Digital Marketing Final Exam Study Guide

Ace your homework & exams now with Quizwiz!

Do social media platforms offer remarketing?

Yes most SM platforms offer it!

Why is it important to provide your brand's identity (sender's email address) in EM?

don't conceal your identity--> use a valid email address rather than no-reply

List some social listening KPIs.

- Volume -sentiment -changes in volume and sentiment - topic

What is an app? Compare it to a MoW.

-App - 'a self-contained program or piece of software designed to fulfill a particular purpose'. -Everything that lives on your phone is an app, including the feature that makes phone calls and sends messages, the camera & the GPS

List some potential social media objectives for firms.

-Additional purchases -Purchase frequency -Improve CSAT -Customer feedback -Increase referrals & loyalty -Reach New Customers & Leads -Provide Product Information & Support: research, product design, service enhancement - Building Brand Equity: Brand awareness, Reputation management, Brand personality development, Engagement

How does SMM help with brand reputation management?

-Any conversation with a company employee on the SM profile reflects on the company itself - training -Requires significant resources --> 24x7 monitoring

What is a FB business page? How is it different from a personal FB page?

-A company can have multiple pages - e.g., one for each product category -Cannot send friend requests but page admin can send requests to 'Like' the page -Page Like - sort of a subscription where consumer allows brand content to occur in their news feed -FB favors content from friends over content from companies -A company post is shown to only 1-2% of FB followers

What constitutes the ABC of GA? Revisit your GA certification notes here.

-ACQUISITION - building awareness and acquiring consumer interest -BEHAVIOR - how do users engage with your business -CONVERSION - when a user becomes a customer and transacts with your business

Chapter 12: What is Mobile Marketing (MM)?

"A set of practices that enables organizations to communicate with and engage with their audiences in an interactive and relevant manner through and with any mobile device or network"

What is the difference between opt-in and opt-out? Is one strategy (pull vs. push) better than the other? Why?

- "Opt-in" is the process used to describe when a positive action is required in order to subscribe a user to a newsletter list, for example. "Opt-out" on the other hand means that a user can be signed up much more easily and he needs to be given the possibility to opt-out easily. - The primary difference between push and pull marketing lies in how consumers are approached. In push marketing, the idea is to promote products by pushing them onto people. ... On the other hand, in pull marketing, the idea is to establish a loyal following and draw consumers to the products.

On what accounts does Twitter differ from FB and other social media platforms?

- Public Nature: Broadcasting and socializing, so more post exposure than FB -140 characters - expanded to 280 -Does not distinguish between personal and corporate profile - open to spamming - From @ to # and retweeting

What are some good practices for email subscriber management?

- Stay relevant and prune your list periodically -Quality over quantity10,000 subscribers with 1% interaction rate vs. 1,000 with 30%?

What are the three specific ways to target consumers on FB? Know each type.

- core audiences: select your audience manually based on characteristics, such as age and location - customer audiences: upload you contacts list to connect with your customers on facebook - look alive audiences: use your customer info to find people similar to them on facebook

What is channel analysis?

- visits to a site might be generated from all of the following sources: 1. organic search 2. paid search ads (google ads or bing ads) 3. display ads 4. emails 5. social media posts 6. social media advertising 7. external links 8. affiliate links

What is the difference between broadcast and targeted emails? Which is better?

-A broadcast message is a single message that is sent to an entire list of people at the same time. ... A broadcast is generally the best option when you need to send the same message to everyone at the same time -A targeted email is a personalized message sent to a particular segment of your mailing list. Such emails are highly customized; they deliver relevant offers which bring value to subscribers. -Targeted has a higher conversion and open rate

Define KPIs. Know what KPIs are more relevant for different types of websites. Also, revisityour KPI sheet here - available under 'Class Activities & HW' folder on BB.

-Are defined by the type of website and its goals -Retail websites and lead generation websites want their users to engage in different behaviors -KPIs - metrics that the website considers to be most important measures of its success

What is attribution reporting? Why is it important?

-Attribution models assign value to each channel that played a role in the purchasing path, and they provide varying frameworks for assessing and evaluating each channel.

What is a branded app? Give examples.

-Branded apps typically reflect the brand's identity and feature its values, colours, logo, visual identity and style, slogan, and more -example: starbucks, amazon, walmart

Why should marketers focus on MM?

-Citigroup found that: -TV took 13 years to reach 50 million users -FB took 3.5 yearsAngry Birds tool just 35 days!

What are some of the recommended ways to build a subscriber list for EM? Which methodsshould be avoided?

-Collect email addresses at trade shows and other events -Include social sharing buttons on emails -Include "Email to friends" button on emails -Email lists for sale --> faster route to Spam traps --> not recommended! -Don't buy or share lists -your email list is your Intellectual Property (IP)

What are the different types of goals that can be tracked through GA? Know with examples.

-Destination: Thank you for registering! - Duration: 10 minute or longer spent of support site -Page/Screens per session: 5 pages have loaded -Event: Social recommendation, video play, ad click

How does Pinterest help marketers in their SMM efforts? What are promoted pins?

-Digital scrapbook - Visual consumption -Majority audience - females -Pins for content on company's own Pinterest page -Offering Pin it button next to content on the company website -Pin URL and Re-pins -Promoted pins (CPM, CPC or CPE) -Shop the look pins

How can companies incentivize owned social media?

-Discounts and giveaways as incentives -In-store CTAs

What softwares do marketers use for conducting social media analytics? (Know about platform-specific analytics options as well as multi-source software options like Hootsuite)

-FB analytics dashboard- insights -Twitter analytics dashboard- tweet activity - hoot suite, tweetdeck, sproutsocial

How do companies use GA for segmented analysis?

-Geography -New vs. returning sessions -Timing -Browser -Screen size -Device

What are some different social media goals employed by firms? Know with examples.

-Goal or strategy ex. mcdonalds v. wendys -Product information and support -customer service ex. delta book flight through fb -customer feedback - idea generation ex. lays choose you chip

How do marketers track their business goals through GA?

-Goal: a defined objective (ex. a sale or a sign up)

What is Google Analytics (GA)? Why is it so popular?

-Google Analytics is a free web analytics service that provides tracking, statistics, and basic analytical tools for a website traffic and conversion, search engine optimization (SEO), advertising ROI, as well as for social networking sites and mobile applications -It's free -It's an industry standard -Simple to use and highly customizable -Integrates well with other Google products (AdWords) -Online tutorials and support

What is the difference between a hard and a soft Bounce? What is a non-opening email? Whatdo you do about these subscribers from which you receive bounces and non-opens?

-Hard Bounce --> permanently rejected due to an invalid/fake email or because the recipient blocked you - Soft Bounce --> temporarily rejected because recipient's inbox is full, server is down or your email is bulky as per recipient's size limits -Non-opening --> not opened in several months -REMOVE THESE SUBSCRIBERS FROM YOUR LIST

Why would a customer opt-in for EM? List some incentives.

-INCENTIVES -Discounts -Coupons -Online contest or giveaway -Free ebook or whitepaper -Online webinar

How does SMM help with SEO?

-If one of your pieces goes viral on social media, you might see your link re-posted many times over by different individuals - but do these social media- based links pass authority in the same way as their domain-rooted counterparts? -SM activity does affect SEO but the effect is relatively small. -Posting for SEO on SM is recommended only when: 1. Company is already doing everything from on- site and off-site SEO standpoint for its website 2. Company depends on local search results

What is the importance of tracking relevant KPIs through digital analytics across all consumertouch points and stages in their buying and decision-making process?

-KPIs as hard numerical targets help to continually benchmark against one's past performance -Series of actionable insights working to achieve KPI benchmarks help justify decisions and expenses

How does FB determine the content to be presented on a consumer's news feed?

-Large user base--Higher user engagement -Ownership - Instagram and WhatsApp -FB Content Types 1. Content posted by friends 2. Other content liked by friends 3. Content from pages you liked 4. Paid for ads

Explain the POE media framework. Where does social media fit into this framework?

-paid, owned, earned framework -Paid media: social media advertising, paid search marketing, displace advertising, affiliate marketing - Owned media: website, social media profiles, email marketing -earned media: social media sharing, direct traffic, search engine optimization, press coverage

What are the different types of attribution models available to choose from?

-Last interaction: attribute 100% of value to the last channel before conversion or sale -first interaction: help u understand which campaign create initial awareness for your brand -linear: designed to maintain contact and awareness with the customer throughout entire sale cycle -position based: used to asset credit for different parts of the customer journey -time decay: assigner most credit to touchpoint that occurring nearest to the time of conversion -customized model

What is a MoW? What is the difference between an adaptive and a responsive design? Knowwith examples.

-Mobile-optimized-Website: When existing site uses technologies such as JavaScript to optimize content for mobile devices -Adaptive Approach: Different website versions for desktop and mobile -Problems: two sets of content to manage & mobile user sees a substandard site version -Responsive Approach: When users browse from desktop or a mobile device, they reach the same place but see content ordered differently based on the device they are using

How do companies utilize the paid aspects of FB for advertising? What is a boosted post?

-Option 1 - Boost posts A boosted post is a post to your Page's timeline that you can apply money to in order to boost it to an audience of your choosing -Option 2 - Ads (CPC or CPM) -FB advertising is unique: 1. Many targeting options 2. Friend's endorsements 3. FB Canvas - full-screen, immersive ads for mobile

What are the different ways of distributing and promoting your content on social media? Know with examples under the POE framework.

-Paid media: proper targeting demographics, interest, and behaviors -Owned media: follow does not mean engagement. engage with incentives - contests, in person CTAs -Encouraging customers to talk about you. positive and negative implications

How is consumer segmentation and targeting achieved under EM?

-Refresh your segments periodically and reapply relevant segmentation criteria. -Market segmentation and targeting refer to the process of identifying a firm's potential customers, choosing the customers to pursue, and create value for the targeted customers. It is achieved through the segmentation, targeting, and positioning (STP) process.

What do you know about the CAN-SPAM act?

-SPAM - The death of email marketing -CAN-SPAM Act 2003: requires the senders of commercial e-mail messages to offer an "opt-out" option to recipients of those messages.

What kind of data is collected by GA?

-Session starts when consumer lands on the page that includes the tracking code -Supplemental information: -Consumer identity - cookies (repeat visits) -Timing of request (timestamps) -Navigation source (search engine, paid ads etc.) -Technical info (OS, browser, screen size, internet connection type) -Geography (zip code)

How do companies decide their SM content plan?

-Tone -Legal restrictions -Response and formatting guidelines

List some ways of maintaining an active and current email subscriber list.

-Use double opt-in -Provide unsubscribe option in every email -Comply immediately with unsubscribe requests

What advantages does YouTube provide as a social media platform?

-Video content hub -"Anyone with a videocamera is a filmmaker!" -Ads within videos or own YouTube channel

Chapter 3 Analytics: Define web analytics. How is digital analytics different from web analytics?

-Web Analytics is the process of measuring, collecting, analyzing, and reporting the behavior of visitors on a website -Digital Analytics is the analysis of qualitative and quantitative data from your business and the competition to drive a continual improvement of the online experience that your customers and potential customers have, which translates to your desired outcomes (both online and offline).

How does GA work? What is GA tracking?

-Website tracking is not automatic -Web developer needs to install a small piece of web analytics program into every website page that needs to be tracked - html code (tracking code) into the HEAD tag -This code collects information on the users who visit your page/s and sends it to GA

How do brands advertise on Twitter? What are promoted tweets?

-cards as promoted tweets - promoted accounts - promoted trends

How does CRM work with EM? What do you mean by lead nurturing? What is marketing automation?

-marketing ( generate leads, nurture leads) --> sales (qualify leads, convert leads)--> customer support (train customers, upset/ cross- sell) - Lead nurturing: the process of developing relationships with buyers at every stage of the sales funnel, and through every step of the buyer's journey. -Marking Automation: ability to send time or action triggered emails to subscribers with relevant information.

How are conversion rates calculated? Know about the intermediate conversion rates (micro-conversion rates) for each step in the conversion funnel.

-taking the number of conversions and dividing that by the number of total ad interactions that can be tracked to a conversion during the same time period. For example, if you had 50 conversionsfrom 1,000 interactions, your conversion rate would be 5%, since 50 ÷ 1,000 = 5%. -image

What are the four different types of emails? Know each one with examples.

1. Broadcast email--> individual email you send to a group of subscribers in your contact list 2. Transactional email--> personalized and typically sent to individuals one at a time. Ex. Amazon and BuzzFeed 3. Triggered email--> sent automatically based on pre-defined events or conditions met by an individual through certain behaviors, actions, or other signals. ex. abandoned cart--> Offer coupon Incentives, Past purchase --> Welcome back! 4. Onboarding email--> Welcome offer, connect on social media, download mobile app, refer to friends (additional rewards), reminder of welcome offer, explanation of website features

What is the scope of SMM? What can companies use it for?

1. Creation of content/posts for the company's social media pages - Create a customer◦ Increase consumer value and loyalty -Improving customer engagement -Supplementing SEO efforts 2. Paid ads on social media platforms -Attracting new customers -Increasing consumer purchases 3. Brand reputation management

What are the three basic steps involved in EM?

1. Cultivate a list of email addresses ("Opt-in") 2. Optimize email content to maximize consumer response and ROI 3. Ensure that company emails arrive smoothly to areceipt's inbox (Working with Spam filters)

How do consumer expectations and behaviors differ on mobile devices compared to laptops anddesktops?

1. Impatience: "What can you do for me right now?" 2. Search at fingertips: "Let me look it up" 3. Location matters: "Where amI?" 4. Snacking rather than feasting: "Did you see that meme?" 5. Rich media works: "Ooh, a video!!" -Search expectations and behaviors - short and to-the-point answers -Sessions - shorter, greater in number and more random compared to desktop sessions which are fewer and longer -However, one of these short sessions can be ripe for influence -Targeting!

What are some of the challenges of MM?

1. Less information 2. Slower typing 3. Fat-finger clicking 4. Slower page loading and submission -Smaller processor -Slow internet connection/ network

List the four content types used in SMM with examples.

1. Original 2. User-generated 3. Co-created 4. Curated

How do marketers ensure an effective MoW?

1. Prioritize content over navigation 2. Touch vs. click - understand interactions 3. Large tap targets - use white space 4. Remove unnecessary content 5. Quick tasks 6. Consider download speeds, load times, and power usage

How do brands enhance their content value on social media?

1. Utilitarian -Deals and discounts -Contests/drawings -Useful ideas/practices -Product updates 2. Entertainment -Humor -Insider knowledge -News from company icon 3. Community Scheduling Content -Maximize Visibility

How do companies decide on email content?

1. What to send? -Email campaign goal decides your CTA -Content type 2. Whom to send? -Mass or broadcast email -Segmentation 3. When to send? 4. How often to send?

What are the five major components of a social media plan?

1.Determine the objective 2. Choose the SM platform(s) 3. Plan the content 4. Distribute and promote content 5. Measure success

What is the role of tone, legal aspects, and response formats in social media contexts?

?

Chapter 9 & 10: Define Social Media Marketing (SMM).

A form of digital marketing utilizing social networking sites as marketing tools, to gain traffic, brand exposure, and interaction with customers through social media.

What is the difference between single and double opt-in? What are the pros and cons of each?

A single opt-in is a one-step process and only requires a person to enter their email address one time in the signup box on a website. No confirmation is required, and they immediately become a subscriber. A double opt-in involves a two-step process where a person first enters their email in the signup box and then must click on a link in a confirmation email

Chapter 8: What is Email Marketing (EM)?

A structured, systematic process that is one of the most successful channels for delivering highly relevant marketing communications to targeted subscribers

What are the different ad types and placement locations available on FB?

Ad types: Image ad, carousal ad, video ad, slideshow ad, collection ad Placements: Newsfeed, FM Marketplace, FB stories, FB messenger, instagram

What do you mean by email list capture? Know some methods that companies use to capture consumer emails.

Allows you to grow your subscriber list by collecting emailaddresses legally. - Pushing consumers to sign up -Allow Opt-in rather than Opt-out

What is email AOV?

Average order value = revenue/ number of orders

What is the difference between basic metrics and calculated metrics in GA? Know theirdefinitions (e.g., users, pageviews, sessions, and bounce rates).

Basic Metrics: - pageviews (or hits) - anytime a use accesses a page -session - any time a user enters a website, may consists of one or more pageviews - user - someone who creates at least one session, but many make multiple visits or sessions -time on page - amount of time a user spends on a page before navigation to a different page - entry- the first page view of a session, often not the homepage - exit- last page view of a session, often not the homepage Calculated: -Average page depth - pageviews/session (engagement) -Average session duration - Sum of time spent on a page for every pageview in a session -Site bounce rate - Percentage of all sessions that consist of only one pageview -Page bounce rate - Percentage of sessions that begin on that page and consist of only one pageview -Entrance rate - Percentage of pageviews that begin on that page -Exit rate - Percentage of sessions that result in an exit -Unique pageviews - Removing double counts from several page hits in the same session

List some criteria used for consumer segmentation and targeting under EM?

Blast email or targeted? -Past purchases -Past email response -Customer preference -Demographics -Location -Device

What is cross-device attribution?

Cross-device attribution is the measurement and reporting of conversions as they take place after multiple engagements across different devices. For example, a user may click on an ad on one device, but will finish the desired action on another device.

Which social media platform has the highest active user population?

Facebook

What are the different types of goal-driven emails? Know with examples.

Goal-driven (Firm perspective) -Online Retail --> GOAL is conversion ex. loft -Lead Generation --> GOAL is generating a lead ex. Wyndham rewards -Search Engines --> GOAL is brand salience (top of the mind for consumer) ex. priceline.com -Online Media --> GOAL is consumer engagement through time spent on the website ex. readers digest -Online B2B Services --> GOAL is relationship building, lead nurturing ex. hubspot

Name some digital analytics tools available in the market.

Google Analytics, IBM Digital Analytics, Adobe Marketing Cloud, Kissmetrics, Piwik, Facebook Insights, Instagram free analytics tools, hootsuite

What is Google Tag Manager? Look it up online and learn more about it if you can.

Google Tag Manager is a free tool that allows you manage and deploy marketing tags (snippets of code or tracking pixels) on your website (or mobile app) without having to modify the code.

What KPIs should be monitored under EM?

Identify KPIs for email marketing -Open Rate -Total Opens -Unique Opens -Unique Clicks -Total Clicks -Click-to-Open Rate -Conversion Rate -Average Order Value -List Churn

What are the unique characteristics of LinkedIn, Instagram, and Snapchat as SM platforms?

LinkedIn: -Professional consumption -Sponsored content similar to FB ads -Better for B2B contexts Instagram: -Started as a mobile app - simple, clean design -Younger demo - 18-30 years◦ Seamless integration with- FB, Twitter, Tumblr, and Flickr -Filters, sponsored posts -Influencer Marketing Snapchat: -Youngest user base◦ High engagement rate◦ Easy to use editing features -Snaps and Stories -Snap Ads -Snapchat Geofilters -Sponsored Lenses

What is the importance of CTAs and proper links to landing pages in EM?

Match your CTAs and Landing page links

How do you measure SMM success? What specific KPIs are used to measure reach, engagementand loyalty under SMM?

Measuring Reach -Number of likes, subscribes/followers -Follower growth -Impressions/views Measuring Engagement - Re-posts/Re-tweets/Re-Pins -Likes and Comments Measuring Loyalty -Conversion rate -Purchase frequency -AOV

What is the role of IMC and platform synergies under a multi-channel (or omni-channel or cross-channel) social media strategy?

Multi- Channel: sometimes called Omni-channel, cross- channel -the process of building social media campaigns that utilize more than one platform/network/medium to reach new and existing audiences -IMC- Integrated Marketing Communication

What is the difference between Open Rate, CTR, and Conversion Rate in EM? How are these calculated? What are the industry averages for these KPIs?

Open rate: -Email open rate is the percentage of the total number of subscribers who opened an email campaign. -dividing the number of unique opens by the number of emails sent CTR: -Click-through rate (CTR) is the ratio of users who click on a specific link to the number of total users who view a page, email, or advertisement. - # of clicks/ # of delivered emails x 100 Conversion Rate: -refers to the percentage of subscribers who either complete the desired action or become customers, depending on your conversiongoal. - # of conversions/ # of delivered emails x 100

What is Bounce Rate?

Percentage of emails that could not be delivered and were sent back to the ESP - # of bounce/ # of delivered emails x 100

What are the three specific consumer aspects to be kept in mind while designing an email?

Relevancy - Sender familiarity - work priorities - personal priorities -Location -Device (Mobile) Timing - Time of the day --> earl evening -Regular business hours -Weekday or weekend Frequency - Daily, weekly, or monthly

What is Spam?

SPAM - Unsolicited or bulk email that consumers did not ask for - Spam really is in the eye of the beholder - a consumer decides what's spam for him/her

What bidding methods do FB advertisers use? How does FB determine which ad wins?

Similar to GoogleAds -CPM -CPC -CPA (cost per action): app install, video view

What are the similarities and differences in regards to paid advertising on SM?

Similarities: -Similar to GoogleAds platform -Target audience, budgets, bids, ad copy design, ad campaign execution and analysis Differences: -SM platforms have much more information about its users, soad targeting can be more precise -SM ads show up in user feeds, hence the engagement rate is much higher -SM ads allow users to interact and engage with the ad themselves --> FB Canvas Ads or Snapchat lenses

What is social media monitoring and how is it different from social media listening?

Social media monitoring: Caring for your customers by monitoring social media for messages directly related to your brand and responding to those messages appropriately Social media listening: Understanding your audience and improving campaign strategy by accessing the full spectrum of conversation around your industry, brand, and any topics relevant to your brand

What are spam filters and what do they do?

Spam filters are built-in features of email clients that block emails with features such as: -Image & text imbalance -high image to text ratio - Too much formatting - ALL CAPS!! - Atypical attachments - Obscene terms - crazy, free money!!

What is the basic anatomy of an email? How should each of these email aspects be designed?

Subject line -Straightforward -Descriptive -Avoid selling Email body -Appropriate format (images vs. text) -CTAs -Link to landing pages

What is the importance of a subject line in EM?

Subject line should be accurate, informative, A/B test them!

What is the importance of the fold under MM? What is ATF?

The fold on a website refers to the bottom of the screen when a page first loads. Ad space above the fold earn more money as they are more likely to be seen. On MM one ad at most can be place above fold.

What is an ESP? Name some ESPs. What are the advantages of using them?

Third party email platforms (Email Service Providers, ESPs) -Constant Contact - Mail Chimp -Vertical Response Ex. In-house or Internal e.g., Overstock.com Advantages: -Help in collecting and storing email addresses -Creating (attractive templates) emails -Distributing emails (security benefits) -Segmenting email lists -Testing email varieties -Reporting performance -Easy to learn

What is Unsubscribe Rate?

Unsubscribes - those who opted out - #of delivered emails/ # of unsubscribes x 100

Why is email one of the most important digital marketing channels?

While digital landscape keeps evolving, email has remained steadfast. # email accounts worldwide is about 4 billion # of all the social media accounts combined worldwide is about 3 billion An email lands straight into a consumer's inbox

How do companies choose specific social media platforms based on their objectives?

Who are you targeting? -Demographically, Geographically, Psychologically, and or Behaviorally -Nature of social media interactions -UX on FB vs. Pinterest? -Targeting on FB, Viral on YouTube, Influencer Marketing on Instagram, B2B Marketing on LinkedIn, Twitter for SEO and Reputation Management -Platform synergies

What is influencer marketing?

focuses on using key leaders to drive your brand's message to the larger market.

Please revisit the in-class activity and discussion on the various social media platforms - find itunder the 'Class Activities & HW' folder on BB.

ok boomer

Please revisit the in-class activity on email marketing - find it under the 'Class Activities & HW'folder on BB.

ok boomer

Define List Churn.

percentage of email subscribers who have left from your email list over a period of time.

What is SM sentiment analysis?

sentiment analysis quantifies the mood of a tweet or comment by counting the number of positive and negative words. By subtracting the negative from the positive, the sentiment score is generated

What do you mean by social media content mix? How do brands determine their content mix onsocial media?

social media content mix: helps you find the right balance of different elements of content, taking into account your company strategy, audience needs, and available resources For example: BMW is 80 percent product updates, 20 percent insider knowledge


Related study sets

QUIZ 2: LINEAR EQUATIONS AND INEQUALITIES

View Set

Chemistry Chapter 7: Energy, Rate, and Equilibrium

View Set

Acids and Alkalis - (More information at: http://www.educationquizzes.com/ks3/science/acids-and-alkalis-01/ )

View Set

Equations of Parallel and Perpendicular Lines: Quiz

View Set

WordSmart for New GRE (Main words)

View Set

Psychology 321 exam 2 prep chapter 10

View Set