Exam 1 (Ch 1-4, 13)

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Primary conversion of a search engine website (expedia)?

booking or reservation

How do marketplace websites drive revenue?

charge add-on fees for listing upgrades/promotions

Primary conversion of an affiliate marketing website?

click affiliate link

page elements: video

combine images and speech to communicate more information, professional videos give site credibility, watching videos takes less effort than reading.

multi-product landing page

company advertises a product category instead of one specific product, anyone who clicks this ad should arrive at a landing page featuring multiple products from this product category.

affiliate links

company pays referral fees to a partner website for quality traffic

Primary conversion of a social media website?

create an account

time delay attribution

credit is given to each interaction but more is given to the most recent interactions

NAP (Name, Address, Phone Number)

crucial for local search results

How do media websites drive revenue?

delivering better audience to advertisers so they can charge more, pay attention to most effective advertisements

Usability: Break pages into clearly defined areas

different users are interested in different areas of the website

timing of request

each server request is timestamped to enable calculation of how long users spend on each page

Primary conversion of a media website?

engagement

linear attribution

equal credit is given to every recorded interaction

page elements: form

forms are everywhere, even when checking out. Remove unnecessary form fields, make submission button stand out, not that it won't take long to fill out

How do social media websites drive revenue?

helping advertisers better target users on the platform

PHP

hypertext processor; an HTML-embedded scripting language used to write dynamic website content. Server-side, scripting language.

unique pageviews

if a user views the same page more than once in a session, this will only count as a single unique page view

poor sitemaps

if sitemap contains broken links or other errors, the company is now communicating to the search engine that its website is improperly managed (bad) or not trustworthy (worse).

page elements: images

images are often more important than text, the are the first indication of credibility of a webpage, should look professional

How do retail/e-commerce websites drive revenue?

increase average order size, add-on purchases, etc.

keyword stuffing

inserting the keyword phrase too often (black-hat SEO tactic that is not effective)

referral traffic

internet user clicks on a link to the site from another site. Paid: comes from ads that a website has paid to display on other websites (banner ads, affiliate ads, video ads) Unpaid: any visitors that come to the website from any links that are not paid for (social media, backlinks, email)

Landing page guidelines

landing page should match the advertisement on: 1. product 2. service 3. visual components

Primary conversion of lead generation website?

lead (phone call or form submission)

external links- refferals

links on an external site that leads users to your site

demand generation

marketing activities focused on attracting an audience and drawing them toward your product or service (can be product- or brand-centric

page bounce rate

measures the percentage of sessions that begin on that page that consist of only one pageview

subscription landing pages

media websites make more money from getting subscription sign ups so many will include a subscription landing page encouraging users to sign up. (ex: New York Times Online)

Usability: Create effective visual hierarchies

more important things should be larger and higher up on the page

keyword mapping

pairing your target keywords to their goal landing pages

page elements: phone numbers

phone number should be prominent above the fold.

How do search engine websites drive revenue?

positioning most lucrative ads/listings in best positions

Primary conversion of a marketplace website?

posting an item or making a purchase

URL structure

protocol, house name, file name Ex: http://www.amazon.com/index.html "http:", "www.amazon.com", "index.html"

average session duration

provides an alternate measure of how engaged users are by measuring average length of session

Primary conversion of retaIl website (e-commerce)?

purchase

conversion rate

purchases/ sessions

Structured citations

references and listings from other websites (ex: Yelp)

fresh content

regular updates shows search engines that website belongs to an active, reputable company

provide an example of how a website might use a cookie

remembering usernames, recommending products

organic search

search engine results returned and ranked according to relevance by algorithm, not influences by advertisements

How do affiliate marketing websites drive revenue?

selling products with high margins and conversion rates

duration

sessions that last a certain amount of time

Usability: Format content to support scanning

short paragraphs, headlines, include bulleted lists when appropriate

poor mobile optimization

sites that are not mobile-optimized will not rank well on searches done on a mobile device

browser

software that displays webpages, ex: chrome, bing, yahoo, safari

users

the amount of users accessing the webpage in a certain period of time

long-copy landing page

the copy that takes up the most room and explains the offer in detail before asking visitors to complete a form, so that there are no unanswered questions in their mind.

Usability: follow website conventions

the design norms that users expect to see on a webpage (ex: logo or shopping cart symbol)

page elements: navigation

the menus and displays on the homepage that direct customers to different places on the website based on what they are looking for.

sessions

the number of times a website was accessed total

close rate

the percentage of leads that convert into revenue for the company

site bounce rate

the percentage of times a visitor leaves the site almost immediately, begin on that page and consist of only one pageview (usually arrived by mistake or dissatisfied)

"above the fold"

the portion of the website that can be seen without having to scroll down

analysis paralysis

the sheer volume of data prevents the analyst from taking worthwhile action

landing page

the web page that a person reaches when clicking on a search engine listing or ad

load time

time kept on each page to detect technical loading issues

pageviews

total number of pages viewed (counts repeats within a session)

How do lead generation websites drive revenue?

tracking sources of best leads and maximizing lead quality

emails

typically email conversion rates on traffic are higher, sites can use these analytics to tell what parts of the email are most effective at bringing users in

Usability: Make it obvious what is clickable

user hyperlinks, mouse changes when scrolling over

social media posts and ads

usually comes from 1) content created from the company 2) content created/shared by users and influencers 3) ads on social media platform. Can give site insights on if their social media content is effective and which social media platform brings in the most users

lead-generation landing page

want visitors to either call in or fill out an email form, landing page should show a phone number prominently in the upper fold, typically with a call to action, may also provide a contact form with an additional call to action.

black hat SEO

website formatting practices designed to manipulate the search engine into giving a website good rankings without the site actually providing good value to searchers

destination

when a specific location loads (ex: "Thank you for registering!")

Last Click Attribution

-Gives full credit to the last touchpoint in the marketing channel -Know w/ certainty that the last touchpoint did indeed contribute to the sale -The most common and easy way to assign credit to advertising efforts

Maximizing Relevance: Title Tag

-Headline on search engine results page (SERP) -(Ex: bedroom furniture subcategory page on Overstock.com has the title tag: "Bedroom Furniture | Overstock.com: Buy Mattresses, Beds, & Dressers Online," which is displayed at the top of the browser when visiting this page. -title tag has heavy relevance weighting so should contain keywords -keyword phrase should be the first, followed by brand name, separated by a pipe text (the '|' symbol)

Traffic (keywords)

-Keyword relevance has to be balanced with keyword search demand -target search phrases with a higher level of search traffic -Google Keyword planner is great tool

poor security

-Transport layer security (TLS) is an encryption method that keeps user's information safe -HTTP indicates no TLS, not secure -HTTPS indicates a secure site

marketing channels

-email -SEO -paid search -social media advertisements -social media posting -display advertising

quality content

-focus more on creating quality content rather than formatting that content for the benefit of search engines -if the focus is providing quality content on the site, better rankings will likely follow

Competition (keywords)

-hard to compete with other companies already using specific keyword phrase especially like Amazon -good was to estimate competition is to search keyword phrase and 1)see what websites come up and 2)see if the links to those websites (i.e. the page title tag that is displayed on the SERP) are optimized perfectly for the keyword (a webpage that is "perfectly optimized" for a multi-word phrase would have the phrase in its exact word order) -long-tail keywords typically have lower search volume but often more relevant and easier to rank for -Ex: "gold Rolex watch" rather than the fat head keyword "watches" may bring more success

resource allocation

-how best to divide and spread a marketing budget across multiple activities -companies with low budgets should start with the channel that will produce the highest returns at the lowest cost (ex: email) and as their budget increases, their marketing channels will as well (paid search, social media ads, etc.)

loyalty building

-incentivize repeat purchases with special offers, discounts or perks -The more value or benefits a customer receives, the more likely they will shop with that company in the future

Relevance (keywords)

-keywords should be relevant to what the website contains/sells -Ex: keyword "custom pergola" would be great for a business that sells pergolas because that is likely what someone is looking for when they search "custom pergola"---->keyword "pergola" is a good start, but not as effective because someone searching "pergola" may just be trying to read about them or what they are -relevant keywords are important for site to rank well on SERP

Maximizing Relevance: Description Tag

-piece of HTML code that gives short description -at top of page in section of code -not visible on webpage

high click-through rate (CTR)

-ratio of users who click on a specific link to the number of total users who view a page, email, or advertisement -higher CTR typically means your ad generates more interests and is more engaging

ways a website can be designed for multiple segments

-search bar -category navigation -browse Vs. directed shopping -new Vs. returning customer -online. Vs. In-store shopping

quantity of content

-search engine users are more likely to find valuable information on sites with more content -includes number of pages and amount of content on a page (every page should have at least 100 words)

Maximizing Relevance: Image Alt Text

-search engines cannot "see" images so they must be labeled properly -Alt text is a label or tag that indicates the content of the image, also provides description for visually impaired or deactivated images -should describe image and include keyword where appropriate -optimized images help search engines understand content focus of page

Maximizing Relevance: Main Content

-search engines code every word on page to gather what webpage is about -use target keyword phrase at least once in main content of page -keyword phrase should only be used when it makes sense to the user

original content

-search engines punish websites that contain duplicate content -unique content increases chances of higher ranking

first-click attribution

-the first customer interaction receives all the credit for the sale -can sometimes be highly inaccurate

Maximizing Relevance: Anchor Text

-visible, clickable text in an HTML hyperlink -search engine uses anchor text from backlinks as an objective, 3rd party description of webpage -can provide search engines and users relevant contextual information about the content of the link's destination

short load times

-web users expect things to load quickly or they may become frustrated -search engines measure load times and provide lower rankings to pages with longer load times

Maximizing Relevance: Header Tags

-within HTML code of website -(‹h1› and ‹/h1› or ‹h2› and ‹/h2›, etc.) -surround the word or phrase that gives a title or label to sections of the webpage -‹h1› is the largest tag, rank in order of importance -target keyword phrase should be in first header

four factors keywords should be based on

1)Relevance 2)Traffic 3)Competition 4)Current Ranking

digital marketing strategy framework (AIDA)

1)attention 2)interest 3)desire 4)action

why is keyword mapping important?

1)reminds the site developers which keywords need to be incorporated into the page content, this encourages them to ensure that the page receives a high relevance score for that keyword phrase 2)mapping different keyword phrases to different pages ensures right webpage is displayed in search results 3)mapping ensures a website isn't accidentally optimizing multiple pages for the same keyword (which would cause various parts of the site ranking for the same search-> less specific search results)

3 goals of successful websites

1. generate traffic 2. drive conversions 3. maximize revenue

What are 3 questions that user should be able to answer with content above the fold?

1.What are you offering? 2.Why should I pick you? 3.What do you want me to do next?

"mobile first" design

A design principle centered on building apps to work on mobile devices first because these typically have more restrictions, such as smaller screens. "progressive enhancement"

pages/screens per session

A user views a specific number of pages or screens (ex: 5 pages or screens have been loaded)

A website that sells software made 100 sales of $200 each from 2,000 sessions (for a total of $20,000 in revenue and profit—the marginal cost of these sales was $0.) The average cost to generate each session was $5 (the traffic came from a paid advertising campaign). Were these 2,000 sessions profitable? A.Yes B.No

A. Yes (2,000* $5= $4,000 and $20,000-$4,000=$16,000 profit)

All else being equal, a marketing channel that has a high cost per exposure will have a ________ return on investment. A.low B.high

A. low

During a one-week period, a website had 3,000 total pageviews from 500 sessions. What is the site's average page depth? A.3,000/500 = 6 B.(3,000 + 500)/500 = 7 C.500/3,000 = .17 D.(3,000 + 500)/3000 = 1.17

A.3,000/500 = 6

A lead generation website received 1,000 visitors, gained 80 leads, and booked jobs with 20 of those leads. What is the conversion rate and what is the close rate? A.8%; 25% B.20%; 25% C.8%; 20% D.20%; 80%

A.8%; 25% (conversion: 80/1,000= 8%, close rate: 20/80= 25%)

The benefit of keyword mapping is A.All of these options B.to prevent keyword cannibalization in a website's SEO efforts C.to make sure the most appropriate webpage shows up on the SERP for every search phrase D.to organize SEO efforts across the many search phrases the website is targeting

A.All of these options

Which of the following is NOT a principle of Steve Krug's design for usability paradigm? A.Use complementary colors B.Break pages up into clearly defined areas C.Create effective visual hierarchies D.Format content to support scanning

A.Use complementary colors

A banner ad for Netflix should lead people to what kind of landing page? A.a subscription landing page B.a lead generation landing page C.a multi-product landing page D.a single-product landing page

A.a subscription landing page

Oli Gardner's principle of clarity has been violated if A.a visitor has no idea where a link leads B.the website provides no reason to believe in the website's credibility C.a visitor converts but does not realize that he/she has completed the action D.a website visitor sees multiple calls to action on the same page

A.a visitor has no idea where a link leads

A company has focused all its efforts on demand harvesting for a long while. It should now shift its efforts to include ________. A.loyalty building B.demand generation C.paid search D.more demand harvesting

A.loyalty building

A company wishing to rank for local searches should first A.register and verify its business with Google's My Business B.ask its customers for reviews on Yelp and other similar websites C.change its business name to include its more important keywords D.begin advertising on Google's ad network

A.register and verify its business with Google's My Business

"Long tail keywords" are A.search terms with lower volume than "fat head keywords" B.search terms done on mobile devices C.search terms for niche product categories D.search terms that produce a low conversion rate

A.search terms with lower volume than "fat head keywords"

For a search engine, "relevance" refers to A.the extent to which a webpage's content matches the searcher's query B.the traffic level of the website C.whether a website has been visited by the searcher before D.how many pages on the website link to one another

A.the extent to which a webpage's content matches the searcher's query

Of 500 sessions that occurred on a website during a one-week period, 200 of them started on the homepage; 100 of these 200 sessions saw only the homepage before leaving the site. Of the 300 sessions that started on other pages, 100 of them consisted of only one pageview. Which is higher: the site bounce rate or the homepage's bounce rate? A.the homepage's bounce rate B.the site bounce rate

A.the homepage's bounce rate (200/100= 50%) (300/100=30%)

display ads

Ads like video, banner ads, photos and varying content as far as call to action (CTA), content in the ad, and targeting method. Display ads can bring in traffic from hundreds of different places so tracking which ads from where are most effective with the most effective CTA can tell sites whats bringing in the most qualified traffic

Google's My Business registration

Any company with a local presence should immediately register and verify its business with Google's My Business. Doing so ensures that Google knows of the company's validity, and also enables Knowledge Graph results to show up for searches on the company's name

The primary conversion for a lead generation site is A. a form fill on the website B. Both a phone call and a form fill C. a referral to a friend D. a phone call from a website visitor

B. Both a phone call and a form fill

Which of the following is NOT an aspect of successful websites? A. Generate traffic B. Create captivating design C. Maximize revenue D. Drive conversions

B. Create captivating design

Which of the following is NOT a dynamic language? A. Java B. HTML C. Python D. PHP

B. HTML

Which of the following is NOT an example of direct traffic? A. Someone taps the mobile application icon on his/her phone B. Someone types the name of a website into a search bar and clicks the first link on the search engine results page C. Someone clicks on a bookmark from his/her browser D. Someone types in the URL of a website into the browser address bar

B. Someone types the name of a website into a search bar and clicks the first link on the search engine results page

Unpaid referral traffic is traffic that comes from A. links from other websites that are paid under the table B. links from other websites that are not paid for C. bots and web crawlers D. banner ads

B. links from other websites that are not paid fo

A consumer sees an ad and purchases the product featured in the ad, but he would have purchased the product anyway even if he hadn't seen the ad. The ad is ________. A.effective because the ad caused the consumer to purchase B.NOT effective because the ad did not influence his behavior C.effective because the consumer purchased the product D.NOT effective because the ad was poorly targeted

B.NOT effective because the ad did not influence his behavior

Including the word 'maternity' in the alt text and file name of several images on the maternity category page of Jane.com will improve the page's relevance score for searches using the word 'maternity'. What other benefit can result from this? A.Other category pages in the website will be more likely to show up for searches that use the word 'maternity'. B.The images are more likely to show up on image searches that use 'maternity'. C.The website will be better organized. D.Individual product pages that sell maternity products will automatically be optimized for relevant searches.

B.The images are more likely to show up on image searches that use 'maternity'.

A single-purpose landing page A.is the least effective of the landing page types B.directs visitors to one (and usually only one) possible action C.is the same as a single-product landing page D.provides as much information to visitors as possible

B.directs visitors to one (and usually only one) possible action

An analytics package records all of the following information from visitors EXCEPT A.the timing of the visit/click B.hard disk space of the computer C.browser being used D.location of the visitor

B.hard disk space of the computer

Jane.com sells clothing and accessories. They want their line of maternity clothing to show up on searches that include 'maternity'. What should the URL for the maternity category page be? A.https://jane.maternity.com/ B.https://jane.com/maternity C.https://maternity.jane.com/ D.https://jane.com/category5

B.https://jane.com/maternity

If your website ranks 1, 9, 98, and 112 for four different keywords, on which keyword should your website first target SEO efforts? A.the keyword on which your site ranks #98 B.the keyword on which your site ranks #9 C.the keyword on which your site ranks #112 D.the keyword on which your site ranks #1

B.the keyword on which your site ranks #9

The "upper fold" or "above the fold" is A.another name for the navigation menu at the top of a webpage B.the portion of a webpage that is visible without scrolling down C.usually the same for mobile devices and desktop computers D.the area on a retail site that shows the top sellers

B.the portion of a webpage that is visible without scrolling down

"Analysis paralysis" occurs when A.a manager makes so many good inferences from the data that he/she makes too many changes B.the sheer volume of data overwhelms a manager and causes inaction C.an analyst goes on vacation without someone else replacing his/her job responsibilities D.an analytics package is improperly installed and thus data tracking stops

B.the sheer volume of data overwhelms a manager and causes inaction

In web design, what is more important than website's visual appeal is A.whether the website uses HTML5 B.whether it generates a high conversion rate C.how new the website is D.how many pages it has

B.whether it generates a high conversion rate

page elements: buttons

Buttons generate high click rates. They typically include visual cues such as gradients, borders, shadows, etc that make them obvious.

Of 500 sessions that occurred on a website during a one-week period, 200 of them started on the homepage; 100 of these 200 sessions saw only the homepage before leaving the site. Of the 300 sessions that started on other pages, 100 of them consisted of only one pageview. What is the homepage's entrance rate? A.20% B.30% C.40% D.50%

C. 40% (200/500=40%)

The AIDA model states that the process of creating a customer follows these four steps: A. Anticipation → Interest → Determination → Activity B. Awareness → Intensity → Demonstration → Anticipation C. Awareness → Interest → Desire → Action D. Aspiration → Innovation → Desire → Activation

C. Awareness → Interest → Desire → Action

The upper fold of a webpage should answer the questions, "What are you offering?" "Why should I pick you?" and A."Where is the search bar?" B."Who is your top competitor?" C."What do you want me to do next?" D."What are your top sellers?"

C."What do you want me to do next?"

A retail website that wants to track its conversion rate should set up what type of goal? A.Purchase B.Pages/screens per session C.Destination D.Duration

C.Destination (shows who completed a purchase "thank you for your order!")

The Mobile First design philosophy advocates for designing the mobile first because A.mobile traffic has more volume than desktop traffic B.mobile web design is more visually appealing than desktop designs C.It is easier to adapt for display on a desktop computer AND mobile traffic has more volume than desktop traffic D.it is easier to adapt a mobile site for display on a desktop computer than it is to adapt a desktop site for display on a mobile device

C.It is easier to adapt for display on a desktop computer AND mobile traffic has more volume than desktop traffic

Organic search results are typically displayed A.at the top of the SERP B.interspersed with paid ads C.below the paid ads D.on page 2

C.below the paid ads

When conducting an A/B test to improve a webpage's design, the measure that should be used to determine which page is better is usually (but not always) A.traffic B.number of clicks during the visit C.conversion rate D.time on site

C.conversion rate

Display advertising has a low exposure effectiveness, but it may still be cost-effective because ________. A.customer concentration is 100% B.display ads cost the same regardless of exposure frequency C.the cost per exposure is low D.it requires only a flat fee

C.the cost per exposure is low

Even a highly relevant keyword may not be worth pursuing in your SEO if A.the keyword is too long B.the keyword is synonymous with other terms C.the keyword has no traffic D.the keyword is often misspelled

C.the keyword has no traffic

pages/session

Calculated: Pageviews / Sessions, this metric provides an indication of how engaged users are with the site

low bounce rate from landing page

Companies can keep their bounce rate low by making sure their content is well written and relevant to the target search term

How can credit card numbers and other sensitive information be transferred across the internet without third parties seeing it (and stealing it)? A. Only computers with the correct IP address can receive information packets sent across the internet B. The internet is hack-proof C. The internet has developed an ethos of honesty and integrity D. Transport layer security (TLS) encrypts sensitive information

D. Transport layer security (TLS) encrypts sensitive information

When a shopper puts an item in their online shopping cart, Amazon recommends add-on products to A. increase the conversion rate B. increase engagement C. increase traffic D. increase revenue

D. increase revenue

Which of the following reflects product-centric (as opposed to brand-centric) demand? A."I really want The North Face's new ski gloves." B."I only shop at L. L. Bean for winter clothes." C."I really need a way to stay warmer when I ski." D."I need new ski gloves."

D."I need new ski gloves."

Why is a high bounce back rate a negative signal of a webpage's quality? A.Because the search engine must load the SERP again, and this wastes the server's bandwidth. B.Because this behavior is an indicator that the website might be engaging in click fraud. C.Because search engine rankings are determined by websites' conversion rate, and a high bounce rate means a low conversion rate D.Because this behavior indicates that the searcher did not like what they saw or find what they were looking for

D.Because this behavior indicates that the searcher did not like what they saw or find what they were looking for

The most reliable way to measure advertising effectiveness is to A.use linear attribution B.use Google's data-driven attribution tool C.stop advertising altogether D.conduct a carefully-controlled experiment

D.conduct a carefully-controlled experiment

A new company with no existing customer should likely focus on ________. A.its return policy B.demand generation C.loyalty building D.demand harvesting

D.demand harvesting

An ad that commands a consumer's direct attention is likely to be ________. A.ineffective in almost all circumstances B.effective for all audiences C.less effective than an ad that is only seen in a consumer's peripheral vision D.more effective than an ad that does not command direct attention

D.more effective than an ad that does not command direct attention

A random sample of consumers will likely have a low customer concentration for Porsche because ________. A.Porsche only appeals to young males B.Porsche is not a respected brand C.Porsche actively tries to prevent most people from buying its cars D.most people cannot afford such an expensive car

D.most people cannot afford such an expensive car

A low conversion rate can be caused by all of the following EXCEPT A.poor audience selection B.technical glitches C.poor web design D.overly responsive design

D.overly responsive design

An advantage of paid search marketing is that ________. A.it is the least expensive channel on a cost-per-exposure basis B.there is very little competition for the highest-value keywords C.the high start-up costs make it difficult for competitors to bid on profitable keywords D.returns are typically seen immediately

D.returns are typically seen immediately

A mobile application that gets installed and used regularly by a large number of customers may still not be profitable if ________. A.the convenience of using the app increases visit frequency B.the conversions on the application are higher-value than on the website C.it produces conversions from a new group of customers D.using the app does not increase users' spending

D.using the app does not increase users' spending

single-purpose landing page

Ex: page provides very little information aside from a short video promotion, and it provides only two options for new customers—enter your email address or leave. Great option for leads b/c they can sometimes produce dramatic improvements in conversion rates.

HTML

Hypertext Markup Language; a code used to structure a website's general structure/content. Client-side language, markup language.

single-product landing page

If a company advertises a specific product (in an ad or in an email), the landing page should be all about that same product. Within seconds of hitting this landing page, visitors should see all of the following: -Product image -Unique value proposition (UVP) -Call to action -How to proceed -Familiar color scheme & logo

IP address

Internet Protocol address; a code made up of numbers separated by three dots that identifies a particular computer on the Internet.

KPI's

Key performance indicators

NSAMCWADLP

Never start a marketing campaign without a dedicated landing page

difference between HTML and PHP

PHP is a scripting language, whereas HTML is a markup language. HTML determines the general structure and content of a web page, while PHP provides dynamic content through scripts. PHP is typically a server-side language, while HTML is client-side.

insufficient internal linking

Search engines discover the content on a website by following links to other pages. If any of the pages within a site have no inbound links from other pages on the site, the search engines have no way to find those pages.

revenue per session

The revenue per session is calculated as revenue/sessions. This metric is important because it determines how much a company can spend on advertising to attract users to its site profitably.

URL

Uniform Resource Locator; a location or address identifying where documents can be found on the Internet; a Web address

page elements: color scheme

Use contrasting colors to direct attention where you think visitors should attend

Maximizing Relevance: URL

Words in the URL receive heavy weighting in the calculation of relevance, so the target keyword phrase should be in the URL. (Ex: website is http://www.janeshandmadeearrings.com and the owner chose the keyword phrase "drop earrings" for a category page showing drop earrings, the URL for this page should be http://www.janeshandmadeearrings.com/Drop-Earrings.html. If the keyword phrase silver drop earrings for a subcategory page, the URL for that subcategory page should be http://www.janeshandmadeearrings.com/Drop-Earrings/Silver-Drop-Earrings.html)

What enables a website to recognize a computer as a return visitor (as opposed to a first-time visitor)?

a cookie

Search engine optimization (SEO)

a systematic process of ensuring that your firm comes up at or near the top of lists of typical search phrases related to your business

cookie

a unique identifier placed on one's web browser to remember previous visits. Typically used to customize each web user's experience

paid search

advertisers pay search engines for ad placement on search engine results page, if a company is running paid search on Google or Bing it should be running multiple ads

event

an action defined as an event is triggered (ex: a video is played)

search traffic

an internet user clicks on a link to the site from a search engine results page. Paid: ads on the SERP that accompany the organic results (websites that say AD) Unpaid: traffic that comes to a site from clicks on the organic search results on the search engine results page (well-ranked, commonly searched)

direct traffic

an internet user types the website's URL directly into the browser (bookmark, email link, mobile app)

navigation source

analytics keeps track of how users arrive at the website (URL, links from other sites, ads)

revenue

analytics package installs code to track revenue made by each transaction

demand harvesting

any activity that increases the likelihood of securing a purchase from a potential customer who already wants the product

page elements: trust symbols

any symbol, icon, image, or small statement communicating to the user that the site is legitimate

Usability: eliminate distractions

avoid clutter, only have most important information on the homepage


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