AAU official test

Ace your homework & exams now with Quizwiz!

How many completed rally/rallies must take place between two Libero replacements if the Libero is not replacing the player in Position I in preparation to serve the next rally?

1

How many time outs may each team request per set

2

How many time outs per set

2

The first team hit for Team B was contacted simultaneously by two teammates, how many more team contacts does Team B have?

2

How wide are the lines on the court?

2 inch

What is the minimum size of the service zone

2 meter

In a school gymnasium, the volleyball court is within the basketball court. The basketball backboards are down over the service area and are below 15'. After Team A's first contact, the volleyball contacted the basketball hoop over Team A's service area and landed on the floor. It could be assumed that the Team A's Libero would have been able to contact the volleyball if it did not hit the basketball hoop. What decision should be made?

A replay is called because the overhead obstruction is below 15 feet, and in the R1's judgment, the ball would have been played by Team A's Libero had the obstruction not been present

Complete the rule: "Blocking is the action of players close to the net to intercept the ball coming from the opponent by reaching higher than the top of the net, regardless of the height of the ________________."

Ball contact

A set is won when a team reaches 25 points winning by two points or the set cap of 27 points and in the deciding set reaches 15 points winning by two points or the set cap of 17 points. True or false

False

All defaulted matches that are two sets out of three will have a match result of 0-2 or 1-2, depending when the default occurs. True or false

False

Blocking contact is considered a teams first hit? True or false

False

During Team B's exclusive warm-up on the court, Team A must shag volleyballs for their opponent True or false

False

If a yellow card was given by the R1 for a minor misconduct during the match, the R1 can give a 2nd yellow card for another minor misconduct. True or false

False

Misconduct sanctions are in effect for the entire set and reset starting the next set. True or false

False

Misconduct sanctions are in effect for the entire set and reset starting the next set. True or false

False

Players are allowed to stand in front of the bench area during play. true or false

False

The free zone beyond the playable area is a secondary surface more than 1.25 cm (1/2") higher than the primary surface and free of obstructions. The referee deems the secondary surface is a playable area. True or false

False

The scoreboard is the official score of the game? True or false

False

The server is allowed to toss the ball twice after the beckon for serve. True or false

False

When Team B has exclusive use of the court during warm-up, Team A can warm-up with volleyballs in the team's bench area or spectator area. True or false

False

Team A requested a substitution. Team A #7 entered the game for Team A #3. The Team A coach then realized they wanted another substitution and sent Team A #12 into the substitution zone. The R2 waved off the 2nd substitution attempt. What should be assessed?

Improper Request

Team B's Libero served in Position II for #7. Later on, Team B's Libero also served in Position V for #9. Three points were scored by the Libero serving for #9 before committing a service error and a point was awarded to Team A. The scorekeeper then notified the officials of the fault. What steps should the officials take?

Notify the Team B coach and captain that the Libero served in two rotation spots and the three points awarded to Team B when the Libero served in Position V (#9) will be taken away. The Libero will only be allowed to serve in Position II.

During Set 1, Team A #4 was injured and replaced by an exceptional substitution. Team A #4 is not allowed to...

Re-enter the match

A front row player from Team A and a front row player from Team B are simultaneously jousting a ball completely above the height of the net. After the contact, the ball rolls down the net into the antennae. What call should the R1 make?

The R1 calls a double fault and the rally is replayed.

While checking the line-up for the start of the 1st set, the R2 recognizes that Team A #7 is on the court, but it is supposed to be Team A #17. The Team A head coach wants #7 on the court. What should be done by the R2?

The R2 places Team A #17 on the court and whistles for a substitution. Team A #7 is substituted for Team A #17. No delay sanctions are given.

Where can the coach sit during a match?

The coach may sit anywhere on the team bench, but may also stand or walk in the team bench area up to and including the warm-up area

How close are coaches allowed to stand to the sideline during play?

The coach must be no closer than 1.75 meters away from the sideline.

An exceptional substitution is counted as an individual entry and as part of the total team substitutions. true or false

false

The Team B head coach notices during warm-ups that Team A's uniforms are not legal because the color of the numbers, dark purple, is not clearly distinctive or contrasting enough to their jerseys, black. The match referee determines the uniforms are legal. The Team B coach files a protest since the jerseys do not comply with the rules and the referee did not interpret the rule properly. The referee accepts the protest. true or false

false

How long do delay sanctions remain in effect ?

The entire matc

What is not allowed to be protested?

The judgement of the official on ball handling calls.

What protests should not be accepted by the R1

The legality of the opposing teams uniform

A blocking player may touch the ball beyond the net, provided they do not interfere with the opponent's play before or during the opponent's attack hit. true or false

true

How many team representatives can join the team captain at the captains' meeting?

There is no limit on the number of team representatives.

In a contest for 14 and under age groups, the following is NOT TRUE when it comes to a service attempt

They are allowed to catch a service tossing error.

A junior volleyball athlete participating in a junior event may wear jewelry provided its nature does not present a concern for safety. Jewelry such as long necklaces, necklaces with large medallions, and large hoop earrings are not allowed. True or false

True

A volleyball club's uniform includes the volleyball team's club logo on the front right leg of the team's shorts or athletic/sports pants. One of the players playing on the court does not have the team's logo on their shorts or athletic/sports pants during the AAU National Championships, but the rest of the team has identical shorts or athletic/sports pants on. The referee should allow the player without the logo on their shorts or athletic/sports pants to play. True or false

True

Before the match, the captain that wins the coin toss can decide to serve, receive, or start on a specific side of the court. True or false

True

The Libero is allowed to wear different color shorts or athletic/sports pants from the rest of the team. For example, the Libero wears red shorts or athletic/sports pants, and the rest of the team wears black shorts or athletic/sports pants. True or false

True

The action of playing the ball includes (among others) take-off, hit (or attempt) and landing safely, ready for a new action. True or False

True

The ball is out of play when the ball contacts the ceiling or any obstruction after a team's third hit. True or false

True

Volleyball teams are allowed to wear identical sponsor logos of any size on their uniforms as long as they do not obstruct the view of the uniform number. True or false

True

How high are the numbers on the back of jerseys?

4 - 6 inches and centered

What is the proper psi for a volleyball?

4.26 -4.61 psi

For juniors' competitions, how many coaches/staff personnel can be on the roster?

5

Over the age of 14 how long do you have to serve

8 seconds

During a rally, play is stopped due to an errant ball entering the court and interfering with play. The referee calls a replay. Before the referee whistles for service, Team A can request...

A line up check

The head coach for Team B screams defamatory and insulting words towards the R1 about ball handling judgment. The R1 should assess the following?

A yellow and red card together (expulsion) for offensive conduct.

If a positional fault is discovered before the opponent serves, all of the following are cancelled on the scoresheet subsequent to the positional fault EXCEPT

A. Individual misconduct sanctions

The setter has a towel tucked in their shorts to keep their hands dry during the set. During a rally, the towel falls to the floor. What should the R1 do?

Allow play to continue if the R1 believes the towel does not create a safety hazard. Pick up the towel after the rally and allow play to continue. If the towel creates a safety hazard, stop play and the R1 may assess a delay sanction.

At a local event, the attack line is not extended past the sidelines, what should the referee do?

Allow play to continue, attack line extensions are not required.

While attempting to serve receive, Team B's #6 contacted the ball with his/her forearms and his/her head in one playing action. The referee should

Allow play to continue. Multiple contacts are allowed on first team hit provided that the contacts occur during one action

While attempting to serve receive, Team B's #6 contacted the ball with his/her forearms and his/her head in one playing action. The referee should...

Allow play to continue. Multiple contacts are allowed on first team hit provided that the contacts occur during one action.

At an AAU-sanctioned event, the coach may act in place of the game captain to perform which of the following functions

Ask for an explanation of the application or interpretation of the rules To change all or part of the equipment To file a protest To verify the positions of the team

During warm-ups, the R1 notices that the Libero jersey is dark purple and the rest of the team is wearing black. What are the R1's choices regarding the Libero jersey?

Ask the team's coach during the warm-ups if they have an alternate Libero jersey that the Libero can change into. Do not allow the Libero to play because the dark purple Libero jersey is not contrasting to the rest of the team.

Late in the first set, the coach requests a third time-out and the R2 denies the request without whistling. In the second set, the coach requests a 13th substitution. What action should the officials take?

Delay Warning

The center line is not a solid color contrasting line, but is a shadow bordered line. What should the R1 do?

Do not start the match. Ask host management to tape a solid color contrasting line over the shadow bordered line.

Regular game interruptions, time outs or substitutions, may be requested by

Either the game captain or the coach

If a referee stand is not provided by the host institution, what should the R1 do?

Officiate the match from the floor if an appropriate referee stand cannot be provided.

With part of one knee on the attack line, the Team A Libero used an overhand finger pass, and the ball was attacked by a teammate with the ball not higher than the top of the net. The ball lands on Team B's court. What is the result?

Point Team A; ball landed in.

Team A legally serves the ball out of bounds to Team B who commits a positional fault. What call should be made by the referee?

Point Team A; positional fault by Team B.

Team A #7 served the ball. After the contact for service, the R2 whistled for a positional fault on Team B. The served ball landed out of bounds by five feet. None of the Team B players tried to contact the served ball. The R2 then realized that there was not a positional fault and it was an inadvertent whistle. What action should the R1 take

Point for Team B because the served ball landed out of bounds, and the R1 judged that the inadvertent whistle did not affect play or penalize either team.

Team A #7 served the ball. After the contact for service, the R2 whistled for a positional fault on Team B. The served ball landed out of bounds by five feet. None of the Team B players tried to contact the served ball. The R2 then realized that there was not a positional fault and it was an inadvertent whistle. What action should the R1 take?

Point for Team B because the served ball landed out of bounds, and the R1 judged that the inadvertent whistle did not affect play or penalize either team.

The court has championship banners hanging approximately 18' above Team A's playable area. During the rally, Team A's third contact contacted one of the championship banners and landed on Team B's side. What call should the official make?

Point for Team B. The ball contacted an overhead

The court has championship banners hanging approximately 18' above Team A's playable area. During the rally, Team A's third contact contacted one of the championship banners and landed on Team B's side. What call should the official make?

Point for Team B. The ball contacted an overhead obstruction while crossing the plane of the net.

complete junior team consists of a minimum of how many players and coach(es)?

Six players and one coach

If an illegal Libero replacement is recognized by the scorer's table and R2 before the beckon for service, the referees will do the following

Stop the illegal Libero replacement from taking place. Place the correct players on the court. Issue a delay sanction.

The head coach for Team B submits their team's line-up one minute and 30 seconds before the end of the timed warm-up period. What should the R1 do?

Team B should be assessed a Delay Warming before the beckon for first serve.

Can the libero be the team or game captian

Yes


Related study sets

Step 5: English 111 Library Instruction Quiz-Part 2

View Set

Accounting: The Language of Business Self Review

View Set

EXAM 3- Ch9 Part 2 Review Animations & Quiz: DNA Recombination

View Set

Chapter 8 - Working Capital Mgmt

View Set

Chapter 15 AP Comp Sci - Working with Methods

View Set

Oxford Word Skills Advanced - Unit 21 I can talk about holidays

View Set