MKT 3308 Final Review

Ace your homework & exams now with Quizwiz!

The benefit of keyword mapping is to organize SEO efforts across the many search phrases the website is targeting All of these options to make sure the most appropriate webpage shows up on the SERP for every search phrase to prevent keyword cannibalization in a website's SEO efforts

All of these options

What is the anchor text of this link: <a href="http://jane.com">Fashion deals</a> <a href> "http://jane.com" Fashion deals </a>

Fashion deals

Of 500 sessions that occurred on a website during a one-week period, 200 of them started on the homepage: 100 of these 200 sessions saw only the homepage before leaving the site. Of the 300 sessions that started on other pages, 100 of them consisted of only one pageview. What is the homepage's entrance rate? 40% 20% 50% 30%

40%

A lead generation website received 1,000 visitors, gained 80 leads, and booked jobs with 20 of those leads. What is the conversion rate and what is the close rate? 8%: 25% 20%: 80% 20%: 25% 8%: 20%

8%: 25%

Instagram can be a top social platform for generating first-time customers even though it has a huge downside in that posts cannot include links to external content images tend not to be engaging for potential customers influencers often prevent adoption of products from major corporations corporate accounts on Instagram do not show up in users' main feed

posts cannot include links to external content

A single-purpose landing page -is the least effective of the landing page types -provides as much information to visitors as possible -directs visitors to one (and usually only one) possible action -is the same as a single-product landing page

directs visitors to one (and usually only one) possible action

The upper fold of a webpage should answer the questions, "What are you offering?" "Why should I pick you?" and -"What are your top sellers?" -"Who is your top competitor?" -"Where is the search bar?" -"What do you want me to do next?"

"What do you want me to do next?"

The primary conversion for a lead generation site is -a form fill on the website -Both a phone call and a form fill -a phone call from a website visitor -a referral to a friend

Both a phone call and a form fill

Which of the following is NOT a dynamic language? -Perl -PHP -Java -HTML

HTML

Why should email marketers remove from their email list any consumers who have not opened an email for several months? Only recipients who have made a purchase within the last month have any chance of ever purchasing again Large databases are difficult to manage, so a company should try to keep email lists as small as possible Including these recipients puts the company at risk of being blocked by spam filters Including these recipients drives down email metrics and makes the email marketer look bad

Including these recipients puts the company at risk of being blocked by spam filters

Why is receiving 100 links from 10 different websites better than receiving 100 links from the same website? Links from 10 websites mean a higher link diversity than links from one website Many links from the same website are a signal of black-hat SEO Search engines only register one link from any given domain, so they only count the 100 links from the same site as a single link. Links from 10 websites are more likely to generate social sharing

Links from 10 websites mean a higher link diversity than links from one website

Why is the engagement of social media followers more important than the number of followers? Having a large number of unengaged followers suppresses earned media. Having a large number of unengaged followers decreases SEO rankings. Most social media platforms do not show company content to followers who are not highly engaged. Seeing a company's posts cannot positively affect customers unless they also click the Like button.

Most social media platforms do not show company content to followers who are not highly engaged.

Which of the following is NOT used when calculating an ad's Quality Score? Landing page experience Organic search ranking Expected CTR Ad relevance

Organic search ranking

Which of the following is NOT an example of direct traffic? -Someone types in the URL of a website into the browser address bar -Someone clicks on a bookmark from his/her browser -Someone taps the mobile application icon on his/her phone -Someone types the name of a website into a search bar and clicks the first link on the search engine results page

Someone types the name of a website into a search bar and clicks the first link on the search engine results page

On Twitter, Partner Audiences allow advertisers to target potential customers based on behaviors that occur outside Twitter. How does Twitter get this information? Twitter users voluntarily provide this information when they register with Twitter Twitter has partnered with third party data providers to access this information The Twitter app hacks this information from other apps on the user's phone Twitter partners with governments to access this information from census data

Twitter has partnered with third party data providers to access this information

Organic search results are typically displayed interspersed with paid ads below the paid ads on page 2 at the top of the SERP

below the paid ads

Good display ad copy does everything EXCEPT invite action pre-convert the consumer attract attention communicate a value proposition

pre-convert the consumer

Which of the following reflects product-centric (as opposed to brand-centric) demand? "I really want The North Face's new ski gloves." "I only shop at L. L. Bean for winter clothes." "I really need a way to stay warmer when I ski." "I need new ski gloves."

"I need new ski gloves."

Page Views

# of times users have visited a webpage. Both unique and repeat.

Paid Search Traffic

# of visitors that come from a paid ad. PPC channels include Goode Adworks & FB Ads

Query

'Search Term'

How many responses are optimal for negative reports on scam reporting websites? 3 or more 1 0 2

1

During a one-week period, a website had 3,000 total pageviews from 500 sessions. What is the site's average page depth? (3,000 + 500)/3000 = 1.17 500/3,000 = .17 (3,000 + 500)/500 = 7 3,000/500 = 6

3,000/500 = 6

Which of the following is NOT an example of reputation management? A company hires a public relations firm to attract news stories about the company so that searches on the company's name will bring up links to the positive news stories instead of negative links A company uses Google Alerts to monitor web mentions of its company and its top executives A company uses its customer service team to respond to negative comments about the company online A company hires a public relations firm to attract news stories about the company so that its homepage ranks better on search results

A company hires a public relations firm to attract news stories about the company so that its homepage ranks better on search results

Outbound Link

A link from you site that allows customers to move to another domain. Often paired with NoFollow

Bots/Spiders

AKA Googlebot or spiders,a bot is a web crawler that discovers new or updated web pages/sites.When one uses a search query googles bot crawls for the most relevant result.

Spider

AKA Web Crawler. Bot that helps search engines index sites. Helps with finding relevant results.

Conversion

Act of a user completing a desired action. Helps show how well the ads are doing and interaction.

Which of the following developments will make consumers more tolerant of notification- based advertising? Ad targeting will improve so that only informative and welcome notifications will be sent Consumers will have their bank accounts connected to notifications so that they will be charged by the notification automatically Notifications will be controlled biometrically Consumers will be unable to turn off notifications from any apps

Ad targeting will improve so that only informative and welcome notifications will be sent

Two advertisers achieve the same 1% CTR on their ads. Advertiser A bids $10 CPM while Advertiser B bids $1.50 CPC. Which advertiser will be awarded more impressions from the ad network? Advertiser A because CPM bidding is preferred by the ad network Advertiser B because CPC bidding is preferred by the ad network Advertiser B because his/her bids are expected to earn the ad network more money Advertiser A because his/her bids are expected to earn the ad network more money

Advertiser B because his/her bids are expected to earn the ad network more money

NoFollow

Allows one site to link to another without influencing their site rank.

Email List

Audience list used for email marketing. Can be opt it, gated content (must input email to download/view), and just who included email in check-out info.

The AIDA model states that the process of creating a customer follows these four steps: -Awareness → Interest → Desire → Action -Anticipation → Interest → Determination → Activity -Aspiration → Innovation → Desire → Activation -Awareness → Intensity → Demonstration → Anticipation

Awareness → --Interest → Desire → Action

The AIDA model states that the process of creating a customer follows these four steps: -Awareness → Interest → Desire → Action -Anticipation → Interest → Determination → Activity -Aspiration → Innovation → Desire → Activation -Awareness → Intensity → Demonstration → Anticipation

Awareness → Interest → Desire → Action

Why is a high bounce back rate a negative signal of a webpage's quality? Because this behavior indicates that the searcher did not like what they saw or find what they were looking for Because this behavior is an indicator that the website might be engaging in click fraud. Because search engine rankings are determined by websites' conversion rate, and a high bounce rate means a low conversion rate Because the search engine must load the SERP again, and this wastes the server's bandwidth.

Because this behavior indicates that the searcher did not like what they saw or find what they were looking for

If I pay to advertise on Google's ad network and I notice a low conversion rate from mobile users despite having a mobile-optimized website, it is likely that mobile users prefer to convert a different way (e.g., purchasing in-store or on a different device) mobile traffic is poorly qualified (e.g., consisting of many fat-finger clicks) Neither of the options Both of the options

Both of the options

Which type of YouTube ad lasts exactly 6 seconds? Bumper ads Overlay ads Skippable video ads Long, non-skippable video ads

Bumper ads

only a few are negative. The organization begins to buy up some of these sites (mostly the positive sites) and redirecting these URLs to their own home URL. What is the downside of this strategy? Redirecting websites is never a good idea, because it creates extra copies of content that damage search engine rankings By redirecting the URLs, those URLs will no longer rank independently on search engines, moving other (potentially negative) sites up higher in the rankings Search engines view redirects with suspicion, and having multiple redirects could generate a manual penalty from Google Redirecting the URLs to the nonprofit organization's URL will weaken the organization's URL and prevent it from ranking well on search engines

By redirecting the URLs, those URLs will no longer rank independently on search engines, moving other (potentially negative) sites up higher in the rankings

An advertiser bids $10 CPM, achieves a 1% CTR and achieves a 5% conversion rate. What would an equivalent CPA bid for this advertiser be? $20 $10 $200 $100

CPM = (CPA* Click through rate * ConversionRate) * 1000 or, CPA for the advertisement = CPM / (CTR * Conversion rate * 1000) or, CPA = 10 / (1% * 5% * 1000) or, CPA = $20

CTA

Call to Action. A word/phrase to get an audience to take an action. 'buy now 'contact us' 'call today' ' download here' 'learn more'.

CTR

Click Thru Rate. The % of times a user will click on an ad if they are exposed to it. (clicks/exposure)

Which of the following is NOT a payment method for advertising on Pinterest? Cost per click (CPC) Cost per mille (CPM) Cost per video view (CPV) Cost per engagement (CPE)

Cost per video view (CPV)

Which of the following is NOT an aspect of successful websites? -Create captivating design -Drive conversions -Maximize revenue -Generate traffic

Create captivating design

A/B Testing

Creating 2 versions of creative (ex ad copy, an emai, an image, a landing page) to test against ea. other in a campaign to see which one your audience responds better to. Make 1 change each version.

Sessions

Duration of time users spend on website. Helps determine engagement. Improve with better content, and friendlier interface.

On which of the following dimensions are mobile users equal to desktop users? Effectiveness of video Importance of location Patience Length of internet usage sessions

Effectiveness of video

If I write five headlines for a Responsive search ad, which headlines will show up in the ad? Every ad impression will include a subset of the headlines, but all five headlines will be selected from Only the first two headlines Only the best-written headlines will be shown Sometimes the first two headlines will be displayed and sometimes the first three headlines will be displayed

Every ad impression will include a subset of the headlines, but all five headlines will be selected from

Google Adwords

Googles PPC ad platform. Allows you to build, manage and optimize campaigns, ad groups, ads and keywords.

HTML

Hypertext Markup Language. A coding language used to create websites. Determines sites appearance and performance.

In what way is the Final URL the most important part of a search ad? If the final URL is wrong, searchers cannot reach the website properly As the longest part of the search ad, it takes up the most space The final URL is bolded for users, so it most readily entices a click Quality score is calculated based exclusively on the final URL

If the final URL is wrong, searchers cannot reach the website properly

Ad Group

In a pay-per-click account, these are the subcategories that contain ads, targeting a group of keywords. Broken into 'themes' that make up a campaign.

The Mobile First design philosophy advocates for designing the mobile site first because -it is easier to adapt a mobile site for display on a desktop computer than it is to adapt a desktop site for display on a mobile device -mobile web design is more visually appealing than desktop designs -mobile traffic has more volume than desktop traffic -It is easier to adapt for display on a desktop computer AND mobile traffic has more volume than desktop traffic

It is easier to adapt for display on a desktop computer AND mobile traffic has more volume than desktop traffic

KPI

Key Performance Indicator A measurable value that demonstrates how effectively a company/account is performing. Used to evaluate success

Which platform has an advertisement type that is most similar to email marketing? Pinterest Snapchat Twitter LinkedIn

LinkedIn

Keyword Stuffing

Loading a webpage with keywords or numbers in an attempt to manipulate a site's ranking in search results. Keywords can end up being irrelevant, google discourages this by lowering SEO scores.

Campaign

Made up of 1 more multiple ad groups. Top level category in a PPC act used to organize products/services. Often broken up by services/products, branded, or competitors.

Email Marketing

Marketing sent through email. Used to distribute content, sales promo, services, grow relationships w. potential customers.

Quality Score

Metric used to measure quality of ads. Influences CPC and ad rank. Better score = lower price, higher placement. Influenced by CTR, load times, copy, landing page quality.

A consumer sees an ad and purchases the product featured in the ad, but he would have purchased the product anyway even if he hadn't seen the ad. The ad is ________. effective because the consumer purchased the product NOT effective because the ad was poorly targeted effective because the ad caused the consumer to purchase NOT effective because the ad did not influence his behavior

NOT effective because the ad did not influence his behavior

Domain

Name used in URLs to identify webpages. example, in the URL www.fujisanmarketing.com/blogs, the domain name is fujisanmarketing.com

Impressions

Number of times an ad us seen by a potential customer. Does not require user interactions. Common metric tracked in PPC campaigns.

Mobile Search

Online search done on mobile. Surpasses desktop searches.

Channel

Outlet an advertiser uses to market to their audience. Google, email, social, organic, paid.

What led to a thriving ecosystem of influencers on Instagram? Instagram actively recruited influencers early on Instagram was programmed to allow influencers to avoid FTC compliance Paid advertisements came relatively late to Instagram Influencers contribute a fixed percentage of their earnings to Instagram

Paid advertisements came relatively late to Instagram

Which of the following is NOT a targeting method available on the Google Display Ad Network? Past visits to competitors' websites Affinity Life events Demographics

Past visits to competitors' websites

PPC

Pay-per-click advertising Form of ads where advertisers only pay if ad is clicked. PPC Channels are Adwords, Bing and FB.

Bounce Rate

Percentage of users who leave after only viewing one website. Determines users interest. Helps optimize websites.

Above the fold

Placement on a website that is above the bottom cut off of the screen, no need to scroll to view. Often companies will put forms, videos or the most relevant information.

Who is liable when false information is posted online? Google and any other search engine that links to the false information The company that maintains the website on which the false information is posted The web hosting company that maintains the website's servers Practically nobody

Practically nobody

Crawl

Process of scanning a website to discover new , updated, or removed/redirected pages. Done by a spider, when a user is using a search engine or a ad is indexing.

Which of the following is a valid use of browser Bluetooth for a large retailer like Target or Walmart? Improving Wi-Fi signals in-store Making audio broadcast announcements in the store Automating checkout procedures Providing location-based information to shoppers

Providing location-based information to shoppers

Which of the following steps is NOT a part of the social media plan? Determine the objective Register the company on all social platforms Measure success Plan the content

Register the company on all social platforms

SEO

Search Engine Optimization. Incorporating factors such as keywords, good copy, and backlinks in order to drive traffic and affect the visibility of a site organically.

SERP

Search Engine Results Page. Results after query is placed in search engine.

Retargeting

Showing ads to those who have visited a website previously. Cookies examine and report behavior allowing for this.

Inbound Link

Similar to backlink. A link directing users to a website from a separate or 3rd party site. Endorses website.

Web Page

Single page that lives in a domain within a site.A document written in HTML, displays data.

Landing Page

Single webpage with a focused sales pitch design to get a conversion. In PPC, where a user lands when ad is clicked. Different versions are A/B tested.

The accelerated mobile pages project is trying to address what shortcoming of mobile devices? Difficult clicking Immobility of desktop computers Slow loading of webpages Poor mobile web design

Slow loading of webpages

Meta Description

Tag in HTML consisting of key words and phrases that gives a short summary of what the page is about. 160 characters. Is displayed during organic search results.

Meta Title

Tag in HTML of a web page that acts as a page title. Search engines read this first and continue to description to determine relevance. 50-60 character limit.

Which is NOT one of the three T's of negative publicity? Transparency Timeliness Take down Training

Take down

Copy or Ad Copy

Text associated with ad, headlines/descriptions/etc. Also main content of a website.

A website that sells wedding dresses targets ads to (1) women (2) ages 22 to 35 (3) actively searching for a wedding dress (4) with an interest in fashion (5) in the top 10% of income (6) within the greater Denver area. What is a major downside of this targeting? It is unethical to use income as a targeting method Demographics like gender and age cannot be used to target ads The audience will be so small that the ads are not likely to generate a large volume Some of those targeting methods cannot be combined on Google's ad network

The audience will be so small that the ads are not likely to generate a large volume

Including the word 'maternity' in the alt text and file name of several images on the maternity category page of Jane.com will improve the page's relevance score for searches using the word 'maternity'. What other benefit can result from this? The images are more likely to show up on image searches that use 'maternity'. Individual product pages that sell maternity products will automatically be optimized for relevant searches. The website will be better organized. Other category pages in the website will be more likely to show up for searches that use the word 'maternity'.

The images are more likely to show up on image searches that use 'maternity'.

I place the following link on my website: <a rel="nofollow" href="http://jane.com">Fashion deals</a>. How will this link be treated differently by the search engines? The link will not pass link authority to jane.com. The link will show up as an 'unsecured' link. The link will be used for an image rather than show anchor text. Instead of navigating the current window to jane.com, it will create a new window for jane.com.

The link will not pass link authority to jane.com.

You have a website that sells widgets, and you have a category page specifically for blue widgets. After some extensive outreach efforts, you are able to gain 100 links to your blue widgets category page, but no links to your homepage. How will these new links affect the rankings of your homepage on relevant searches? They will improve homepage rankings They will have no effect on homepage rankings They will improve homepage rankings on searches for red widgets but damage rankings on searches for yellow widgets They will damage homepage rankings

They will improve homepage rankings

Reach

Total number of views content receives over a period of time. Paid Reach increases visibility of ad.

Google Analytics

Tracks and measures various metrics of a website. Shows how users interact with website and the websites performance as a whole.

How can credit card numbers and other sensitive information be transferred across the internet without third parties seeing it (and stealing it)? -Only computers with the correct IP address can receive information packets sent across the internet -The internet is hack-proof -The internet has developed an ethos of honesty and integrity -Transport layer security encrypts sensitive information

Transport layer security encrypts sensitive information

URL is an acronym for -Unified Research Link -Unattached Requisition License -Uniform Resource Locator -Utility Return Limit

Uniform Resource Locator

Organic Traffic

Unpaid traffic, unprompted and uninfluenced by ads.

Which of the following is NOT a principle of Steve Krug's design for usability paradigm? -Use complementary colors -Break pages up into clearly defined areas -Create effective visual hierarchies -Format content to support scanning

Use complementary colors

Two competing websites have the same number of links. Website A received all of its links between January 2016 and January 2017. Website B received its links from January 2016 to the present. Which website is likely to rank higher today for a search that is equally relevant to both sites? They will be equally ranked, so Google will determine the higher-ranking site by random selection. Website B, because it has higher link freshness. Website A, because of legacy rankings (it was ranked higher in the past, and Google will continue to rank it higher regardless of current status). Website A, because it initially had a faster pace of link generation.

Website B, because it has higher link freshness.

A website that sells software made 100 sales of $200 each from 2,000 sessions (for a total of $20,000 in revenue and profit—the marginal cost of these sales was $0.) The average cost to generate each session was $5 (the traffic came from a paid advertising campaign). Were these 2,000 sessions profitable? No Yes

Yes

What enables a website to recognize a computer as a return visitor (as opposed to a first-time visitor)? -the computer's physical location -the computer configuration -a cookie -the IP address

a cookie

Which of the following is NOT a good example of a website to promote as an alternate result for a branded search? a copy of the main website at a different URL social media profile corporate blog product microsite

a copy of the main website at a different URL

NSAMCWADLP means that whenever you create an online marketing campaign, you should also create -a new analytics account to track the results of the campaign -a new email broadcast to inform customers of the marketing campaign -a separate line in the accounting leger to independently track revenues from the campaign -a dedicated landing page designed specifically for that campaign

a dedicated landing page designed specifically for that campaign

An editorial link is a link created voluntarily by another website owner because he/she values the website's content a link created by submitting one's own site to a directory or local business archive a link created by a newspaper editor a link created in a quid pro quo agreement with another website owner

a link created voluntarily by another website owner because he/she values the website's content

A banner ad for Netflix should lead people to what kind of landing page? -a single-product landing page -a multi-product landing page -a lead generation landing page -a subscription landing page

a subscription landing page

A company sends out a broadcast email to its entire email list informing the list about Black Friday deals. At 6:00 pm on Black Friday, the company sends out an email only to members of its email list that (1) clicked on the previous email and (2) did not make a purchase. This second email is an example of a broadcast email a transactional email a triggered email an onboarding email

a triggered email

A company like Apple generates so much online commentary that it would be too labor- intensive to monitor it all. But Apple still wants to be on the lookout for negative press. It should therefore actively monitor crucial alerts like "Apple + fraud" and "Apple + scam" just examine Google Alerts once per month just look at ten randomly selected results from Google Alerts per day monitor blogs only and ignore news sites, discussion forums, etc.

actively monitor crucial alerts like "Apple + fraud" and "Apple + scam"

A website that sells high-end ties notices that its ads are showing up for searches that include "cheap". Because its ties are expensive, it does not want its ads to show up for searchers using the word "cheap". What should this advertiser do? add the word "cheap" to its negative keyword list change exact match keywords to phrase match keywords use only exact match in its keyword lists change any phrase match keywords to broad match keywords

add the word "cheap" to its negative keyword list

Posting on a company's social media profiles can improve company profit by facilitating purchases from first-time customers all of these options increasing loyalty of past and current customers improving SEO and thereby facilitating first-time customer purchases

all of these options

What advantage does a social network have over a display network for paid advertising? Social media networks typically have more intimate knowledge of their users' interests Ads on social media command more attention than banner ads on a display network all of these options Ads on social media provide a great number of engagement options

all of these options

When a consumer clicks on a display ad, the landing page should match the ad's color scheme all of these options value proposition imagery

all of these options

Retail websites can most advisedly grow their email list by putting an email sign-up pop-up advertisement on every page of the website require an email sign-up before allowing customers to shop on the site allowing customers to sign up for the email list during the checkout procedure automatically putting all customers on the broadcast email list

allowing customers to sign up for the email list during the checkout procedure

Backlinks

an incoming hyperlink from one web page to another website. Having a large number of backlinks can improve your website's performance and searchability. When these links come from reputable sites, like a .gov, .org, or well-known company, the power for that website grows.

A commuter's evening routine is very rigid except for Friday evenings, when she often makes extra stops for shopping on the way home. Advertisers would most likely find success if they targeted her with advertisements during the weekend during her morning commute at the beginning of her evening commute at the end of her evening commute

at the beginning of her evening commute

Email marketers can target different segments by sending emails only to specific segments of the email list neither of the options both of the options changing portions of content for each segment within an email

both of the options

Measuring the average sentiment expressed about a company on social media platforms may not be a good reflection of the company's performance because neither of these options both of these options some industries generate a generally high level of negative posting regardless of their performance sentiment coding on social platforms is sometimes inaccurate

both of these options

Targeting consumers based on their location is not as effective as targeting them based on their location and both past behavior and timing neither past behavior nor timing timing their past behavior

both past behavior and timing

The most reliable way to measure advertising effectiveness is to stop advertising altogether use linear attribution conduct a carefully-controlled experiment use Google's data-driven attribution tool

conduct a carefully-controlled experiment

Content marketing differs from advertising in that content marketing cannot contain calls to action advertising content requires more time and energy to create it is illegal to pay for distribution of content marketing content marketing is meant to entice readership/viewership on its own merits

content marketing is meant to entice readership/viewership on its own merits

When conducting an A/B test to improve a webpage's design, the measure that should be used to determine which page is better is usually (but not always) -number of clicks during the visit -conversion rate -time on site -traffic

conversion rate

CVR

conversion rate % of times the avg user will convert if they clicked on the ad.

Return on Advertising Spend (ROAS) cannot be calculated within a Google Ads account unless the advertiser has achieved at least 50 conversions within the past month the advertiser spends a minimum of $250 per week on search ads conversion tracking is set up properly in analytics (or Tag Manager) and connected to the Google Ads account the advertiser has a six month history with Google Ads

conversion tracking is set up properly in analytics (or Tag Manager) and connected to the Google Ads account

CPA

cost per acquisition Aka Cost per Conversion. Avg an advertiser will spend on 1 conversion from an ad.

CPC

cost per click Amount advertiser is paying for 1 click.

CPM

cost per thousand The amount an advertiser is paying per 1k impressions. ($$ spending/# of impressions)x1000

A new company with no existing customer should likely focus on ________. demand generation loyalty building its return policy demand harvesting

demand harvesting

Sending out press releases to entice news organizations to do a story about a company can result in links from these news organizations' websites. These links would be considered manufactured links manual links editorial links nofollow links

editorial links

Showing the same advertisement too many times to the same person can annoy consumers, and in addition is less effective than showing ads fewer times to more people. To avoid showing the same ad 10 or more times to the same person, advertisers engaging in remarketing should show remarketing ads only to consumers who have visited the advertiser's website within the last 24 hours employ frequency caps rethink their use of remarketing periodically turn off remarketing campaigns

employ frequency caps

A B2B services company is likely to use email marketing to drive immediate conversions broadcast messages to its employees engage in lead nurturing pursue corporate recruiting

engage in lead nurturing

Advertisers on a display network can pay through each of the following methods EXCEPT CPM (cost per mille) CPC (cost per click) CPA (cost per acquisition) flat fee

flat fee

In determining what content to show users, Facebook uses all of the following EXCEPT gender past engagement with posting entity recency content type

gender

I do a search for "restaurants near me" and I see an ad for a local Thai restaurant only if I am within 400 meters of the restaurant's location. This location-based ad strategy is called hyper-targeting geo-fencing temporal training locavore targeting

geo-fencing

An analytics package records all of the following information from visitors EXCEPT location of the visitor hard disk space of the computer the timing of the visit/click browser being used

hard disk space of the computer

Jane.com sells clothing and accessories. They want their line of maternity clothing to show up on searches that include 'maternity'. What should the URL for the maternity category page be? https://jane.com/maternity https://jane.com/category5 https://maternity.jane.com/ https://jane.maternity.com/

https://jane.com/maternity

When a shopper puts an item in their online shopping cart, Amazon recommends add-on products to -increase traffic -increase engagement -increase the conversion rate -increase revenue

increase revenue

Channel analysis enables an analytics user to investigate which traffic source produced the best-quality traffic determine which ad copy produced the highest click-through rate conduct counterfactual analyses of the effect of increased marketing investments in any channel find ways to shift paid traffic sources toward unpaid traffic sources

investigate which traffic source produced the best-quality traffic

Curated social media content refers to content that is created by two or more companies in a partnership is collected from a variety of other content creators was first posted more than one year earlier and is being posted a second time is created by a company for its own social media profiles

is collected from a variety of other content creators

The primary advantage of a short email sign-up form is that marketing automation is only possible with short email forms the company will have more information about customers to enable improved email content targeting only customers with serious interest are likely to sign up it attracts a higher volume of sign-ups than a longer form

it attracts a higher volume of sign-ups than a longer form

Email marketing can be especially effective for a search engine like Kayak or Expedia because it typically has information about deals that might interest its customers search engines typically generate no other form of direct traffic people cannot put emails from search engines in a separate commercial folder within their email account search engines are not allowed to utilize other marketing channels

it typically has information about deals that might interest its customers

Unpaid referral traffic is traffic that comes from -links from other websites that are paid under the table -banner ads -links from other websites that are not paid for -bots and web crawlers

links from other websites that are not paid for

All else being equal, a marketing channel that has a high cost per exposure will have a ________ return on investment. low high

low

A company has focused all its efforts on demand harvesting for a long while. It should now shift its efforts to include ________. loyalty building paid search demand generation more demand harvesting

loyalty building

The purpose of hashtags is to exceed the 280-character limit make posts (tweets) searchable replace the need for images add humorous commentary to a post

make posts (tweets) searchable

Writing a blog post for someone else's blog and including links to one's own site would give a website what kind of links? manual links manufactured links editorial links nofollow links

manual links

Mobile users engage in more "snacking" than desktop users. This means that mobile users find restaurants more frequently from their phones mobile users have shorter, more frequent usage sessions mobile users make smaller, more frequent purchases mobile users spill crumbs on the phones more readily than on their desktop keyboards

mobile users have shorter, more frequent usage sessions

An ad that commands a consumer's direct attention is likely to be ________. effective for all audiences less effective than an ad that is only seen in a consumer's peripheral vision more effective than an ad that does not command direct attention ineffective in almost all circumstances

more effective than an ad that does not command direct attention

If a company's social media followers exhibit greater purchase frequency than non-followers, this could be a sign that the company's social media efforts are producing good results. Alternately, it may only reflect the fact that more loyal customers are more likely to follow the company on social media the company's analytics are not properly installed the indirect effect of social media is more dramatic than the direct effect the social media platform is exaggerating its own performance

more loyal customers are more likely to follow the company on social media

A random sample of consumers will likely have a low customer concentration for Porsche because ________. Porsche is not a respected brand most people cannot afford such an expensive car Porsche actively tries to prevent most people from buying its cars Porsche only appeals to young males

most people cannot afford such an expensive car

A low conversion rate can be caused by all of the following EXCEPT poor web design poor audience selection technical glitches overly responsive design

overly responsive design

The three match types vary in how close the search phrase and the keyword have to be in order to trigger the ad. Which match type is in the middle (not the closest but not the furthest)? precise match exact match phrase match broad match

phrase match

In addition to posts from friends and paid-for advertisements, what other two types of content are found in a Facebook News Feed (though with much lower frequency)? news articles and event notices mobile application download suggestions and financial advice posts from Liked pages and actions from friends Live video and pre-recorded video

posts from Liked pages and actions from friends

Which of the following is NOT a match type for selecting search ad targets? precise match broad match phrase match exact match

precise match

Which of the following is NOT recommended to be shown in a search ad? unique value proposition call to action keywords reference to competitors

reference to competitors

A company wishing to rank for local searches should first change its business name to include its more important keywords ask its customers for reviews on Yelp and other similar websites register and verify its business with Google's My Business begin advertising on Google's ad network

register and verify its business with Google's My Business

Keyword Research

researching what terms / phrases people frequently search for. Helps rank higher in search engines.

An advantage of paid search marketing is that ________. returns are typically seen immediately it is the least expensive channel on a cost-per-exposure basis the high start-up costs make it difficult for competitors to bid on profitable keywords there is very little competition for the highest-value keywords

returns are typically seen immediately

All of the following activities are more difficult on a mobile device than on a desktop computer EXCEPT scrolling viewing information typing clicking

scrolling

"Long tail keywords" are search terms with lower volume than "fat head keywords" search terms done on mobile devices search terms that produce a low conversion rate search terms for niche product categories

search terms with lower volume than "fat head keywords"

An experiment at eBay showed that advertising on brand keywords (searches that included "eBay") were not profitable because eBay's analytics showed that the ROAS was low searchers clicked the organic listing when the advertised listing was not available brand keywords are especially expensive on search engines search advertisements generated almost no clicks

searchers clicked the organic listing when the advertised listing was not available

Demographics

statistical data relating to general population or the smaller groups within. Ad are typically targeted to one or several demographics.

Social listening usually entails (1) scraping all public mentions of a company on social media, (2) coding those mentions as positive, negative, or neutral, and (3) responding to all social media statements with a form letter summarizing average sentiment about the company monetizing this information making excuses for negative statements

summarizing average sentiment about the company

If an email marketer has a good email list and lots of information about the users on this list, marketing automation would be useful for revamping the segmentation system automatically creating new content for emails creating new onboarding email copy targeting emails to the right users based on their ongoing behavior

targeting emails to the right users based on their ongoing behavior

Twitter consumption is fast-paced because of the short nature of tweets. Pinterest consumption is even faster-paced because the Pinterest feed automatically scrolls the Pinterest feed shows multiple columns of images pins disappear after only five seconds on the screen columns are organized by topic

the Pinterest feed shows multiple columns of images

An ad's location, bid strategy, daily budget, ad extensions, and more are all determined at what level within the Google Ads account? the campaign level the ad group level the keyword level the ad level

the campaign level

To determine whether a new ad copy is better at attracting attention, an advertiser should conduct an A/B test and measure the ROAS the impression volume the conversion rate the click-through rate

the click-through rate

A major advantage of creating content specifically with the goal of ranking well for a popular search phrase is that earning high organic rankings typically happens instantaneously the content is not likely to have any competition a high conversion rate is almost guaranteed from search engine traffic the content will have built-in distribution

the content will have built-in distribution

Display advertising has a low exposure effectiveness, but it may still be cost-effective because ________. display ads cost the same regardless of exposure frequency customer concentration is 100% the cost per exposure is low it requires only a flat fee

the cost per exposure is low

For a search engine, "relevance" refers to the extent to which a webpage's content matches the searcher's query whether a website has been visited by the searcher before how many pages on the website link to one another the traffic level of the website

the extent to which a webpage's content matches the searcher's query

Of 500 sessions that occurred on a website during a one-week period, 200 of them started on the homepage: 100 of these 200 sessions saw only the homepage before leaving the site. Of the 300 sessions that started on other pages, 100 of them consisted of only one pageview. Which is higher: the site bounce rate or the homepage's bounce rate? the homepage's bounce rate the site bounce rate

the homepage's bounce rate

Even a highly relevant keyword may not be worth pursuing in your SEO if the keyword has no traffic the keyword is too long the keyword is synonymous with other terms the keyword is often misspelled

the keyword has no traffic

If your website ranks 1, 9, 98, and 112 for four different keywords, on which keyword should your website first target SEO efforts? the keyword on which your site ranks #1 the keyword on which your site ranks #98 the keyword on which your site ranks #9 the keyword on which your site ranks #112

the keyword on which your site ranks #9

To determine the winner of an A/B test on a subject line, an email marketer should use the click-through rate the churn rate the open rate the conversion rate

the open rate

The "upper fold" is -usually the same for mobile devices and desktop computers -another name for the navigation menu at the top of a webpage -the area on a retail site that shows the top sellers -the portion of a webpage that is visible without scrolling down

the portion of a webpage that is visible without scrolling down

"Analysis paralysis" occurs when the sheer volume of data overwhelms a manager and causes inaction a manager makes so many good inferences from the data that he/she makes too many changes an analytics package is improperly installed and thus data tracking stops an analyst goes on vacation without someone else replacing his/her job responsibilities

the sheer volume of data overwhelms a manager and causes inaction

After a B2B services company closes a deal with Company X, email marketing may still be useful for purposes of qualifying leads from Company X nurturing leads from Company X training the employees within Company X generating leads from Company X

training the employees within Company X

display advertising

type of online marketing that uses image or video to communicate ad. Used across platforms; google ad works, droll, meta & more.

In general, the proper response to a negative review on an online review site is to understand the situation and take responsibility where appropriate ignore it send discounts or coupons in recompense for the failure explain how the company is not at fault

understand the situation and take responsibility where appropriate

URL

uniform resource locator (web address) Used to specify location in World Wide Web.

On Facebook, custom audiences allows advertisers to create target audiences from the typical targeting methods and then save these audiences as a custom audience customize the ad content to match each user's interests use demographics in combination with interests to customize their audience targeting upload email addresses of current customers and target users with similar characteristics

upload email addresses of current customers and target users with similar characteristics

Dynamic remarketing ads use different ad content across targets are the best starting place for a digital marketer use dynamic animation are universally more effective than other remarketing ads

use different ad content across targets

A mobile application that gets installed and used regularly by a large number of customers may still not be profitable if ________. the convenience of using the app increases visit frequency the conversions on the application are higher-value than on the website it produces conversions from a new group of customers using the app does not increase users' spending

using the app does not increase users' spending

Creating a post with a discount for a product is an example of providing social value identity value entertainment value utilitarian value

utilitarian value

In web design, what is more important than website's visual appeal is -how new the website is -whether it generates a high conversion rate -whether the website uses HTML5 -how many pages it has

whether it generates a high conversion rate


Related study sets

Chapter 6 Lesson 3 "The American Revolution"

View Set

Pharmacology chapters 10, 11, 12 & 13

View Set

MGMT 371 Test2 (CH.7-11) Energizers

View Set

3101 Skills- Chap. 28 Immobility EAQs Exam 2

View Set