareness -mid funnel : engagement & consideration -bottom funnel: conversion, loyalty & advocacy

email marketing: list growth strategies - sign-up form on facebook

on facebook, "add your email to be the first to know about our specials!"

email marketing: list growth strategies - traditional opt-in

opt-in form usually in the footer of a website; not highly effective -passive -assumes visitors will stay and scroll to bottom -hard to show a strong call-to-action -do it anyway; it is where most consumers will look who want to opt-in

principles of good webpage design: mobile vs desktop webpage

optimize mobile sites through responsive web design (RWD) -responsive web design is a method of coding elements of a webpage (text, images, navigation) to detect the website visitors screen size and automatically resizing and rearranging those elements to optimize their display -reroute mobile users to a mobile-specific URL or app -designers need to be aware of differences among mobile vs desktop users -mobile users less likely to make a purchase on their phones, they make be looking for a physical store where they can make a purchase

psychology of social media: social currency

people want to be smart, cool, and savvy. that motivates us to share and engage with things -think about your product and how it makes people look cool to be talking about it -you need to delve into your brand and figure out how to craft messages that make people feel like insiders -when people feel like insiders, they appear to their friends that they know about interesting things, increasing their social capital

principles of good webpage design: conversion rate optimization

practiced by virtually all major websites through continual A/B testing -A/B testing: you take an existing webpage (the "A" version of the page) and you make a change to some element of the page that you believe could improve conversion (the "B" version) and after running the test, the page with the highest conversion rate should be picked -continual A/B testing should be done to learn which webpage designs and layouts yield higher conversion rates

conversion funnel

provides a useful way to divide the purchase procedure into steps so a web team can analyze where in the process consumers are having difficulty or are abandoning the purchase procedure -ex: viewed shopping cart -> manage address page -> payment information page -> review order -by looking at the checkout procedure step by step, a website can determine where the biggest fallout points are and proceed with A/B testing to determine if small changes can improve its conversion numbers

match types: exact

query has to very closely match the keyword you're bidding on -Ex: keyword = [under armour cleats] & query = [under armour cleats] -lowest reach, sharp targeting

SEO: page title

shows up at the top of the browser when one navigates to that page; become the blue link users click on -the #1 most important SEO factor for ranking well -receives heavy weighing in calculating relevance, so a webpage should have the target keyword phrase in the ______ _______. -keyword phrase should be first thing in ______, unless it is a household brand name and their name has a higher search volume

psychology of social media: stories

simply sharing information is boring -think about how to tell a story...people love sharing stories! -think of creative ways to embed your product or ideas in stories that people want to tell -the underlying factor in all the most viral content is the story -but you don't want to create a story that has people talking about the story and sharing it, but not talking about the organization behind it -to avoid this you want the brand or product benefit to be woven so deeply into the narrative that people cant tell the story without mentioning it

cookies

small amount of data generated by a website and saved by your web browser. Its purpose is to remember information about you, similar to a preference file created by a software application. -store login information for a site, user preferences for a specific site, etc)

media site KPI's: conversions

some _____ websites may want users to sign up for regular emails, or to create an account, or to pay for a premium membership -will want to set up a goal on the site to track the # of conversions that occur

ecommerce KPI's: revenue per session

take conversion rate * average order value -ex: conversion rate of 5% and average order value of $50; 0.5 * 50 = $2.50 -must know this number because it will determine whether new traffic driven through additional advertising is profitable -if a website has a 50% gross margin, it makes $1.25 profit for every session on average, so it should not spend more than $1.25 to generate a visit to the site

lead generation KPIs: revenue per session

take conversion rate * the close rate * the closed deal value -ex: conversion rate of 15%, close rate of 25%, closed deal value of $200. -0.15 * 0.25 * 200 = $7.50 -site should not spend more than $7.50 for each website visitor it acquires through advertising or other channels

match types: phrase

the keyword phrase you're bidding on has to appear in the consumers query for your ad to show -Ex: keyword = "under armour cleats" & query = "under armour cleats on sale" -2nd lowest reach, 2nd for sharpest targeting

lead generation KPI's: close rate

the percentage of leads that convert into revenue for the company

search engine optimization

the process of maximizing the number of visitors to a particular website by ensuring that the site appears high on the list of results returned by a search engine.

SEO: text of a site

the text that appears on the landing page -not just enough to have text, but to have text that is keyword rich -keyword usage should be consistent across body text, meta descriptions, and page titles -use natural language

match types: modified broad match

the word(s) being modified have to closely match words in the consumers query for the ad to show -Ex: keyword = +under+armour cleats & query = ua football cleats -2nd highest reach, second highest for broad targeting

match types: broad

the words you're bidding on have to appear in the query, but in any order and with anything in between -Ex: keyword = under armour cleats & query = does under armour sell cleats for boys -highest reach, broad targeting

elements of a good email: subject lines

they're a marketers ticket for standing out in a crowded inbox; goal: to get the open -straight forward & descriptive -short & sweet -use a familiar sender name -start with action-oriented verbs (think CTA's) -creates urgency -piques curiousity -an offer -personalization

psychology of social media: public

think about how to make your product or idea more public -the more visible your product is, the more likely people will want to imitate it -if you're constantly thinking about how to make your products more visible as possible in the public sphere, you'll effectively create a product that markets itself

psychology of social media: practical value

think about how you can create content to make your product look useful -you should be creating content that shows others how your product will save them time & money, improve their health, etc. -when a product is useful and has practical value, people will spread the word for you

social media strategy: bottom of the funnel

this is where you really need to track the revenue from your efforts -social proof (employee spotlight, regulars know best, pick of the day posts) -product spotlight: show how your product can fit into the audiences day-to-day lifestyle -discount -respond -retargeting -educate about product uses

lead generation KPI's: closed deal value

this value is external to the company but can still affect the websites decisions, so the website manager should track and know it

methods for building links: manual links

though these types of links may do less to improve rankings than editorial links, they are more reliable & easier to acquire than editorial links & can still provide a rankings boost. Do require some caution because they can generate a high-number of low quality links putting a site in a bad-link neighborhood. 1. Submitting to directories: websites that catalog links to other sites; sites should only be submitted to directories that are likely to actually send traffic to the website (rather than just provide a link) 2. Local business profiles: most search engines allow business owners to create and manage profiles to provide better information for their map services; should create profiles & ensure information is complete and accurate 3. Social bookmarking sites: pinterest & stumbleupon allow users to save and share links to websites; don't provide much SEO value, but good source of legitamite traffic & can help others find their content 4. Social networking sites: an active social media presence signals to search engines that a website or business is legitimate and deserves to rank well 5. Asking for links 6. Trading links 7. Guest blogging

email marketing: list growth strategies - webinars & courses

to register for the webinar & course, must add email

affiliate marketing: cost per action (CPA) - how it works

traffic is sent through a 3rd party tracking platform -customer notices/follows affiliate, affiliate get the sale for the merchant, and the merchant gives the affiliate a commission for the sale

social media strategy: middle of the funnel

turning fans and followers into leads examples: -B2B: ebook, video, free course, webinar, consultation, free giveaway in exchange for an email address or contact info) -B2C: offer, giveaway or contest, free sample -intrigue with exclusive research -events -retargeting

black hat link building

unethical; violates webmaster guidelines; might work for a short period of time; will ultimately lead to a penalty Examples: -Exchanging money for links or posts that contain links or sending someone a "free" product in exchange for them writing about it & including a links -Excessive link exchanges or partner pages exclusively for the sake of cross-linking -Large-scale article marketing or guest posting campaigns w/ keyword rich anchor text links -Using automated programs or services to create links to your site

email marketing: list growth strategies - checkout opt-in

when going to checkout, can check a box to receive emails

psychology of social media: triggers

when people are chatting, they'll often talk about whatever comes to their mind, so the more often they're reminded of your product, the more they'll talk about it -create a trigger (helps to resolve a pain point) to stay top of mind

the 3 factors that go into a great search experience: users

without ______, a search engine is useless

the 3 factors that go into a great search experience: quality

without being able to determine a high ______ website from a poor _______ website, search engines will lose users

the 3 factors that go into a great search experience: relevance

without being able to return highly _________ results for a search engines query, search engines will lose users


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