setting up display ads

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After running the campaign for several weeks and hitting the number-one spot, Rameet notices that, on average, his campaign cost per acquisition is $30. Now he'd like to maximize his conversion volume while maintaining a certain cost per acquisition, so that he remains profitable. Changing his bidding strategy to Target CPA, what cost per acquisition should he enter in the Target CPA field?

$30, on par with his actual campaign cost per acquisition so far He should enter $30. When setting up your CPA bid, base it off your actual CPA performance over the last few weeks. Setting a target that is too low may cause you to forgo clicks that could result in conversions.

optimization tips for awareness audiences

-Want more control on where your ads show up? If you want more control on where your ads show up, consider creating additional campaigns using content tools such as Keywords, Placements, and Topics. These let you choose what content your ads will show on. For example, under placements, you can designate specific webpage URLs for your ads to appear. Note: Avoid layering Keywords, Placements, and Topics over your audience lists, as that can constrain you campaign's reach and overall performance. -Keep your ads from showing on websites that aren't related to your business by excluding them. Note: Too many exclusions may affect your audience reach. To exclude websites: For an existing campaign, in the toolbar on the left, go to Placements, then the Exclusion tab, and enter the URL of a specific website placement you'd like to exclude. -Keep your ads from showing on websites that aren't related to your business by excluding them. Note: Adding too many exclusions may affect your audience reach. To exclude web pages, apps, and video of a certain topic or content areas: For an existing campaign, go to Topics, then the Exclusions tab, and choose the topic categories to exclude.

Best practices for influencing consideration audiences

-create a separate campaign or ad group for each audience -for custom intent audiences, use top performing keywords -set a higher CPA -exclude existing audiences for new customer acquisition -ensure your call to action resonates with audiences

best practices for awareness audiences

-look at higher funnel metric to measure campaign success (eg. impressions & websites, rather than performance-oriented metrics like conversions) -set higher CPAs or lower Target ROAS Make sure to set higher CPAs or lower Target ROAS targets than the ones you have on your campaigns using lower and mid-funnel audiences (e.g., Remarketing, Customer Match, Custom Intent, and In-Market) -Create a separate campaign or ad group for each audience you're trying to reach. Since audiences are designed to address specific goals, having separate campaigns in most cases will give you control over budgets, bids, and other settings separately, and let you tailor messaging for each audience. -Don't layer audiences, as this will cause constrained reach. -If your main goal is new customer acquisition, consider excluding existing users on your Remarketing and Customer Match lists. Google does not do this automatically. In Google Ads: Select Audiences. Choose Exclusions, and AUDIENCE EXCLUSIONS. Select the campaign or ad group from which you'd like to exclude audiences.

Optimization tips for influencing consideration audiences

-set up holistic audience strategy Make sure you're setting up a robust audience strategy by creating Google Display campaigns using your own audience lists (Remarketing, Customer Match if available, and Similar Audiences), in addition to Google-powered audiences like the above. -consider extending your reach

best practices for setting up remarketing campaigns

-tag everything Tag your entire desktop and mobile site, and mobile app. If you partially tag your site and/or app, you may miss out on adding site visitors to your remarketing lists. -create different remarketing lists Create different remarketing lists based on the specific web pages your customers visited. You can add those lists to specific ad groups, letting you create custom messaging for those customers. -use smart bidding When setting your bid strategy, use Smart Bidding to automatically set the appropriate bid for every auction, while taking into account your remarketing lists.

optimization tips for similar audience campaigns

-test creatives Think about what the characteristics of your Similar Audiences might be, and test new creatives (ads, images, and/or messages) relevant to them. -consider extending your reach To expand the reach of an existing campaign and find additional customers, use the audience expansion slider: 1. Within Google Ads, select Audiences, select the pencil icon, and then choose Select an ad group. 2. Select the campaign and ad group. 3. Go to the Settings section and move the slider to right, to reach additional customers while maintaining your performance goals.

best practices for similar audience campaigns

-use smart bidding When you set your bid strategy, use Smart Bidding to take into account your Similar Audiences lists and automatically set the appropriate bid for all your auctions. -expand your reach to all languages and devices In your campaign-level settings, target all languages and devices so your ads aren't limited to only people who speak a certain language or use a certain device. -begin with the similar to all converters list Begin with the Similar to all converters Similar Audience list or with the largest volumed lists. -dont exclude people from your original remarketing lists No need to exclude people from your original remarketing lists in Google Ads' Audience manager. Your Similar Audiences lists automatically exclude them, so that you only reach new leads.

Set up Target ROAS bidding:

1) From the What do you want to focus on? drop-down, select Conversion value. 2)Determine what your target return on ad spend is with this formula: (Conversion value ÷ ad spend) × 100% = Target ROAS percentage. For example, if you want a return of 300%, it means you'd like to receive $3 in revenue for each $1 spent on ads. ($3 ÷ $1) × 100% = 300% 3)Then in the Target ROAS field, enter your target return on ad spend percentage.

setting up maximize clicks bidding

1) From the What do you want to focus on? drop-down, select Conversions. 2) Make sure the Set a target cost per action option is not selected. 3)From How do you want to get conversions?, select Automatically maximize conversions.

Set up Target CPA bidding:

1) From the What do you want to focus on? drop-down, select Conversions. 2) Select Set a target cost per action. 3) From How do you want to get conversions?, select Automatically maximize conversions, then choose the Set a target cost per action option. 4)In the Target CPA field, enter a CPA bid based on the average amount you'd like to pay for a conversion. If unsure, use the average CPA you're seeing across other Display campaigns as an indicator of what to bid. 5)In the Pay for drop-down, select Pay for Clicks or Pay for Conversions (in eligible accounts). If you select Pay for Conversions, you only pay when a customer converts on your website or app.

Set up eCPC bidding:

1)Go to Bidding section to create a new standard Display campaign. (eCPC isn't available in Smart Display campaigns.) Choose select a bid strategy directly. 2)Choose Manual CPC, and then select Help increase conversions with Enhanced CPC.

To set up ad formats in a new campaign:

1. Go to the Create your ads section. The default ad format option is a responsive display ad. To add a custom-made uploaded ad, select Change, then upload your ad images. 2. In the New responsive display ad section, insert the recommended assets. Review the full list below. 3. Use the Ad strength field to check if you added the recommended quantity and diversity of each type of asset. 4. Use the Preview field to see what the responsive display ads look like on websites, apps, and Google properties, such as YouTube.

To set up ad formats in an existing campaign:

1. In Google Ads, select Ads & Extensions, then select the blue plus sign. 2.Choose an ad format option. 3.Select the desired campaign and ad group to add a new ad format.

directions to change your bid strategy in an existing campaign:

1. In Google Ads, select the Campaigns tab. 2. Select the campaign whose bid strategy you'd like to change. 3. Select Edit, and then choose Change bid strategy.

Basic setup steps for similar audience campaigns

1. When setting up a new campaign, go to the People section, then to Audiences. Select Browse, and choose How they have interacted with your business. 2. Select Similar audiences, and choose one of the automatically created audience lists. Tip: Hover over the list to see how many people are included in it.

Set up In-Market audiences in a new campaign:

1. When setting up a new campaign, go to the People section, then to Audiences. Select Browse, and choose What they are actively researching or planning. 2. To use, select In-Market audiences, then select categories most relevant to your campaign goals. Expand each category to see granular sub-categories.

Set up Custom Intent audiences in a new campaign:

1.When setting up a new campaign, go to the People section, then to Audiences. Select Browse, and choose What they are actively researching or planning. 2.To create a custom audience list, select NEW CUSTOM INTENT AUDIENCE. After it's created, select it from Custom Intent audiences. TIP : use auto-generated custom intent audiences

Set up Life Events in a new campaign:

1.When setting up a new campaign, go to the People section, then to Audiences. Select Browse, choose What they are actively researching or planning. 2.Choose Life Events, and then select the relevant milestone. Expand each milestone to see granular options.

To drive the best results, use the recommended number of assets for each asset type:

5 headlines 5 images 5 short descriptions, a one to one logo, 1 long headline, and your business's name.

Rameet is selling a new game online, and he's used Target CPA in his campaign for the last few weeks. As an e-commerce business aiming for a specific return on his investment, he wants to change his campaign bidding strategy to Target ROAS, and would like to make $5 on every $1 of advertising he spends. What would you recommend he put in the Target ROAS field? Tip: (Conversion value ÷ ad spend) × 100% = Target ROAS percentage

500% The formula is: (Conversion value ÷ ad spend) × 100% = target ROAS percentage. So if Rameet wants to make $5 for every $1 he spends, he'd do: ($5 ÷ $1) × 100 = 500%

Best practices for tROAS

Allow for a two-week ramp-up period before actual results are measured. Don't choose a ROAS goal that's too high. That might cause you to miss valuable conversions or have ads that don't show at all.

Should I mix audience types in the same ad group?

Don't mix audience types in the same ad group (e.g. Similar Audiences with In-market). Since our audiences are designed to address specific goals, we recommend having separate campaigns or ad groups for each audience type, so you can control budgets and other settings separately, and tailor your creative messaging for each audience.

Optimization tips for remarketing campaigns

Every 2-4 weeks, look at how your audience lists are performing. To do so in your Google Ads account, click the Audiences tab and review key performance metrics for each list. -tailor your ads to each remarketing audience Update your responsive display ads and assets, and make sure you've tailored your message to each audience separately. -consider extending your reach To expand the reach of an existing campaign and find additional customers, use the audience expansion slider: 1. Within Google Ads, select Audiences, select the pencil icon, and then choose Select an ad group. 2. Select the campaign and ad group. 3. Go to the Settings section and move the slider to the right, to reach additional customers while maintaining your performance goals. -consider using advanced strategies Dynamic remarketing: Create dynamically generated display ads to include products or services that people viewed on your website by using product data pulled from a pre-uploaded feed. Customer Match: Lets you reach customers who shared data with you, such as email addresses, phone numbers, etc., letting you build out custom audience lists based on your customer relationship management data. Customer Match can be used in addition to tag-based (web and app) remarketing audiences. To be eligible for Customer Match, you must reach a number of minimum requirements. YouTube remarketing lists: Link your YouTube account to your Google Ads account, and create remarketing lists that reach people who've viewed certain videos, subscribed to your channel, or interacted with your channel in various ways.

set up affinity or custom affinity audiences

Go to the People section, then to Audiences. Select Browse, choose What their interests and habits are. 1. For Affinity, select one or more groups that are relevant to your campaign goals. 2. If you can't find the Affinity segment you're looking for, create your own. For Custom Affinity, choose the blue plus sign and create your own Custom Affinity audience by adding relevant keywords, URLs, places, or apps. Tip: You can start by adding between 10 - 20 signals.

set up detailed demographic audiences

Go to the People section, then to Audiences. Select Browse, choose Who they are, and then select from the various Detailed Demographics options.

Focused on driving sales?

If you're focused on increasing sales, make sure you first have strategies in place to reengage with current customers and reach high-intent customers, prior to any awareness initiatives.

Key takeaways

If you're new to Google Ads, consider starting with Maximize Conversions, and then switching over to Target CPA or Target ROAS once you have a goal in mind. Have conversion tracking set up in your account if you're setting up Maximize Conversions, Target CPA, or Target ROAS. You can start using Maximize Conversions from day zero (campaign set up day) You can start using Target CPA from day zero, as long as you believe you'll hit 15 conversions per ad group every 30 days. Don't make significant changes while bidding strategy is in learning mode, and allow two weeks for the strategy to learn once changes are made.

Review recommended assets for a responsive display ad

Images: Recommended 5 to 10 images per aspect ratio — 1 square and 1 landscape image is required. Logos (Optional): 1 square and 1 landscape logo is recommended. Short headline: Appears as first line of your ad. Recommended 5 short headlines. Long headline: Appears instead of your short headline in larger ads. Insert 1 long headline. Descriptions: Provide additional context or details. Recommended 5 descriptions. Your business name: This is the name of your business or brand. Videos (Optional): Recommended 2 landscape, 2 portrait, 1 square video.

Meryl can now choose to use the default remarketing lists created automatically, or build her own.

In Google Ads' Audience manager, you can create different remarketing lists based on the specific web pages your customers visited or specific actions they've taken. Meryl creates a remarketing list named, Interested in surfing, to include people who visited her web page offering surfing lessons. This way she can focus her ads and messaging to remind that audience of her hotel and its unique surfing lessons, and perhaps influence a purchase. She then creates a new standard Display campaign, and adds the remarketing list, All Interested in surfing, to her ad group. As Meryl sets up her responsive display ads, she adds images and messages related to surfing lessons so the ads are highly relevant to her remarketing audience.

Set up demographic audiences

In a new campaign, go to the People section, and then to the Demographics section. Check the box next to the specific demographic groups you want to reach people based on age, gender, parental status, or household income

Basic setup steps for remarketing campaigns

MAKE SURE TAGS ON WEBSITE ARE CODED 1. When setting up a new campaign, go to the People section, then to Audiences. Select Browse, and then select How they have interacted with your business. 2. Choose Website visitors, and then select your remarketing audience list.

Meryl just opened a hotel by the beach, and she's excited about the interest it's getting. She checks her web analytics and finds that plenty of customers are visiting her website, reading about hotel services offered, checking room inventory, and even reaching the shopping cart page, however not all are purchasing.

Meryl adds the Google Ads tag to her entire desktop and mobile site, which include the web pages about hotel services and package deals. Her remarketing lists, built from all visitors to her desktop and mobile sites, will include all the customers interested in her different offerings.

optimization tips

Once you apply a Smart Bidding strategy, it's important not to evaluate your performance too early. Smart Bidding needs a learning period to gather the performance data it needs to optimize your bids. You should also consider your standard Time Lag for conversions. This is the average time it takes for a click to result in an online conversion. Factor this amount of time into the waiting period to ensure you're gauging conversion performance accurately. You can learn if your campaign is in the learning period through the bid strategy report. From the Campaigns tab, use the Bid strategy type column to access the bid strategy report. View the campaign's bid strategy status at the top of the report. This campaign is currently in the learning period. You can also find your conversion delay in the report by looking into the performance chart. It typically takes one to two weeks for a bid strategy to adjust, although this largely depends on the volume of conversions. Smart Bidding should work for all campaigns, but ramp up tends to be faster when there's more conversion volume. When a bid strategy is in the learning period, limit major changes to the campaign as much as possible. For example, avoid budget changes, major keyword additions, and landing page swaps. This is because the bid strategy is currently adjusting to the campaign set up. Starting your Google Ads campaigns with Smart Bidding strategies is a good choice for both big and small businesses, and works well with a simple account structure. Smart Bidding can help you save time, which will allow you to focus on more strategic areas of your business.

Optimization tips

Once your campaign is created, review the asset report every two to four weeks to see how your assets are reporting alongside similar assets. do: -Remove and replace low-performing assets and refer to the asset report's recommendations. -Check which types of images consistently perform better, and consider color, contextual relevance, themes, image quality, and style. dont: -Don't add new assets more than once per week. -Don't change or replace all assets at once, as that will likely cause a noticeable drop in performance.

Key takeaways for influencing consideration audiences

Reach people who are about to make a purchase decision after a period of research by using Custom Intent and In-Market audiences. Either choose one of the 500 relevant categories from the In-Market audiences selection, or create your own Custom Intent audience by adding relevant keywords and URLs. Consider using automatically generated Custom Intent audiences as an option. Use Life Events to engage customers when they're in the midst of important life milestones, such as college graduation, marriage, and moving, and so most likely to change their purchase behavior.

How many remarketing lists can I use within an ad group?

Recommendation: Use a single remarketing list within an ad group. If you're setting up within an existing campaign, select an ad group that doesn't have an existing audience selection.

Mia owns an online jewelry shop and has launched a sale on diamond necklaces. She creates a Display Remarketing campaign to reengage with customers who purchased diamond earrings from her before, and might be interested in a necklace to match. Two weeks into her campaign, she can't see significant sales. What could she do to improve campaign performance?

Review and optimize her existing ad creatives in order to tailor her marketing message to her remarketing audience

Best practices for Target CPA bidding

Set your budget to at least 10 times your cost per acquisition. Allow for a two-week ramp-up period before actual results are measured. Use Target CPA without conversion data if you believe you'll reach 15 conversions per ad group in 30 days. Set a realistic target cost per acquisition based on historical performance; a low target may cause you to miss clicks that could result in conversions. If possible, remove budget constrictions and gain as many conversions as possible at a certain cost per acquisition.

Best practices for all conversion-focused bidding strategies

Significant change — such as bid changes, new creatives, and audience list adjustments — can disrupt performance, because the algorithm needs time to learn and adjust to the new settings. Limit bid changes to only +/- 20%, and wait a week between changes. If you see a temporary performance decline, don't panic! The algorithm learns over time and adjusts bids to compensate for poor performance.

key takeaways from similar audience campaigns

Similar Audiences helps expand your reach to new customers who may have made similar purchases, browsed similar websites, or have similar interests as your existing customers. -Similar Audience lists are automatically created based on your remarketing and Customer Match lists. -Their names start with Similar to and then have the same name as your remarketing and Customer Match lists. -Create separate campaigns or ad groups for different types of audiences so you can control budgets, bids, and other settings separately, and tailor specific messaging for each audience. -Extend your reach by selecting all language and device options in your campaign-level settings.

Why should you set up Similar Audiences?

Similar Audiences helps you expand your reach to new customers who may have made similar purchases, browsed similar websites, or have similar interests as your existing customers.

Create unique and effective copy

Your long headline should demonstrate your brand or product's value proposition in a way that's interesting and useful to customers. It should be able to stand alone without the support of a description. Create short headlines that are unique and compelling. It's best to spell out your offer, rather than repeating your business name in the short headline. Descriptions should be written to complement short headlines. Articulate your value proposition clearly, rather than writing descriptions that include little detail on business value.

Your makeup brand is about to launch a new type of waterproof lipstick. Which awareness strategy do you set up?

affinity audiences, reaching beauty mavens

Meryl's hotel offers special prices and experiences for families with children, so she wants to use Similar Audiences to reach people who are similar to customers of her Family packages. She'd like to use a specific budget set aside for this marketing initiative, and show an ad conveying her special family prices and services. What should she do?

create a new campaign to reach that similar audience list Since the budget is set on a campaign level, it's best practice to create a separate campaign per audience type, as that lets you set different bids, budget, and settings most relevant to each audience.

true/false: To make sure you only reach new audiences when using Similar Audiences list, everyone from the original remarketing list (from which the list was created) must be excluded.

false

Rameet has set up conversion tracking, and he wants to get as many people as possible to buy his new video game. Since he wants to be the month's top-selling video game, he's focused on sales volume instead of the price he'll pay Google for each game purchased (cost per acquisition). Which Smart Bidding strategy would you recommend?

maximize conversions Rameet should start by using the Maximize Conversions bidding strategy, as he's mainly interested in increasing the volume of conversions and doesn't care what each conversion costs.

Riya decided to try Target CPA, after using Maximize Conversions for a while. Four days after switching her bid strategy, she noticed a sudden increase in her cost per acquisition. She's paying more per conversion than her intended target cost per acquisition. What should she do?

nothing, she should wait 2 weeks for the bid strategy to ramp up

A company selling project management software is looking for new customers. They found Remarketing and Customer Match to be incredibly powerful tools to reengage with customers who already visited their site or are already part of their customer base. They're now looking to expand their reach to new audiences who have a high probability to purchase. Based on their goals, what audience would you recommend they try to reach?

people with look-alike characteristics to their existing customers

example of setting up a remarketing campaign

ref. quizlets 25-27

example for setting up bidding strategies

reference quizlet cards 7-9

In Meryl's campaign, she sets up three separate ad groups, each set to reach a different remarketing list audience. Which of the following ad groups should have the highest conversion rate (conversions/clicks)?

the ad group reaching visitors who arrived at the "shopping cart" page Visitors who arrived at the shopping cart page have shown the highest intent to purchase from Meryl. Reaching them again while they're browsing the web is a fantastic strategy to remind them of their interest in her offerings and close the deal!


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